Jump to content


Photo

Guide For Focus Mk2/mk2.5 C-Max/kuga ~Elm 327 Cable And Ff2 Program

translating

  • Please log in to reply
1989 replies to this topic

#1426 gazsutton

gazsutton

    Clueless!

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Name: Gareth
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus Zetec S
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Leicestershire

Posted 25 July 2013 - 01:24 PM

i cant seem to put the option to change my steering through the menu with the elm config. i have a modifed cable.

what do i need to click to enable this.

i have a 1.8 mk2.5

at the minute i have enabled the tyre pressure, auto locking, stereo ondash.

 

has anyone changed to eco, adaptive or sport.

whats the difference/change?



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

#1427 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,059 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 25 July 2013 - 01:58 PM

i cant seem to put the option to change my steering through the menu with the elm config. i have a modifed cable.

what do i need to click to enable this.

i have a 1.8 mk2.5

at the minute i have enabled the tyre pressure, auto locking, stereo ondash.

 

has anyone changed to eco, adaptive or sport.

whats the difference/change?

I thought the 1.8 petrol had the steering option already? , is this just for cars with the electronic steering.



#1428 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,059 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 25 July 2013 - 02:05 PM

guys, i recently finished modifing the elm, however i run into trouble. When i connect the cable to the car, none of the programs work. I've followed my checklist, however i receive a "CAN ERROR".

 

* I've installed the drivers on the computer including the RuntimePack.

* I've set the port to COM1 (Speed 38400)

* I've been using this port and speed in all programs (ELMConfig, ELM-FF2_EN, FDS)

* I've connected the cable to different usb ports

* I've tried all three available states on the switch.

 

Any suggestions or instructions would be much helpful.

 

Also, i am still a bit confused overall. My questions are as following:

1. Why do we need the switch? What is the use of each state?

2. Which program should i use in order to read the configuration of the car and make alterations? (ELMConfig, ELM-FF2_EN, FDS)

3. Do i need to follow the instructions for Putty before the programs in order to establish a connection with the car?

 

Thank you in advance.

 

This is my attempt attachicon.gif2013-07-24-925.jpg

1. You need the switch to be able to switch between MS-Can ( GEM) and HS-Can (HEC) , the ELM is set to HS_Can by default before being modified.

2. All three programs work.

3. Putty was only needed on ELM-FF2 , on ELMConfig civil.zz created a quick button to action the same cammands as Putty.

 

 

Can error - You need to double check your wiring if none of the programs are working



#1429 gazsutton

gazsutton

    Clueless!

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Name: Gareth
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus Zetec S
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Leicestershire

Posted 25 July 2013 - 02:09 PM

I thought the 1.8 petrol had the steering option already? , is this just for cars with the electronic steering.


It did have the steering selection on now it has gone?????
I restored to original but doesnt seem to change it back. The car is stopped handbrake on and still doesnt appear. I wonder if i clicked or unclicked something by accident.

#1430 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,059 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 25 July 2013 - 02:12 PM

any one know why this happens and why the elm cant run at that speed ?

 

 

 

attachicon.gifelmhec.jpg

John i think this is related to the ELM chip , and believe some of the cables work and some don't , my very own cable i have will not configure to 5000000 , where as some of the new one's i have modified seem to accept the speed , but i have not tested if they actually work as i don't have a Mk2 focus to test it on.



#1431 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,059 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 25 July 2013 - 02:16 PM

It did have the steering selection on now it has gone?????
I restored to original but doesnt seem to change it back. The car is stopped handbrake on and still doesnt appear. I wonder if i clicked or unclicked something by accident.

I have seen this before , try un-ticking HEC one at a time , first try EPB and DDS tick box , and if that does not solve it then same page Shift up indicator/ hill hold menu



#1432 gazsutton

gazsutton

    Clueless!

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Name: Gareth
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus Zetec S
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Leicestershire

Posted 25 July 2013 - 02:17 PM

Ok will do cheers dude
Any info on the adaptive/eco/sport ?

#1433 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,059 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 25 July 2013 - 02:24 PM

Ok will do cheers dude
Any info on the adaptive/eco/sport ?

Im not sure Gareth , it might be to set the default position for the steering for ignition on.



#1434 mrmetallica

mrmetallica

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 154 posts
  • Name: john
  • Ford Model: focus titanium 1.6
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 25 July 2013 - 02:49 PM

John i think this is related to the ELM chip , and believe some of the cables work and some don't , my very own cable i have will not configure to 5000000 , where as some of the new one's i have modified seem to accept the speed , but i have not tested if they actually work as i don't have a Mk2 focus to test it on.

i could always test them for you :rolleyes:



#1435 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,059 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 25 July 2013 - 02:53 PM

i could always test them for you :rolleyes:

haha :lol:



#1436 giwrgos_ath

giwrgos_ath

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 144 posts
  • Name: George
  • Ford Model: Focus MK2.5
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 25 July 2013 - 02:58 PM

Can error - You need to double check your wiring if none of the programs are working

 

 

None of the programs work. When i de-soldered the wires from 6 and 14, i put them directly on the two middle connectors switch. Isn't that the correct place?

 

I'll check my connections and possibly re-solder everything...



#1437 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,059 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 25 July 2013 - 03:10 PM

yes it is the correct place , but from your picture it is hard to tell if the other wires are in the correct position on the plug end.

 

Can Error , usual suspect is incorrect wiring.



#1438 minimadgriff

minimadgriff

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 42 posts
  • Name: Ben
  • Ford Model: Focus RS (The original) & Ford Kuga
  • Year: Non
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 25 July 2013 - 10:49 PM

Can anyone help with this little one? I disabled seat belt warning with IDS/VCM but it turned off the light and the chime. I just wanted to disable the chime but there is no option for this with VCM/IDS. For a genuine Ford tool it is very limited with some things.

I have been playing with ELM config but can't find a way of turning the light back on. Any ideas? I have looked in all the modules and played with lots of difference settings but to no avail!

#1439 JW1982

JW1982

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 324 posts
  • Name: Wilco
  • Ford Model: Focus MK2 First Edition
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 26 July 2013 - 11:29 AM

Ok will do cheers dude
Any info on the adaptive/eco/sport ?

 

The Adaptive/ECO/Sport setting are for automatic transmission only. This setting influences the shifting behaviour of the automatic gearbox. It has also effect on the response of the throttle pedal. (the throttle pedal is directly connected to the instrument cluster which converts the signal to CANbus).

 

This setting can also be applied on vehicles with manual transmission. If you change the setting to Sport the throttle response will be a little bit better (more direct). On my 1.6 100 HP engine it has a positive effect. 



#1440 gazsutton

gazsutton

    Clueless!

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Name: Gareth
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus Zetec S
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Leicestershire

Posted 26 July 2013 - 05:14 PM

ive sorted it, steering is now back on. i had shift up indicator (level 1) / hill hold ticked.

 

taken it off and its visible now.



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



10 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 10 guests, 0 anonymous users