Jump to content


Photo

Cam Or Chain Belt


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 richardc316

richardc316

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: Mondeo
  • Year: 2000
  • Location: Suffolk

Posted 14 March 2012 - 11:29 AM

Hi guys, I'm in the process of buying a mondeo and i'm not sure if its a chain belt or not? Can anyone help?

It's a 2000 (W), LX, A/C 2.0 Petrol Hatchback.

It's only done 50,000 miles, but it is nearly 12 years old.

Does anyone know if it would be chain? and either way, when it will need changing.

Thanks

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...



Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 rojariggs

rojariggs

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 419 posts
  • Name: Roger
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCI Titanium
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Hertfordshire

Posted 14 March 2012 - 11:36 AM

It's a belt on that one.

If you have no evidence of it being done and the car is now 12 years old I would suggest it's worth getting it done. On mileage it's OK but it should have had a couple of belts by now based on age.

#3 fintious maximus

fintious maximus

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 110 posts
  • Name: Andy
  • Ford Model: Modeo Estate 2.0 Zetec
  • Year: 2001
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 14 March 2012 - 07:18 PM

Mine's a 2001 2.0 zetec(Duratec HE engine) and I was told it was a chain? That's worrying if it's a belt as I have loads of history and no mention of a belt being done. Car has done 112k

#4 pragmatix

pragmatix

    Too much time on the boards

  • FOC Supporters
  • 553 posts
  • Name: Pete
  • Ford Model: Mondea 2Ltr Tdci Titianium Estate
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Perthshire

Posted 14 March 2012 - 08:16 PM

Mine's a 2001 2.0 zetec(Duratec HE engine) and I was told it was a chain? That's worrying if it's a belt as I have loads of history and no mention of a belt being done. Car has done 112k


Duratec's of your age are chain

#5 fintious maximus

fintious maximus

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 110 posts
  • Name: Andy
  • Ford Model: Modeo Estate 2.0 Zetec
  • Year: 2001
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 14 March 2012 - 09:21 PM

Cool,thanks for clarifying that

#6 rojariggs

rojariggs

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 419 posts
  • Name: Roger
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCI Titanium
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Hertfordshire

Posted 15 March 2012 - 02:48 PM

Mine's a 2001 2.0 zetec(Duratec HE engine) and I was told it was a chain? That's worrying if it's a belt as I have loads of history and no mention of a belt being done. Car has done 112k

Your's is new shape - His is old shape. You have a chain - He has a belt.

#7 richardc316

richardc316

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: Mondeo
  • Year: 2000
  • Location: Suffolk

Posted 23 March 2012 - 03:56 PM

Thanks for the replies. I've got it changed now and it only cost me £140! I actually work for a Ford main dealer and even with my staff discount it would have cost me nearly double that.

#8 btmaldon

btmaldon

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,581 posts
  • Name: Bruce
  • Ford Model: BMW 320i Coupe M Sport, KA Luxury
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Essex

Posted 23 March 2012 - 08:53 PM

I doubt you could get it done much cheaper if you did it yourself. :)

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users