Jump to content


Photo

Dash Board


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Mathew Pritt

Mathew Pritt

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Name: mathew
  • Ford Model: focus zetec mk2
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Cumbria

Posted 07 May 2012 - 05:07 PM

my question is, if i was to replace the dash board in my mk2 focus, would it be a straight swap or is there some technical electrical stuff i should know??

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...



Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 Mike77

Mike77

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 959 posts
  • Name: Mike
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCI Titanium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 07 May 2012 - 05:41 PM

Replace it with what ??? I assume you mean with a mk 2.5 one, in which case I believe its not just a simple case of swapping them over.

#3 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 11,080 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 07 May 2012 - 05:58 PM

my question is, if i was to replace the dash board in my mk2 focus, would it be a straight swap or is there some technical electrical stuff i should know??

you would be better to remove the front seats and centre console first, to allow yourself space to manouver it out, and their are air bags that will need disconnecting before you move it.

Replace it with what ??? I assume you mean with a mk 2.5 one, in which case I believe its not just a simple case of swapping them over.


the mk2 and mk2.5 main dash section is identical if you are changing to a mk2.5 you just need a new centre console, some new side footwell panels and the stereo surround, or if your planning to swap it for a st or rs dash you dont need to do that neither because you can cut out the existing dash and fit the st pod in their very easilly, i have done it myself,

the only other reason i can think that you would want to change it is because of air bag deployment leaving a hole in the passenger side of it.

#4 Mike77

Mike77

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 959 posts
  • Name: Mike
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCI Titanium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 07 May 2012 - 07:07 PM

Ahhhh, I thought he meant the clocks :-0

#5 Mathew Pritt

Mathew Pritt

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Name: mathew
  • Ford Model: focus zetec mk2
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Cumbria

Posted 07 May 2012 - 08:54 PM

yeah didnt make it very clear, i just want to swap the clocks for the same mk2 ones as mine are faulty.

#6 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 11,080 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 07 May 2012 - 09:11 PM

yeah didnt make it very clear, i just want to swap the clocks for the same mk2 ones as mine are faulty.


easy job mate,
but electroniclly ford will need to sync the new cluster to your car via IDS software,
but removal of the cluster is simple and pluging it in,
see my guide for fitting the st pod to see how to remove and fit the cluster, but you will need a software job done too or your car wont drive,

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users