Jump to content


Photo

Why Does My Focus Not Have An Instrument Dim Switch?


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 ts7

ts7

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Name: as
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Leicestershire

Posted 07 April 2012 - 12:59 PM

Hi,

I was sitting in friends Focus Zetec (2005) and realised the lighting behind his controls (heater switch, fan speed etc etc) was dim. He showed me a dimmer control which is located next to the headlight adjustment controls.

I looked in my 2007 Focus Zetec Climate and I don't have it.

That's a bit bizzare? My car is newer, also a Zetec and it doesn't have the same features?

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...



Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 17,820 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: 2015 Focus ST3 250BHP
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 07 April 2012 - 03:10 PM

It does appear a bit random.
I have fitted a dimmer myself, all you have to do is swap the switch units over and no other fiddling is required.
This is the one you need.

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item27c09f508a

I got mine from this seller and it works a treat.

#3 NorthSussex

NorthSussex

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
  • Name: Stormin
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 Petrol manual
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 07 April 2012 - 03:15 PM

That is typical of Ford, when you buy a Ford you can never be sure what will be fitted even if it the same model and year. As a guess, it could even be down to the guy who fits a particular part to the car didn't turn up to work that day so the part he usually fitted got missed out. <_<

#4 jay1981

jay1981

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 170 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec 1.8 TDCI
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Devon

Posted 07 April 2012 - 06:15 PM

My car is a 2009 zetec model and doesn't have one. I'm afraid its just cost-cutting on the part of Ford :o

Lots of car manufacturers do this to save money, they remove little things from cars that 99% of drivers wouldn't even notice. Another example is the low washer warning - the early mk2 models had it, and very few of the later models had it.

#5 ChrisH

ChrisH

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 210 posts
  • Name: Chris
  • Ford Model: C-max Titanium 2.0TDCi Powershift
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 07 April 2012 - 07:43 PM

Another example is the low washer warning - the early mk2 models had it, and very few of the later models had it.


Dont get me going on that :angry: :angry:

I agree, some trim levels, are completely random, even Ford themselves have no idea half of the time.....

#6 btmaldon

btmaldon

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,581 posts
  • Name: Bruce
  • Ford Model: BMW 320i Coupe M Sport, KA Luxury
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Essex

Posted 07 April 2012 - 09:29 PM

That is random as I would have thought the Zetec would have the dimmer switch. Its on my Sport thank goodness as the satnav/radio unit is really bright at night and I have to dim it with the dash lights.

#7 Stepmg

Stepmg

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
  • Name: Stephen
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Essex

Posted 14 January 2014 - 08:10 AM

On the note of fitting a new headlight switch, will the dimmer control work if this is reto fitted?

#8 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,892 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 14 January 2014 - 08:49 AM

simply unplug the old switch and put in the new one done it on my 2006 zetec climate easy mod to do and does help a lot



#9 Stepmg

Stepmg

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
  • Name: Stephen
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Essex

Posted 14 January 2014 - 08:55 AM

Nice one. I've got a 06 Zetec climate and was hoping to fit one of these and then install led lighting and controll them from the dimmer switch.

#10 jamesm182

jamesm182

    Management

  • Admin
  • 1,447 posts
  • Name: James
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Dorset
Contributor

Posted 14 January 2014 - 09:50 AM

They used to do this on the MK1 Focus too. I had a 2004 model that didn't have it and a friend had a 1999 that did. I simply picked one up from a scrap year, fitted it in about 5 mins and it all worked perfectly!



#11 stevegtuk

stevegtuk

    Stevegtuk

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 564 posts
  • Name: Steve
  • Ford Model: MONDEO
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 14 January 2014 - 10:49 AM

It does seem random at times, whats fitted and what isnt. The mk3 mondys have a similar problem as to whether the dimmer is on or not. But its an easy fix as the switch unit is plug and play so take one out and fit the unit with a dimmer and your away. There were also wiring looms to add extras. With the mk3s, when it got to the facelifts, as time went on the wiring looms started to be removed, so heated seats, climate control, rear electric windows etc were harder to retrofit on the later models.



#12 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 17,820 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: 2015 Focus ST3 250BHP
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 14 January 2014 - 12:34 PM

On the note of fitting a new headlight switch, will the dimmer control work if this is reto fitted?


Look at my guide list for how to fit the dimmer switch.

#13 Stepmg

Stepmg

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
  • Name: Stephen
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Essex

Posted 14 January 2014 - 12:44 PM

Will the dimmer from a C-Max fit. The code is the same but ends DA not BA like in Stoney's guide.
I know that the mondeo one won't fit as its too big.

#14 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 17,820 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: 2015 Focus ST3 250BHP
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 14 January 2014 - 01:07 PM

If it is the same dimensions then shouldn't be a drama.
You could also fit one with the auto headlight notch if no others are available bearing in mind the auto setting won't work without sensor etc.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users