Jump to content


Show
Photo

Guide For Focus Mk2/mk2.5 C-Max/kuga ~Elm 327 Cable And Ff2 Program

translating

  • Please log in to reply
2063 replies to this topic

#601 liam-20

liam-20

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Name: liam
  • Ford Model: focus st3
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 15 September 2012 - 09:39 PM

ive just done the update cant really see any changes whats this pats?

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#602 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,098 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 15 September 2012 - 09:48 PM

Passive anti theft system. i'm sure updating would not have touched it as it would just be updating the Rom data and not the config , and as you have already updated .

With Rom 509 if you turn Eco mode on and shift light then , the Shift light should show green at 2000rpm to tell you to change gear Economically

#603 JW1982

JW1982

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 412 posts
  • Name: Wilco
  • Ford Model: Focus MK2 First Edition
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 16 September 2012 - 06:22 AM

The firmware update only erases and writes the data on the flash memory of the instrument cluster. The PATS data is stored in the EEPROM of the instrument cluster. the EEPROM remains untouched during the update. So after the update the PATS doesn't need reprogramming.

#604 Nitemare

Nitemare

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus RS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: NI

Posted 16 September 2012 - 11:42 AM

Updated ROM using updated software. Thanks.

Nitemare. ;)

#605 Rh1no

Rh1no

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 710 posts
  • Name: Rhino
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec S
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 16 September 2012 - 12:08 PM

Kindly Liam was going to do this upgrade for me today but work got in the way of me going to the Blackpool Ford Show, interesting to see what this upgrade does, pretty clever stuff!

#606 mrmetallica

mrmetallica

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Name: john
  • Ford Model: focus titanium 1.6
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 16 September 2012 - 12:34 PM

You can download new version of ELMconfig from HERE.


For connecting a instrument cluster on the kitchen table like i do you have to connect the 12 volt positive and negative wires from a 12 volt DC source to the correct pins of both the ELM327 and the instrument cluster. You must also connect the HS-CAN wires between the ELM327 and the correct pins of the instrument cluster. I have made a set of adapter cables from scrap car connectors. With thes cables i can connect several modules (instrument cluster, radio, etcetera).

For connecting the instrument cluster you have to connect the following pins.

Pin 4 = 12 volt positive
Pin 6 = 12 volt negative
Pin 17 = HS-CAN negative
Pin 18 = HS-CAN positive



do you connect to the wires inside the box or the diagnostic end ?

#607 boylin

boylin

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford KA
  • Location:

Posted 16 September 2012 - 03:23 PM

how do you update the ROM to get the eco light?

found it, HEC > Procedures > Page 2

#608 Teabags

Teabags

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Name: DB
  • Ford Model: Focus ST
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Essex

Posted 16 September 2012 - 05:48 PM

Does ELMconfig update do any other new stuff?

#609 JW1982

JW1982

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 412 posts
  • Name: Wilco
  • Ford Model: Focus MK2 First Edition
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 16 September 2012 - 06:14 PM

do you connect to the wires inside the box or the diagnostic end ?


I am using a OBD2 connector and a instrument cluster connector from a scrap Focus MK2. I have connected the right pins (positive, negative and HS-CAN) of these connectors with each other and connected a external 12 volt power source to the positive and negative wires.

This way i can connect the instrument cluster connector to the instrument cluster and the ELM327 to the OBD2 connector. When i put 12 volt power on the positive and negative wires the instrument cluster display lights up and the instrument cluster can be fully diagnosed with ELMconfig.

#610 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 13,916 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 16 September 2012 - 06:34 PM

Very handy indeed.

#611 Richiemac

Richiemac

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 192 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: Focus 2014 1.6 tdci + S max 2007
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Ireland

Posted 16 September 2012 - 09:30 PM

OK, so did the update earlier and now have ECOmode in my menu....shift,anticipation and speed are there but doesn't seem to do very much ? No shift light either ? Missing something or maybe need PCM update too ?........

#612 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,098 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 16 September 2012 - 09:42 PM

When you switch ignoring on do you see the green arrow ?

#613 Richiemac

Richiemac

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 192 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: Focus 2014 1.6 tdci + S max 2007
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Ireland

Posted 16 September 2012 - 10:09 PM

Just checked and no green arrow at ignition on.......?

#614 nuno8210

nuno8210

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 49 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 17 September 2012 - 09:35 AM

I have a 2008 Focus 2.0 TDci so I have no Eco-mode nor eco shift light. When I turn the ignition on the up arrow only lights in red and 2010 Focus lights both in red and green.
Does this update to the HEC works in my car? Will the Eco-mode work also on 2.0TDci? As far as I remebed, here in Portugal, there where only 1.6 TDci Econetic that had the Eco-mode. I already activated the Eco-mode on 2010 1.6 TDci that were no Econetic but will it work on 2.0 TDci?
I would love to have the eco-mode and the shift up light on my car but I only will update when I am 100% that the upgrade will not brick my car as I need it to work!
Regards.

#615 Richiemac

Richiemac

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 192 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: Focus 2014 1.6 tdci + S max 2007
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Ireland

Posted 17 September 2012 - 10:08 AM

Ok, did the self test and i don't have the green arrow in my display....so that explains that i guess ? Eco mode is working though, as my flower petals are starting increase :)

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



11 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 11 guests, 0 anonymous users