Jump to content


Show
Photo

Guide For Focus Mk2/mk2.5 C-Max/kuga ~Elm 327 Cable And Ff2 Program

translating

  • Please log in to reply
2114 replies to this topic

#1561 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 16,197 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 06 September 2013 - 12:00 PM

I believe GEM is on MS IIRC



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#1562 Zurrieq

Zurrieq

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 111 posts
  • Name: Stephen
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 06 September 2013 - 08:15 PM

So using the mod device will work right

#1563 david9761

david9761

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Name: David
  • Ford Model: Mondeo TXS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Essex

Posted 07 September 2013 - 03:13 PM

I have the Drive away assist option showing on Elmconfig, would this be the Hill launch assist?



#1564 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,099 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 07 September 2013 - 04:55 PM

I have the Drive away assist option showing on Elmconfig, would this be the Hill launch assist?

Yes it sounds like it is



#1565 Addo

Addo

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Name: Adnan
  • Ford Model: S-max
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 09 September 2013 - 12:41 PM

Hello Everyone
 
I try to read the CCD file from the IPC module but can not succeed my car is ford S-Max 2007 is the one who has succeeded and can explain to me why it is not possible.
When I go into the IPC module and press read CCD file everything goes fine but when I go into Central configuration where everything seems to be locked, nothing is going to change!
 
Grateful for all the help I can get.
 
From BCM module I have no problem it is possible to read the CCD and modify data in the central configuration.
 
Attach two pictures of how it looks.
 
Sincerely Addo
 
ford.JPG
 
Ipc.JPG

#1566 Brazh

Brazh

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Name: Evgeny
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCi chiptuning 150 hp
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 09 September 2013 - 07:35 PM

New version of ELMConfig released  :)

http://ffclub.ru/top..._post/14511089/

Civil-zz, thanks again!



#1567 fyl

fyl

    Settling In Well

  • Members via Twitter
  • PipPipPip
  • 40 posts
  • Name: fyl
  • Ford Model: Focus 2.0 TDCi
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 10 September 2013 - 05:32 AM

I will continue a bit actually, if somebody is interested. So this emulation layer after emulation can cause problems by itself. But why are we having problems? Why do other devices work and other do not? Well, hello China! As USB took over and serial ports started to dissapear but still all the devices supported only serial protocol (again, it's trivial to implement compared to USB protocol), few companies smelled money. Let's make Serial-USB bridge chips so that hardware vendors do not need to do anything else than add one chip to their devices and software vendor's do not need to do anything at all! Great idea, and great profit!

 

Chinese being chinese, they of course smelled money also and started to clone thise bridges. As far as I know, most often cloned device is Prolific's PL2303. This was a bit unfortunate, because back in times Prolific's drivers were crap. And Chinese cloned these chips and sometimes cloned chips were inferior. And Chinese used Prolific's drivers for their cloned chips. Inferior chips and crappy drivers. You can imagine. Prolific got their act together and started to improve their drivers... and blocked cloned chips while they were doing it! So if you have cloned PL2303 chip, latest dirvers from Prolific do not work and you are forced to use crappy drivers for your crappy cloned chip! This is the reason why somebody said that their device do not work on Win7 but works on Win Vista. Or works with old drivers etc etc etc. 

 

Ah, and China... ELM327 chip made by ELM Electronics based on Canada gained also popularity. So of course it was doomed to be cloned by Chinese. They had released version 1.0 of their chip and it was cloned. After that ELM Electronics realized that they need to protect their IP and they implemented copy protection for newer versions like 1.4b which had support for all cool features and had lot's of bugs fixed etc. Poor Chinese, unable to clone never verions... Well, just label these 1.0 chips... let's say... 1.5, it's better than 1.4b! People will buy them, they won't understand! And that exactly was what happened. Old buggy cloned chips is now inside most of the ELM327 devices sold in eBay and DX! Don't know if Chinese ever were able to bypass this copy protection or did they perhaps develop their own better chips based on this v1.0, but essentially, if you are buying anything else than genuine ELM Electronics ELM327 chip, it's Russian roulette. You just do now know what you get. You may get well-working device or you may get alfunctioning device! And you ask why your device won't work 500 000 bps? :)

 

So, if you really want to get real deal without problems, buy device which has genuine FTDI FT232R bridge inside (AFAIK these are not cloned - at least not often, so as long as you get FTDI, youre good). And as you are doing right thing already (do you really wan't to give your money to Chinese pirates?), you may just as well grab genuine ELM Electornics ELM327 chip also. Price difference is not that much...

 

Of course, problem is, that how do you know if you get genuine ELM327? I really do not know. I actually asked this directly from ELM Electronics. They answered, that you just cannot know. You will have to trust the seller. So ask seller if their devices have genuine chips inside and you're done your best...

 

I think I will cease my rant here, I hope this information is usefull for you who are wondering how things do work and why some devices will work and some will not...

 

This seller specifically mentions that it comes with the FT2323RL chip which means it supports FTDI right ? 

 

http://www.aliexpres...1293626549.html



#1568 Brazh

Brazh

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Name: Evgeny
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCi chiptuning 150 hp
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 10 September 2013 - 06:01 AM

This seller specifically mentions that it comes with the FT2323RL chip which means it supports FTDI right ? 

 

http://www.aliexpres...1293626549.html

This one also based on FTDI chip. I have bought twice and both are v1.4 with FTDI on board. $10

http://www.aliexpres.../470562881.html



#1569 jarp

jarp

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 63 posts
  • Name: Jari
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 10 September 2013 - 06:13 AM

This seller specifically mentions that it comes with the FT2323RL chip which means it supports FTDI right ? 

 

http://www.aliexpres...1293626549.html

 

Yes, FT232R(L) is FTDI's chip you are looking for. For that price, though, you are NOT going to see genuine ELM327 chip inside, but as others have had success with cloned ELM327 chips, I would not worry that too much. For that price, you won't lose much if it does not work afterall...

 

Though personally I would still pursue genuine ELM327 chip. Not because of clones not working, but because I do not want to support pirates who copies western designs without paying any royalties... 



#1570 Brazh

Brazh

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Name: Evgeny
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCi chiptuning 150 hp
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 10 September 2013 - 07:22 AM

Yes, FT232R(L) is FTDI's chip you are looking for. For that price, though, you are NOT going to see genuine ELM327 chip inside, but as others have had success with cloned ELM327 chips, I would not worry that too much. For that price, you won't lose much if it does not work afterall...

 

Though personally I would still pursue genuine ELM327 chip. Not because of clones not working, but because I do not want to support pirates who copies western designs without paying any royalties... 

Genuine ELM327 chip is more expencive. Just one single original chip is $23.50 and that is wholesale price. Whole device at least two times more expencive. Is there a reason to buy the same (or almost the same) for $50?

It would be better to buy ELS27 (based on STN1170 instead of ELM327) in this case. Than no need to solder switch and speed is 4 times faster



#1571 mayak

mayak

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Name: Marcin
  • Ford Model: Focus mk 2
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 11 September 2013 - 11:04 AM

Ok so the wiring here is valid for the FFN?

Thanks

They started to prepare English translation of the program, so you can participate ;)  - http://www.fusiongur...hp?f=117&t=9763



#1572 Zurrieq

Zurrieq

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 111 posts
  • Name: Stephen
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 11 September 2013 - 11:26 AM

Hi mayak. I translated the GEM page will send the doc once i get home. I had some stuff i could not understand since i dont know russian

#1573 Zurrieq

Zurrieq

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 111 posts
  • Name: Stephen
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 12 September 2013 - 06:04 AM

Hi Mayak

 

I can enter that forum.... not authorised



#1574 Brazh

Brazh

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Name: Evgeny
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCi chiptuning 150 hp
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 12 September 2013 - 07:28 AM

i dont know russian

I can help you with Russian



#1575 Zurrieq

Zurrieq

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 111 posts
  • Name: Stephen
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 12 September 2013 - 08:39 AM

I can help you with Russian

Hi Brazh. Thanks for your offer.

 

The following are the current phrases I could not understand. I used Google Translate for the translation and something just did not come out understandable lol. Was gonna try them on the car one by one when the ELM  cable arrives but I guess you could help me :)))

 

From the GEM page

 

0ткрывание багажника с ДЧ

0ткрывание багажника при вкл эажиегании

0ткрываь багажника двойным нажатием  ДЧ

 

Концевики

 

Опция датчик цожця  / света

Настройка через ВК (Запрет щаманства)

 

Выстрые замки (отменяет хитрые замки)

Дожиматв замки, если были открыты двери

Зацний дворник при задней передаче

Колесико регулировки прер. режи. дрворн.

 

Три вспышки поворотов при перестроении

Длинный импульс хлыста или хитрые замки

 

From the ACM page

 

Мгновенный расход

 

Кривая луцеколонка

 

Мгновенный расход

 

Индикатор открытой дверм (без ВК)

Настройка уерез ВК (запрет шаманства)

Сигнализатор заднего хода

Праворульный атво

 

Доп настройки для ВК

 

Those are my problems till now.

 

Thanks alot



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



4 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 4 guests, 0 anonymous users