Jump to content


Photo

2000 Reg Focus Trip Computer Fitting?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 alex801

alex801

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
  • Name: alex
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.6 zetec
  • Year: 2000
  • Location: Durham

Posted 09 February 2012 - 08:36 PM

The ghia version of the focus had the trip computer /mpg/range ect
iv got the zetec model which doesnt have it. in its place theres a little duket for loose change ect
if i purchased a trip computer from ebay out of a 2000 reg focus ghia and removed the duket were it would be located on the ghia model would the wires/connections be sitting around behind for me to install the trip computer?

many thanks people

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...



Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 18,585 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: 2015 Focus ST3 250BHP
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 09 February 2012 - 11:09 PM

I'm pretty sure the connections are there, only way to be sure is to have a look.

#3 alex801

alex801

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
  • Name: alex
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.6 zetec
  • Year: 2000
  • Location: Durham

Posted 09 February 2012 - 11:18 PM

yea only thing is is to have a look im going to have to cut a section of the dash board out as the part i need to clear to insert the trip computer doesnt simply pop out

#4 Pidu

Pidu

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 266 posts
  • Name: Peter
  • Ford Model: Focus Titanium 2.0 AT
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 09 February 2012 - 11:24 PM

You can find very good guide here:

http://www.foka24.de/Focus/BC.html

Unfo it is in German, but you can translate the page with Google Chrome. Use menu on the left to change pages.

#5 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,001 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 09 February 2012 - 11:39 PM

The guide misses a few bits out you need trip computer and surround to fit it in you need windscreen wash bottle with low warning sensor and an outside temperature sensor then to check the wiring you have to remove the dash clocks ie speedo etc and look for a connector plug heavily taped up if u dont have this then forget the rest. best bet is find a ghia in a scrapyard or search ebay for all u need. The conector is only there on some cars

#6 Pidu

Pidu

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 266 posts
  • Name: Peter
  • Ford Model: Focus Titanium 2.0 AT
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 09 February 2012 - 11:44 PM

The guide misses a few bits out you need trip computer and surround to fit it in you need windscreen wash bottle with low warning sensor and an outside temperature sensor then to check the wiring you have to remove the dash clocks ie speedo etc and look for a connector plug heavily taped up if u dont have this then forget the rest. best bet is find a ghia in a scrapyard or search ebay for all u need. The conector is only there on some cars


Mate it is all there, you have simply seen only the first part :)

http://www.foka24.de/Focus/BC.html

There is much more if you look at the menu on the left side of the webpage. All step by step with photos.

#7 alex801

alex801

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
  • Name: alex
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.6 zetec
  • Year: 2000
  • Location: Durham

Posted 09 February 2012 - 11:46 PM

thanks very much, il remove that section of facia to check for conections tomoro, if there actualy there il buy the ghia style facia aswell. when u mentioned the windscreen wash bottle with sensor i guess on the trip computer theres a warning for when its low? would i be good to go without that and just not have a reading for the wash bottle? or would that bugger the whole thing up?

#8 alex801

alex801

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
  • Name: alex
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.6 zetec
  • Year: 2000
  • Location: Durham

Posted 09 February 2012 - 11:51 PM

Mate it is all there, you have simply seen only the first part :)

http://www.foka24.de/Focus/BC.html

There is much more if you look at the menu on the left side of the webpage. All step by step with photos.

thanks for that,i think i can follow the pictures without being able to read the walkthrough in german.

#9 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,001 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 09 February 2012 - 11:52 PM

Using my mobile as im at work so didnt see that part well i did but dont speak german. I Was going to do it on my old mk1 but wasnt prepared to spend 150 quid on the used parts just for a computer that doesnt work fully you need to fht all the parts for it to work you might be lucky having an early car as most had the wiring

#10 Pidu

Pidu

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 266 posts
  • Name: Peter
  • Ford Model: Focus Titanium 2.0 AT
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 09 February 2012 - 11:59 PM

thanks for that,i think i can follow the pictures without being able to read the walkthrough in german.


Use Google Chrome, it has built in translator feature, open link to this guide and translate the whole page into English. It works and you do not need to know foreign language. I did it many times as my German, Russian and Dutch are not perfect :)

#11 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,001 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 10 February 2012 - 12:44 AM

I Know the feeling my mandarin is terrible lol

#12 cressws1

cressws1

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 252 posts
  • Name: Scott
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec 1.8
  • Year: 1999
  • Location: Nottinghamshire

Posted 11 February 2012 - 08:33 PM

the windscreen wash bottle with sensor i guess on the trip computer theres a warning for when its low? would i be good to go without that and just not have a reading for the wash bottle? or would that bugger the whole thing up?


You can do this (I have), You simply have to "permanently earth" the wire responsible for the warning light (I taped mine to the crash bar).

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users