Jump to content


Photo

High Idle Rev's When Stationary

rev

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 CONKERS

CONKERS

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Name: Chris
  • Ford Model: 2.0 Mondeo Ghia
  • Year: 2003
  • Location: Somerset

Posted 15 March 2012 - 04:07 PM

Ji Guys,

I have a Mondeo 2l 03plate

Recently everytime I come to a standstill my car revs to 3k for 3 seconds before coming back down to 1k

I have bought a Haynes manual so have have just changed the Idle control vavle and also the Throttle body and sensor and there is no change

Is there anyone out there that has had the same problem that could possibly help

Its getting quite embarasing pulling up at every juction with this revving noise

Thanks in advance

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...



Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 plumbob

plumbob

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Name: Rob
  • Ford Model: Mondeo TDCI
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Leicestershire

Posted 16 March 2012 - 07:51 PM

Petrol or diesel?

#3 pragmatix

pragmatix

    Too much time on the boards

  • FOC Supporters
  • 534 posts
  • Name: Pete
  • Ford Model: Mondea 2Ltr Tdci Titianium Estate
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Perthshire

Posted 16 March 2012 - 07:57 PM

Its likely to be the throttle position sensor, its attached to the accelorator pedal

#4 CONKERS

CONKERS

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Name: Chris
  • Ford Model: 2.0 Mondeo Ghia
  • Year: 2003
  • Location: Somerset

Posted 16 March 2012 - 08:33 PM

Hi Guys,

Its a Petrol engine 2.0ltr

I thought the Throttle sensor was on the Throttle Body connected to the engine enf of the throttle cable which I have changed. What sensor in connected to the pedal ??

Chris

#5 pragmatix

pragmatix

    Too much time on the boards

  • FOC Supporters
  • 534 posts
  • Name: Pete
  • Ford Model: Mondea 2Ltr Tdci Titianium Estate
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Perthshire

Posted 16 March 2012 - 08:40 PM

Ok ignore that if you are on a cable

#6 plumbob

plumbob

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Name: Rob
  • Ford Model: Mondeo TDCI
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Leicestershire

Posted 16 March 2012 - 10:43 PM

try look at the condition of this, Crankcase breather hose under the inlet manifold.

#7 CONKERS

CONKERS

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Name: Chris
  • Ford Model: 2.0 Mondeo Ghia
  • Year: 2003
  • Location: Somerset

Posted 16 March 2012 - 10:48 PM

Cool I will have a look in the morning and let you know how I get on



#8 CONKERS

CONKERS

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Name: Chris
  • Ford Model: 2.0 Mondeo Ghia
  • Year: 2003
  • Location: Somerset

Posted 27 March 2012 - 07:28 PM

Thanks Plumbob - I took the Inlet manifold off and there was a 4 inch split along the vacuum hose - replaced this and the 4 gaskets (whilst I had it off) and its running like a dream.

#9 plumbob

plumbob

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Name: Rob
  • Ford Model: Mondeo TDCI
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Leicestershire

Posted 27 March 2012 - 07:37 PM

No problem buddy, i am really happy you got it fixed!
4 inch, that is a big split!


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have




Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: rev

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users