Jump to content


Show
Photo

Focus Mk2.5 Clocks


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Paul-S

Paul-S

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Name: Robert
  • Ford Model: Mondeo Mk4
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Swansea

Posted 10 June 2012 - 05:07 PM

Has anyone upgraded from the Mk2 to Mk2.5 clocks?, what exactly did it entail. Then if it they can be fitted, would things like eco mode etc work?

Cheers
Paul-S

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,892 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 10 June 2012 - 06:10 PM

Unfortunately its changing the clocks from a MK2.5 and putting them in a MK2 will not work. The clocks are controlled by the CAN system, and link in with the immobiliser and computer system. This is supposed to stop people changing clocks and clocking cars mileage. So if you change the clocks, you will have one car that cannot be started (will have to be plugged into Ford computer to get up and running, but chances are they will not do this due to the implications with the mileage differences and what not…

#3 Pidu

Pidu

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 266 posts
  • Name: Peter
  • Ford Model: Focus Titanium 2.0 AT
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 10 June 2012 - 08:48 PM

It can be done but it is required to use Ford IDS to programme new clocks, change mileage etc. Not possible to do it at home / on your own. I read Polish Focus forum and quite a lot of people did it (not to mention Russian forum :)). PM mayak - he posted on this forum and he changed the clocks in his mk2.

I thought about it too but it is hard to get facelift clocks from car with AT.

#4 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,892 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 10 June 2012 - 09:48 PM

ford wouldnt entertain it due to the mileage issue they said they would enable it and ide have to get a digital mileage correction company to sort the mileage after i factored in all the costs it just wasnt worth it for a set of clocks

clocks second hand were £80-100
digital mileage correction £120
ford enabling £100 estimated

300 for a clock not for me

#5 Pidu

Pidu

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 266 posts
  • Name: Peter
  • Ford Model: Focus Titanium 2.0 AT
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 10 June 2012 - 11:16 PM

Mileage correction is not a problem in this case for Ford dealers in many other countries and is included in the price of clocks programming. Prices are also lower than in UK. Here the costs are killing this kind of modification.

#6 johnH

johnH

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 1,091 posts
  • Name: John
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 Zetec 1.8 TDCI (Climate)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear
Contributor

Posted 13 June 2012 - 12:39 AM

when i bust my clocks, ford were happy to install the new clocks but couldnt due to me stupidily buying petrol variant instead of diesel. so i had to buy new from them as i couldnt find any diesel versions.

in total it cost me around £700-£800 for a new speedo, fitted and programmed.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users