Jump to content


Photo

Engine System Fault ???


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Mike77

Mike77

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 959 posts
  • Name: Mike
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCI Titanium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 29 May 2012 - 03:22 PM

Hi guys, need a bit of advice, my car '56 focus 1.8tdci' has just cut out on me 3 times within a mile, and my computer screen is displaying 'engine system fault' and just to the right of the display there is a red light, which is now on permenantly... So I plugged it into the OBD2 code reader, and it is showing 'no codes stored' ??? Tried erasing it anyway, but nothing happened, ran the OBD a few times, but it just won't pick up on anything. Anyone have any ideas where to go from here ???
Just done the dash test too, and in the DTC section, its showing 'NO' codes ? Head is pickled :unsure:

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...



Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,006 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 29 May 2012 - 06:10 PM

simply put it needs to be plugged into fords diagnostic software its obviously engine related so not a sensor obd2 readers dont show all the info

#3 Mike77

Mike77

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 959 posts
  • Name: Mike
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCI Titanium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 29 May 2012 - 06:44 PM

simply put it needs to be plugged into fords diagnostic software its obviously engine related so not a sensor obd2 readers dont show all the info


Its on the RAC's rack scan now, and that has ford software on it, but even having trouble connecting to this :angry:

#4 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,006 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 29 May 2012 - 07:02 PM

very strange if its not connecting then its possible theres an ecu issue if its wiring or the ecu is anyones guess no issues prior? loss of power or anything unusual

#5 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,006 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 29 May 2012 - 07:12 PM

the most common fault regarding this issue and symptoms is a problem with the fuel system most commonly the pump going as well as debris in the tank to faulty injectors no codes stored and many have had to go to ford who have done many things including hand priming the system

#6 Mike77

Mike77

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 959 posts
  • Name: Mike
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCI Titanium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 29 May 2012 - 09:17 PM

the most common fault regarding this issue and symptoms is a problem with the fuel system most commonly the pump going as well as debris in the tank to faulty injectors no codes stored and many have had to go to ford who have done many things including hand priming the system


A diagnostic reader would show faults with the injectors or related fuel system though. Got another RAC patrol coming down tomorrow night, with software we know works, so will just have to wait and see :blink:

#7 Anth23

Anth23

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Name: Anthony
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus 2.0
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Lincolnshire

Posted 29 May 2012 - 09:27 PM

I had this on my old 55" titanium focus, i read somewhere how to get around it, apparently sometimes there is nothing wrong with the car at all it just decides to do it!

i will do my best to find the link again! all it is is something like leave the car for so many hours and do this and that! (of course thats no help but i will go looking for the link now) dont spend any more money on those pathetic computers!! good old mechanics experience and this automech program i got on my laptop works a treat!

#8 Anth23

Anth23

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Name: Anthony
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus 2.0
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Lincolnshire

Posted 29 May 2012 - 09:29 PM

for now check your battery isnt nackered and if it happens again, pull in asap and just turn the car off, wait 2 minutes and turn it back on! error message will be gone and away you go again! but i will get to the bottom of this for you!!! aint having fellow focus folk in trouble! haha

#9 Mike77

Mike77

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 959 posts
  • Name: Mike
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCI Titanium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 29 May 2012 - 10:19 PM

haha, cheers fella, I hope it is nothing, there was no previous problems with it at all, just popped up out of the blue. I've not spent any money yet, as my dad is an RAC patrol so plugging in isn't a problem, or so I thought haha. I've left the car off for a while, but it still pops up when I turn the ignition on. But might be a help if you can find what your looking for, its worth a try at least,,, cheers for your help mate ;)

#10 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,006 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 29 May 2012 - 11:26 PM

the fuel system and pump issue others had showed no fault codes either

#11 Mike77

Mike77

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 959 posts
  • Name: Mike
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCI Titanium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 30 May 2012 - 12:42 AM

the fuel system and pump issue others had showed no fault codes either


I can't be sure on the pump, but I have personally had codes for injectors on a code reader. On another note, I've done quite a bit of digging tonight and all signs are pointing to a 'camshaft position sensor' so gonna get it on the comp again tomoz nite and take it from there.... Will keep my findings posted.

#12 Mike77

Mike77

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 959 posts
  • Name: Mike
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCI Titanium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 30 May 2012 - 10:38 PM

UPDATE,,, So, had the car back on another RAC code reader this morning, only difference,, this one worked. Was showing 'fuel rail pressure' fault, tried to clear it but it wouldn't go, so obviously the problem was still there. So we then disconnected the fuel pressure sensor, and cleaned the contacts, and re-fitted, then the code erased :-) the guy doing it was an ex Ford technician, and was pretty sure of the problem b4 he even plugged it in, and the car is back to its normal happy self, and it never cost me a penny, happy days :-)

#13 jg321

jg321

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 207 posts
  • Name: Jon
  • Ford Model: Focus Mk 2.5 1.6 TDCi Zetec
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 31 May 2012 - 10:04 PM

UPDATE,,, So, had the car back on another RAC code reader this morning, only difference,, this one worked. Was showing 'fuel rail pressure' fault, tried to clear it but it wouldn't go, so obviously the problem was still there. So we then disconnected the fuel pressure sensor, and cleaned the contacts, and re-fitted, then the code erased :-) the guy doing it was an ex Ford technician, and was pretty sure of the problem b4 he even plugged it in, and the car is back to its normal happy self, and it never cost me a penny, happy days :-)


Excellent news, glad to hear it! Lets hope it stays away!

Jon

#14 Mike77

Mike77

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 959 posts
  • Name: Mike
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCI Titanium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 31 May 2012 - 10:24 PM

Cheers Jon, fingers crossed hey, its been fine since, so as a treat I've just ordered some new wiped blades and the new focus washer jets, that mist rather than spray lol. Onwards and upwards :-)

#15 scottydogyoung

scottydogyoung

    Newbie

  • Members via FB
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Name: Scott
  • Ford Model: Focus CC
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 07 August 2013 - 04:45 PM

Ive just got the same problem on my 57plate focus cc 2.0tdci.

what reader was used?

any help will be much appreciated  :)



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users