Jump to content


Show
Photo
- - - - -

Fiesta 04 Radio Replacement


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 craigfiestaflam

craigfiestaflam

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Name: Craig
  • Ford Model: fiesta flame
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Suffolk

Posted 02 June 2012 - 02:12 PM

Hi guys,

was wondering if you could help me I own a ford fiesta flame 2004 1.4, the standard stereo is 3 indivual parts, the cd player , controls-screen and then other controls. I want to replace these but it doesnt seem an easy job as there is a bit of plastic running inbetween each of the units. I dont know wether i should replace the whole panel with one which has the correct size for a stereo ( if its possible and not expensive) or if i should do what the guy in halfords said and just buy the cage and then cut out the bits of plastic in the middle. . . may go wrong or look ugly.

I just want some advice off people who know what there talking about so opinions would be appreciated
thanks

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 craigfiestaflam

craigfiestaflam

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Name: Craig
  • Ford Model: fiesta flame
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Suffolk

Posted 02 June 2012 - 02:20 PM

or if all else fails, is it easy to fit a mp3 cable to the standard stereo the model is 4500 rds e-on

#3 MissyD

MissyD

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Name: Dina
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.4 Style
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 23 June 2012 - 09:03 PM

Hi guys,

was wondering if you could help me I own a ford fiesta flame 2004 1.4, the standard stereo is 3 indivual parts, the cd player , controls-screen and then other controls. I want to replace these but it doesnt seem an easy job as there is a bit of plastic running inbetween each of the units. I dont know wether i should replace the whole panel with one which has the correct size for a stereo ( if its possible and not expensive) or if i should do what the guy in halfords said and just buy the cage and then cut out the bits of plastic in the middle. . . may go wrong or look ugly.

I just want some advice off people who know what there talking about so opinions would be appreciated
thanks


Believe it or I not I bought mine, knowing that the volume knob wasn't working (but I needed to replace my first car a troublesome R reg 1.0 Corsa) and the cigarette lighter was missing but only with 49k on the clock.
So at the time I didn't really think too much about the volume knob or the stereo not working properly.
I ended up finding a brand new original ford full unit on eBay for about £60-70 in a rare blue colour which was great as my car is blue (not navy).
I've just had a quick look on eBay..........
http://www.ebay.co.u...9#ht_973wt_1270
Now you could pay someone to fit it if you have more money than sense, :rolleyes: however if you and a friend can follow instructions, have patience and like tea (optional) then you can do it, we followed instructions from the web
basically a lot of screws and the panels from under the steering wheel right across including dash to just inside the glove box comes away (we didn't take it off) for you to remove and replace the stereo.
The hardest bit is disconnecting/connecting the controls for the fan/heat a/c etc
If you are going to do this, it would be wise to check if any of the internal bulbs in this area have died, if so I strongly advise you source and replace these at the same time ;) I only realised after the whole thing was all done that one of my bulbs is dead! :angry:
I hope this helps!

I'm not an expert, I'm just speaking from experience

Edited by MissyD, 23 June 2012 - 09:08 PM.


#4 MissyD

MissyD

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Name: Dina
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.4 Style
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 23 June 2012 - 10:27 PM

How do I connect an mp3 cable to 4500 rds I've got the CD player one (same as above post)??
While I'm here do you have any ideas/solutions for hands-free kit with mp3 too???

#5 William Crossey

William Crossey

    Member

  • Members via FB
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts
  • Location:

Posted 24 June 2012 - 07:24 PM

you cannot fit an mp3 cable to that radio unless you get an after market box thing but if that was the case and in wanting to get bluetooth hands free as well then the best option would be a parrot hands free kit with the ipod/iphone connectivity/ music streeming option.. you buy what is called a sot lead meaning it plugs into you radio and into the car wiring leaving iso plugs to connect to the parrot kit then when the phone rings the audio comes through the car speakers and when the music streeming is selected then it also comes through the car speakers.


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users