Jump to content


Show
Photo

Focus Mk 2 Alarm Keeps Going Off

alarm

  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Mathew Pritt

Mathew Pritt

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Name: mathew
  • Ford Model: focus zetec mk2
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Cumbria

Posted 05 March 2012 - 11:44 AM

i have just changed the stock radio for a fancy thing out of halfords. I have bought the correct wire adaptors etc, but now when the engine is off and the key is removed there is 2 lights staying on on the radio and the alarm keeps going off. if i remove the front of the radio its no bother. has anyone got any ideas???

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 tomo2001

tomo2001

    Serial Poster

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 485 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus 1.6 TDCi Titanium X
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 05 March 2012 - 12:54 PM

What's the lights that are staying on ?

#3 Mathew Pritt

Mathew Pritt

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Name: mathew
  • Ford Model: focus zetec mk2
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Cumbria

Posted 05 March 2012 - 01:48 PM

What's the lights that are staying on ?


One of them is (T-INFO) for traffic info and the other one is (DISPLAY) to change the display

#4 tomo2001

tomo2001

    Serial Poster

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 485 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus 1.6 TDCi Titanium X
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 05 March 2012 - 02:00 PM

Could this be caused by a Can Bus error ? Do you have/need a specific Can Bus cable to fit a third party or aftermarket head unit ?

#5 Mathew Pritt

Mathew Pritt

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Name: mathew
  • Ford Model: focus zetec mk2
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Cumbria

Posted 05 March 2012 - 02:09 PM

Could this be caused by a Can Bus error ? Do you have/need a specific Can Bus cable to fit a third party or aftermarket head unit ?

#

i have no idea sorry

#6 tomo2001

tomo2001

    Serial Poster

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 485 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus 1.6 TDCi Titanium X
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 05 March 2012 - 02:15 PM

I might be wrong but with modern cars you now need specific parts especially when altering the electrical system. Other forum members may advise better but you may need an exact wiring harness to avoid any electrical errors.

Might be better asking an audio specialist rather than 'Halfrauds'

#7 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,963 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 05 March 2012 - 03:39 PM

It's obvious that the radio is being fed a constant voltage from the system to store settings and such.
Most probably the alarm is going off as the system is reading the power drain as a tamper on the car.
I'd get the power connections on the radio checked as it's obviously drawing a lot of stand-by current.

#8 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,113 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 05 March 2012 - 04:31 PM

with fords depending on the stereo you bought the new connector needs the red and black wires swapped over. if its like the mk1 the stereo should not work with the ignition off only in position 2. as its not the ford stereo it doesnt run through the can bus so you wont have 1 hour mode or vin number etc. in my mk1 i had to switch the two wires round in order for it to work correctly but only on the new connector not on the ford original connector

#9 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,099 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 05 March 2012 - 04:46 PM

+ 1 . Yes it does sound like the perm live feed could be in the wrong position and may need switching over , check your manual for the wiring and then check the connector to see if the power feeds are correct

#10 NorthSussex

NorthSussex

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
  • Name: Stormin
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 Petrol manual
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 05 March 2012 - 04:49 PM

If the radio is always drawing power from the battery, there is a risk of a flat battery when you return from a 2 week holiday, not good news!

#11 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,099 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 05 March 2012 - 05:16 PM

Double check that it is the radio by removing all power to it and see if the alarm goes off.

If after power is removed and the alarm goes off , check the bonnet connection.

If it does not go off then it has to be the wiring harness

#12 NorthSussex

NorthSussex

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
  • Name: Stormin
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 Petrol manual
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 05 March 2012 - 05:36 PM

Double check that it is the radio byt removing all power to it and see if the alarm goes off.

If after power is removed and the alarm goes off , check the bonnet connection.

If it does not go off then it has to be the wiring harness

Great idea!

#13 Mathew Pritt

Mathew Pritt

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Name: mathew
  • Ford Model: focus zetec mk2
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Cumbria

Posted 08 March 2012 - 07:39 AM

thanks everyone, tried all these ideas but alarm is still going off when radio is in. also i have noticed that the dash board display with the miles on never goes off now, even when the front of the radio is removed??

#14 tomo2001

tomo2001

    Serial Poster

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 485 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus 1.6 TDCi Titanium X
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 08 March 2012 - 09:35 AM

Put the stock HU back in see if it clears all your faults, then a trip back to Halfords me thinks. Don't rule out faulty New HU.

#15 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,963 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 08 March 2012 - 10:07 AM

+1
Something is still drawing current for sure.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have




Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: alarm

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users