Jump to content


Photo

Can You Put A Auto Focus Engine In A Manual Focus


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 moy24

moy24

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 411 posts
  • Name: M
  • Ford Model: FOCUS 2.0 TITANIUM/ST REPLICA
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Suffolk

Posted 15 April 2012 - 06:34 PM

Can you put a auto focus engine into a manul focus both engine are 2.0 with same code AODA what will i need to change to do it i no il have to put my clutch and flywheel from old engine on the new one but whats about other parts and ecu etc. Also if it did work will the car be fuel efficent as my old manul engine or will it be like the auto (hope that mkes sense). It just that i need a new engine for mines but i cant find any but did find same engine but from a auto focus.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...



Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 moy24

moy24

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 411 posts
  • Name: M
  • Ford Model: FOCUS 2.0 TITANIUM/ST REPLICA
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Suffolk

Posted 15 April 2012 - 07:17 PM

anyone

#3 DaveD

DaveD

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Name: David
  • Ford Model: Ford Ka Edge
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Lincolnshire

Posted 15 April 2012 - 07:40 PM

The engines would be mechanically the same, built on the same production line even. Where the flywheel is attached thats where things mechanically start to change. If you attach your clutch and flywheel (new pressure/friction plate is a good idea) and hook it up to the manual cars electric's I would have thought that should be ok. I have worked on many Ford engines in my life and found them easy to work on and over engineered. I did tooling design work for Ford of Cologne in the 1980s they are well built and robust units. Good luck!

#4 moy24

moy24

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 411 posts
  • Name: M
  • Ford Model: FOCUS 2.0 TITANIUM/ST REPLICA
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Suffolk

Posted 15 April 2012 - 07:51 PM

The engines would be mechanically the same, built on the same production line even. Where the flywheel is attached thats where things mechanically start to change. If you attach your clutch and flywheel (new pressure/friction plate is a good idea) and hook it up to the manual cars electric's I would have thought that should be ok. I have worked on many Ford engines in my life and found them easy to work on and over engineered. I did tooling design work for Ford of Cologne in the 1980s they are well built and robust units. Good luck!

thankyou for your advice im going to ask my ford garage tommorow and see if they got any advice too

#5 DaveD

DaveD

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Name: David
  • Ford Model: Ford Ka Edge
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Lincolnshire

Posted 15 April 2012 - 08:42 PM

Wise man, they are the experts.

#6 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 20,961 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 16 April 2012 - 01:28 PM

and rip off merchants all at the same time...

You would need to replace a lot, clutch and ECU would need changing. remember if your taking a manual to an auto body or vice versa, it will need to be re-trained as well as given the new stick to deal with it!

#7 moy24

moy24

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 411 posts
  • Name: M
  • Ford Model: FOCUS 2.0 TITANIUM/ST REPLICA
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Suffolk

Posted 16 April 2012 - 08:59 PM

and rip off merchants all at the same time...

You would need to replace a lot, clutch and ECU would need changing. remember if your taking a manual to an auto body or vice versa, it will need to be re-trained as well as given the new stick to deal with it!

i rang ford they said its a stright swap as engine size and code are same all i need to do is put the clutch on and fly wheel as its on a engine swap not gera box.

#8 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 20,961 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 17 April 2012 - 01:17 PM

lol dare I ask what they quoted? they dont normally give out advice like that if they dont think they will get the money for it!

but you learn something new every day! glad to see it wont be painful for you!

#9 moy24

moy24

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 411 posts
  • Name: M
  • Ford Model: FOCUS 2.0 TITANIUM/ST REPLICA
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Suffolk

Posted 17 April 2012 - 02:59 PM

lol dare I ask what they quoted? they dont normally give out advice like that if they dont think they will get the money for it!

but you learn something new every day! glad to see it wont be painful for you!

They gave free advice i was seperised but they did mention they can supply a brand spanking new engine with no miles on it for £4000 i said NO THANKS

#10 moy24

moy24

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 411 posts
  • Name: M
  • Ford Model: FOCUS 2.0 TITANIUM/ST REPLICA
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Suffolk

Posted 20 April 2012 - 11:27 AM

Hi as i promised to keep you inform the auto engine fit stright into my manual car (just engine swap) all i had to change over was the clutch and fly wheel.It drives perfect and sound realy good as it a 2006 2.0 petrol focus but a st replica with custom R-Tec exhaust. Thank you all for your help

#11 moy24

moy24

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 411 posts
  • Name: M
  • Ford Model: FOCUS 2.0 TITANIUM/ST REPLICA
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Suffolk

Posted 20 April 2012 - 11:28 AM

i need the stereo code but i dont have it or have the key to remove it to get the serial number its a sony generation1 cd layer

#12 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 20,961 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 20 April 2012 - 01:30 PM

You may need to either visit your dealer to get the code, or you will hvae to buy a set of keys and remove the stereo yourself.

We no longer are able to provide Radio Codes on this forum, and as suchm you would need to review online services for radio codes.

#13 moy24

moy24

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 411 posts
  • Name: M
  • Ford Model: FOCUS 2.0 TITANIUM/ST REPLICA
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Suffolk

Posted 20 April 2012 - 08:24 PM

You may need to either visit your dealer to get the code, or you will hvae to buy a set of keys and remove the stereo yourself.

We no longer are able to provide Radio Codes on this forum, and as suchm you would need to review online services for radio codes.

yea ford wants £20 for the code but i decided to put after market cd player on which i have at home from my old car and connect up my amp and bass box.Il upload some pic soon of my car its a st replica

#14 moy24

moy24

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 411 posts
  • Name: M
  • Ford Model: FOCUS 2.0 TITANIUM/ST REPLICA
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Suffolk

Posted 21 April 2012 - 11:38 AM

as i promised here my car.

Attached Thumbnails

  • 5.JPG
  • exhaust pic.JPG
  • 4.JPG


#15 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,366 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3.5 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 21 April 2012 - 02:17 PM

Nice looking car :)

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users