• Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 Redspudder

Redspudder

• PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus
Posted 03 March 2012 - 09:52 PM

My wife has a 61plate Fiesta titanium i dont drive it much,we have had the car for a couple of months.She asked me about the cruise control yesterday saying she set it at 30MPH going down a local bank/hill that is quite steep and about 2 mile long which is notorius for speed traps.She said once set at 30 and going down the bank the car gathered speed until she got to around 40MPH and felt the need to brake.So today i drove the car in the same manor down the same bank and sure enough same thing happened i was baffled,when i checked the hand book it states the car will not brake under cruise cont on an hill,so infact the cruise control should be advertised as cruise control (but read the small print only works on he flat!) i just find this pointless.I have no previous experience of ford cruise control is this how they all work?
I own an Audi with cruise control and this if set at for example 30MPH will keep the car at this speed up hill (you can feel car accelerate) and when going downhill (you can feel car braking to maintain the set speed)the car only drops out of cruise control mode should i brake or cancel it via the selector.
I use cruise control in the Audi quite a lot mainly in 30MPH especially in known speed traps to keep me below or on the speed limit in these areas flat,downhill or uphill it is far supperior to the cruise cont on the Ford after what i have discovered today.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

#2 MisiekT

MisiekT

• PipPip
  • 20 posts
  • Name: Michal
  • Ford Model: Fiesta MK7 1.6 Ti-VCT
  • Year: 2010

Posted 03 March 2012 - 09:59 PM

yep, that's how it works - it's clearly written in the manual you should "help" cruise control by reducing the gear and push SET- button

PS. it's quite obvious Ford isn't an Audi or MB :)

#3 2011fiesta

2011fiesta