Jump to content


Photo

Dab Radio Showing Station Moved


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 tyler s

tyler s

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts
  • Name: david
  • Ford Model: focus
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Essex

Posted 03 March 2012 - 04:21 PM

went out in car this morning switched on radio to find it saying station moved,but still hear the station playing,only on 2 presets[capital and heart].The car is a 2010 focus,any ideas thanks

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...



Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 18,615 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: 2015 Focus ST3 250BHP
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 03 March 2012 - 04:47 PM

Disconnect the power at the battery and reset the radio.
Make sure you have the security code first.

#3 NorthSussex

NorthSussex

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
  • Name: Stormin
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 Petrol manual
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 03 March 2012 - 05:25 PM

Before you disconnect the battery as sugested, try a retune / search to set up the stations again.

#4 tyler s

tyler s

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts
  • Name: david
  • Ford Model: focus
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Essex

Posted 03 March 2012 - 05:33 PM

Reset the station,all seems to be ok will check in morning.

#5 NorthSussex

NorthSussex

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
  • Name: Stormin
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 Petrol manual
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 03 March 2012 - 05:43 PM

I have just reset all the stations on my neighbour’s portable DAB radio as they all were now locked on to R2. Modern electronic devices now contain computer chips, and you know how often PCs play up and need a reboot.

#6 Wickwick10_1

Wickwick10_1

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 332 posts
  • Name: Chris
  • Ford Model: Focus Titanium
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Staffordshire

Posted 03 March 2012 - 09:32 PM

went out in car this morning switched on radio to find it saying station moved,but still hear the station playing,only on 2 presets[capital and heart].The car is a 2010 focus,any ideas thanks

Mine done exactly the same ?

#7 tyler s

tyler s

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts
  • Name: david
  • Ford Model: focus
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Essex

Posted 04 March 2012 - 11:03 AM

checked this morning all presets still there,once u start moving u lose reception which has never happend before.Put the radio on scan and some of the stations coming up moved,go back to presets all ok ,start driving then geting poor recepion again.Any more ideas

#8 Wickwick10_1

Wickwick10_1

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 332 posts
  • Name: Chris
  • Ford Model: Focus Titanium
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Staffordshire

Posted 04 March 2012 - 04:30 PM

checked this morning all presets still there,once u start moving u lose reception which has never happend before.Put the radio on scan and some of the stations coming up moved,go back to presets all ok ,start driving then geting poor recepion again.Any more ideas

Turn back to FM I have can't be arsed !

#9 NorthSussex

NorthSussex

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
  • Name: Stormin
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 Petrol manual
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 04 March 2012 - 04:32 PM

Check the car DAB aerial connections.

#10 tyler s

tyler s

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts
  • Name: david
  • Ford Model: focus
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Essex

Posted 04 March 2012 - 05:27 PM

check out this link http://www.getdigita...l-radios/retune

#11 tyler s

tyler s

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts
  • Name: david
  • Ford Model: focus
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Essex

Posted 04 March 2012 - 05:36 PM

re-tuned them all again, still not having it

#12 jimrex

jimrex

    Too much time on the boards

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 580 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: 2011 Mk3 Focus, 2009 Mk7 Fiesta
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Cambridgeshire

Posted 04 March 2012 - 09:58 PM

Mines doing it on the national stations like Capital, XFM etc. I have also noticed the DAB radio in the house playing up too so maybe some frequencies have changed or something?

#13 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 18,615 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: 2015 Focus ST3 250BHP
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 05 March 2012 - 02:04 AM

A lot of the problem with DAB is that it's already an obsolete system.
Also i believe that the standard DAB aerials in cars are not up to the job.
DAB is very sensitive to aerial directionality, and if the signal falls below a certain strengh just drops off unlike standard FM radio (which just gets crackly with bad signals)
Read these articles for a full rundown.
http://en.wikipedia....io_Broadcasting

http://www.radioandt....co.uk/dab.html

http://www.avforums....-reception.html


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users