Jump to content


Photo

Flip Key


  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 Drich290195

Drich290195

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 226 posts
  • Name: David
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 TDCi
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 11 May 2012 - 10:41 PM

Anyone no how I can convert the standard mk2 key fob to the flip one cheers guys

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...



Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 johnH

johnH

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 1,137 posts
  • Name: John
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 Zetec 1.8 TDCI (Climate)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear
Contributor

Posted 11 May 2012 - 11:13 PM

ive seen this done with peugeot keys....not too sure if it can be done with the ford keys though

#3 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 17,822 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: 2015 Focus ST3 250BHP
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 11 May 2012 - 11:26 PM

This is how i did it-
1. Buy this key from this trader (trust me the keys are brand new and will work perfectly) - £29.95

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item2ebda1f54d

2. Call a local Auto Locksmith and they will cut, code to your ECU and set to your central locking in about 20 minutes.

Don't take any guff about the key metal being too hard/will blunt blades or any other lame excuse, they will cut just fine, i have been using my flip key from this dealer for 9 months with absolutely no problems at all.

Do not try Timpsons as they refuse to cut this type of key because they're useless and incompetent and would only clone the key anyway rather than adding it to the ECU properly.

I got mates rates on my key cutting/coding (£20), i know standard customer rates will be higher but still way cheaper than your local main dealer will charge and also make you wait at least an hour so they can charge a labour rate on top of the cutting/coding and they usually push a diagnostic (£99.00) on top of that too for good measures.

#4 Drich290195

Drich290195

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 226 posts
  • Name: David
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 TDCi
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 12 May 2012 - 08:17 AM

Is their no way I could get one drone a scrappy and do it that wat

#5 ferretfloozy

ferretfloozy

    Feet Under The Table

  • FOC Supporters
  • 115 posts
  • Name: ferret
  • Ford Model: fiesta 2003 - focus zetec 2007
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon

Posted 12 May 2012 - 08:44 AM

nope keys have to be added to the ecu ..its part of the security ..if you lose a key you have to have the lost key removed from the ecu before you can add any further ones..stoneys advice is the only way to do it ..earlier models it was possable to add keys by inserting exisiting keys in a set equence(you had a red master key)..but trust stoney on this .. his advice is the only way to do it correctly ..timpsons are for shoes and watch batteries :D

#6 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 11,152 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 12 May 2012 - 08:50 AM

Guys,
ive got a new flip key for my 2010 focus mk2.5
im going today to get the key blade cut to match the other flip key and regular key that i already have for the car.
i have programmed the new flip key to operate the central loking by pressing the buttons on the fob,
and im getting the blade cut today,

what do i do to get the ecu to communicate with the key,
can i insert the otehr two keys followd by the new one?

#7 ferretfloozy

ferretfloozy

    Feet Under The Table

  • FOC Supporters
  • 115 posts
  • Name: ferret
  • Ford Model: fiesta 2003 - focus zetec 2007
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon

Posted 12 May 2012 - 12:41 PM

thats what i thought i could do .. the keys have to be inserted in the correct order ..i.e the original will be coded as number 1.and any extras will be 2..3.. etc .. i tried this but it didnt work so an auto locksmith had to code it for me .. its part of the anti theft system .. if a key is lost then that key must be manually removed fom the ecu so it cannot be used to start the car ..the new key will then take its place in the order sequence .. the old method was to use the master key then re-code all the existing keys to the immobiliser by inserting one after another.. the central locking fob is not coded with ecu... i ended up doing what stoney has done ..only difference was mines a 3 button fob not the flip type ( or you can swop the transponder in the old key over )

#8 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 17,822 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: 2015 Focus ST3 250BHP
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 12 May 2012 - 01:05 PM

+1
On the MK1/1.5 you could add keys yourself using the 2 original keys that came with the car, but on the MK2 and later models that ability was removed.
I know that the transpnder can be swapped from one fob key to another with care, but i'm not sure if the transponder is the same shape in the flip key.
In the fob key the transponder is attached to the fob part but on flip keys the transponder is in the blade part.
The only way to get to it is to dissasemble the blade part but doing so may knacker it beyond use.
My tame Locksmith did tell me that the transponder chips in the flip keys can only be programmed to one car, so buying a second hand/scrappy one is not advisable, unless you are able to verify that you can swap an existing active transponder between keys.

#9 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 11,152 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 12 May 2012 - 01:51 PM

went down to the locksmith today and he has refused to cut the blade on the flip key for me,
because i didnt purchase the key from him and he asked where i purchased the key from and i said i got it from ebay for 25euro, he said ''thats not possible their must not be any electronics inside the key since it only cost 25euro''

i then informed him that it has the electronics inside because i have activated the central locking to function on the car,
so i just need to get it cut and he said ''im not cutting it because you didnt purchase the key from me and i dont trust the supplier that you purchased it from, i recommend you go back to ford with the car and the keys get them to do it for you, or i can supply a flip key to you for 150euro and ill cut it for an additional 10euro ''

so i left the shop very unhappy

#10 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 17,822 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: 2015 Focus ST3 250BHP
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 12 May 2012 - 03:10 PM

Just their excuse to get money from you.
Robbing buggers.

#11 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 11,152 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 12 May 2012 - 04:31 PM

Just their excuse to get money from you.
Robbing buggers.


shame it went that way though lol
all i want is my key cut ive had it almost two years now and i just need it cut.

#12 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,892 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 12 May 2012 - 06:00 PM

i bought one of those keys and took it to a local company that do the programing for dealers he checked my key out then told me info, ford send the keys to be cut to him and that key is a genuine ford key exactly what they use he cut it no probs that was a tenner then he coded it using his computer thing 5mins and 20quid so 30total to cut and programme. i told ford i wouldnt need it dome at their 180quid for key and cutting and programming they were not happy when i told them how much it cost me

#13 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 11,152 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 12 May 2012 - 07:10 PM

i bought one of those keys and took it to a local company that do the programing for dealers he checked my key out then told me info, ford send the keys to be cut to him and that key is a genuine ford key exactly what they use he cut it no probs that was a tenner then he coded it using his computer thing 5mins and 20quid so 30total to cut and programme. i told ford i wouldnt need it dome at their 180quid for key and cutting and programming they were not happy when i told them how much it cost me


nice one mate,
but my local for dealer is 148km or 92miles away from me so im not even going to get a price off of them,
i think ill ask richiemac where he got his key blade cut because i travel up north on occasion to visit family and i could get it cut on the way up their, if he can tell me where he got it cut.

#14 DaveD

DaveD

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Name: David
  • Ford Model: Ford Ka Edge
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Lincolnshire

Posted 12 May 2012 - 07:27 PM

Flip key...pahh give me an ordinary key any day. This 'flip' key from Ford (or should I say FIAT) is not good. Much too bulky and what is the point of unlocking the boot only??? I ask you.

#15 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 17,822 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: 2015 Focus ST3 250BHP
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 12 May 2012 - 09:14 PM

Better than jabbing yourself in the nads every time you bend over with a fixed key in your pocket.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users