Jump to content


Show
Photo

Guide For Focus Mk2/mk2.5 C-Max/kuga ~Elm 327 Cable And Ff2 Program

translating

  • Please log in to reply
2114 replies to this topic

#1996 JW1982

JW1982

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 446 posts
  • Name: Wilco
  • Ford Model: Focus MK2 First Edition
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 29 April 2014 - 04:50 AM

If the steering wheel does not fit you probably have the wrong type of steering wheel. A steering wheel of a C-max or Kuga looks identical to the Focus steering wheel but is internally different and uses a different airbag.

Retrofitting the 4-spoke steering wheel should be plug and play. I have done this several times without any problems. If you buy the crooect steering wheel and airbag there is no need to modify anything.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#1997 morfeus

morfeus

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Name: Gabrijel
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus 1.8 mk2.5
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 05 May 2014 - 06:34 PM

Hi,

 

before I start "messing around" with ELM327 and ELMconfig I would like to ask some questions. So, I would like to activate some options like closing and opening of windows with remote, deactivate seat belt reminder... I would also activate cruise control. As I have 3 spoke steering wheel so I am planning to make touch-like switches and put them on the steering spokes. I have been reading about all that and already checked if wires for the cruise control are present and they are. I have also been reading that configuring GEM might cause car not starting any more. Reading through the forum, looks like all shall be fine on FF 1.8 mk2.5 petrol but, have anybody done that on same?

Also, my brother has FF 1.6 mk2.5 petrol. Is it safe to use ELMconfig on his car too?

Many thanks and sorry for asking this, but I don't want to end up with a dead car (because of deleting PATS)....



#1998 simonaldridge82

simonaldridge82

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts
  • Name: simon
  • Ford Model: focus 1.6tdci sport
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 06 May 2014 - 04:04 PM

hi as I stated before I was sold a focus st steering wheel it was the wrong one although I have modified it to fit not too much bother I still have to replace the capacitors in the switches. knowing what I know now I would just fit switches. I still have to get the cc working



#1999 morfeus

morfeus

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Name: Gabrijel
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus 1.8 mk2.5
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 06 May 2014 - 06:27 PM

Hi,

 

so ELMConfig shall work like a charm;) I hope the ELM327 will arrive soon so I can play around with it. If I manage to make work CC as I am planning to, I will upload schematics and everything.

BTW, simonaldridge82, you have written that you must change capacitors in the switches....? Aren't there resistors and not capacitors?



#2000 HotAction

HotAction

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
  • Name: Swen
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus RS MK2
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 08 May 2014 - 08:38 PM

Hi all,

 

I have an Ford Focus RS MK2.5. Is it possible to activate the Hill launch assist?

 

Thanks



#2001 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 16,187 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 12 May 2014 - 02:53 PM

Hi Swen,

 

You might be able to get away with it, but I dont believe it will work.



#2002 stefanovidiu

stefanovidiu

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Ford Model: FOCUS II 1,6TDCI 110HP
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 17 May 2014 - 11:22 AM

Today I installed a new instrument cluster for FF2 MK2,5 on my car,  a FF2  MK2 1.6 TDCi 110 HP. I installed firmware version 512AK and saw that I can not set the steering (I have electro hydraulic power assisted steering) to comfort, sport or normal, because these option is missing on the menu. Also, I think that the average consumption is higher the cluster which I had before. Any ideas to solve the problem? Is a matter of firmware?

Thanks !



#2003 james_60

james_60

    Too much time on the boards

  • FOC Supporters
  • 970 posts
  • Name: Jamie
  • Ford Model: 2013 Focus Titanium X 1.6TDCI 115BHP
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Worcestershire

Posted 19 May 2014 - 03:52 PM

Hi folks

 

a new version of FoCCCus is available 

 

FoCCCus_0.8.2 is the vers number

 

Jamie



#2004 DMB1

DMB1

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts
  • Name: Mark
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec 1.6
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Antrim

Posted 21 May 2014 - 10:37 PM

Anyone still have the modified ones for sale?

Or anyone with one in Northern Ireland, near Belfast.

Wouldn't mind my car auto locking and the radio display on the front cluster.

Mark...

#2005 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 16,187 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 22 May 2014 - 08:35 AM

I have a spare one but it doesnt write to instrument cluster. DezWez I believe was selling them, although I dont think he has a stock, if you drop him a message he might be able to assist.



#2006 ConradBuff

ConradBuff

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Name: Rob
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Surrey

Posted 22 May 2014 - 01:39 PM

I remember back in my VW days on one of the forums was a list of guys who had the VAG version of this, their location, the capabilities of the hardware/software they had and their 'contribution' fee for helping members out with diagnostic checks, activation of certain conveniences etc. Would it be possible to do the same for this on this forum? Im not lazy, or a numpty and will probably attempt this at some point but time is my enemy. However, Id be quite happy to give someone £10 say to turn on automatic front heated windscreen, would save me a load of grief next winter!

 

Anyway, just and idea. Means those that cant still get the benefits and those that can get reimbursed for their efforts.

 

Let me know your thoughts, happy to help putting a list/table together.

 

Cheers,

 

Rob



#2007 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 16,187 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 22 May 2014 - 03:47 PM

Hi Rob,

 

I did start a thread on "What could you share" in the general chat section I believe, for people to do just this. if you wanted something, see if anyone around could help you out. I live in Kent, so if you are often up here (unlikely as it may be) I would be happy to help out.



#2008 747777

747777

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 47 posts
  • Name: Chris
  • Ford Model: S-Max
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 22 May 2014 - 04:43 PM

Anyone still have the modified ones for sale?
Or anyone with one in Northern Ireland, near Belfast.
Wouldn't mind my car auto locking and the radio display on the front cluster.
Mark...

There are forum ones available in the Smaxownersclub.

#2009 gman2

gman2

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Name: Greg
  • Ford Model: KUGA
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 03 June 2014 - 02:52 PM

Hi,

 

i bought a elm device last week and follow the process to modify it.

all is working fine and i have no prblem accesing and activating the options i wanted.

 

i just have one question regarding the hill hold assist feature.

i tried to activate it but it deosen't seem to work.

i ticked 2 boxes on the elmconfig pages, tried on a street nearby but didn't see any difference.

 

does it require a special element in the car ?

do i missed a box to tick ?

 

if someone who have make it work can give me some advice, it would be great.

 

i have a ford kuga, diesel 2.0 140hp 2WD, manual shift

 

thanks



#2010 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 16,187 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 03 June 2014 - 03:20 PM

You need to activate it via the trip computer as well. As I recall, you need to switch the options on via the ELMConfig, but you do need to check that its active via the trip computer switch.



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



4 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 4 guests, 0 anonymous users