Jump to content


Photo

Help Fitting Fuel Computer To Focus Mk1

fuel computer focus tdci zetec

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 jellymonster

jellymonster

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Name: Daniel
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus 1.8TDCI (115ps) Zetec
  • Year: 2003
  • Location: Berkshire

Posted 22 February 2012 - 09:22 PM

Hi,

I was wondering what to do with the useless pocket next to the steering wheel when I came across this:
Posted Image

I have a Ford Focus 2003 1.8 TDCI (115ps) Zetec.

Has anyone fitted this before? or know any 'friendly' guides to installing? and what I need to do it?

This is what I have so far:
'unfriendly' guide -
http://www.luckyb.pwp.blueyonder.co....too%20comp.pdf

ebay kit? -
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Ford-Focus...a#ht_298wt_201

what do you guys think?

Cheers


Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

#2 NorthSussex

NorthSussex

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
  • Name: Stormin
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 Petrol manual
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 22 February 2012 - 11:21 PM

That looks a bit of a mare!

#3 stef123

stef123

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Management
  • 4,190 posts
  • Name: Stef
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST TDCI
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 22 February 2012 - 11:23 PM

its easy to do but you need to make sure the wiring is behind the dash first.

#4 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Lawman

  • Super Mod
  • 12,840 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 22 February 2012 - 11:45 PM

A lot of pulling out and apart.

#5 jellymonster

jellymonster

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Name: Daniel
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus 1.8TDCI (115ps) Zetec
  • Year: 2003
  • Location: Berkshire

Posted 23 February 2012 - 12:46 PM

It's going to be my new project, easy or not I don't mind.
I just need to know if it will work with the ebay kit?

I've been doing a bit of reading around and it sounds like some cars, mostly earlier models have the wire loom already installed.

#6 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,728 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 23 February 2012 - 02:13 PM

you need to remove the dash cluster and look for the plug usually taped up somewhere mostly behind the air vent its hit and miss who has the wires really deends on wether the factory ran out or not

#7 stef123

stef123

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Management
  • 4,190 posts
  • Name: Stef
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST TDCI
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 23 February 2012 - 06:18 PM

you can pull one of the air vents out to check for the loom, no need to remove the cluster and no tools required. it will be taped to the metal tube behind the dash more than likely.

#8 jellymonster

jellymonster

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Name: Daniel
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus 1.8TDCI (115ps) Zetec
  • Year: 2003
  • Location: Berkshire

Posted 24 February 2012 - 10:03 AM

I ordered a kit yesterday. I'll look for the plug later. If not, I'll be doing lots of wiring >_>

#9 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,728 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 24 February 2012 - 08:33 PM

hopefully the wirings there trust me it isnt a simple task to wire this kit in, the multiplug for the computer alone has half a dozen wires linked to various other systems thats why its not retro fit good luck

#10 jellymonster

jellymonster

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Name: Daniel
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus 1.8TDCI (115ps) Zetec
  • Year: 2003
  • Location: Berkshire

Posted 25 February 2012 - 05:36 PM

Computer came today, at 7:35am (which obviously I missed because I was snoring). I'm going to collect it on Monday.

But in the meantime curiosity got the better of me and I thought I'd look at the indicator stork. But could get it out...

I popped the top cover off the steering wheel, pushed the clip at the top right of the stalk, and from my knowledge it should lift straight up.

Am I missing something?

#11 stef123

stef123

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Management
  • 4,190 posts
  • Name: Stef
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST TDCI
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 26 February 2012 - 05:52 PM

Computer came today, at 7:35am (which obviously I missed because I was snoring). I'm going to collect it on Monday.

But in the meantime curiosity got the better of me and I thought I'd look at the indicator stork. But could get it out...

I popped the top cover off the steering wheel, pushed the clip at the top right of the stalk, and from my knowledge it should lift straight up.

Am I missing something?


yes when you push the clip it should pull right out. have you removed any of the centre vents to look for the wiring?

#12 jellymonster

jellymonster

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Name: Daniel
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus 1.8TDCI (115ps) Zetec
  • Year: 2003
  • Location: Berkshire

Posted 27 February 2012 - 02:20 PM

ok, gave it a bit more force and it came out. Counted the wires.... only 8 =(

Does this mean I can't do it? or I can with a lot of wiring?

If it's possible, had anyone got a guide or something?

#13 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,728 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 27 February 2012 - 02:53 PM

8 wires you dont have the wiring fitted then so no you cant do it the wiring runs via ecu etc etc etc not a job that can be done im afraid thats why we told you to look first mate been down that road myself with my old mk1 the loom basically runs into the dash from the main ecu via fuses and relays branching off into ignition wires cutting into the washer electrics and fueling there is no known retrofit other than to strip the car down and i mean strip then fit the whole loom

#14 jellymonster

jellymonster

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Name: Daniel
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus 1.8TDCI (115ps) Zetec
  • Year: 2003
  • Location: Berkshire

Posted 27 February 2012 - 04:45 PM

8 wires you dont have the wiring fitted then so no you cant do it the wiring runs via ecu etc etc etc not a job that can be done im afraid thats why we told you to look first mate been down that road myself with my old mk1 the loom basically runs into the dash from the main ecu via fuses and relays branching off into ignition wires cutting into the washer electrics and fueling there is no known retrofit other than to strip the car down and i mean strip then fit the whole loom


this link seems to think you can do it:
http://www.luckyb.pw...ow too comp.pdf

is it legit?

Sorry, don't mean to doubt you.

I bought the computer, indicator stalk and surround for £36, so no big loss.

#15 stef123

stef123

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Management
  • 4,190 posts
  • Name: Stef
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST TDCI
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 27 February 2012 - 05:32 PM

Looks good to me. how are you with wiring?

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have




Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: fuel, computer, focus, tdci, zetec

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users