Jump to content


Photo

Removing Standard Headunit For After Market One.


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Millsy1

Millsy1

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 132 posts
  • Name: gary
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 zetec
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Leicestershire

Posted 18 June 2012 - 11:29 AM

Afternoon Everyone

having just brought a mk2 focus 2005. im debating to either keep the standard double din head unit in place, or fit my single din unit form my old motor. As it has Bluetooth handsfree and iphone ready.

has anyone got photo's of going from factory unit to single aftermarket unit?


hope you guys can help.

thanks.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...



Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 18,111 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: 2015 Focus ST3 250BHP
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 18 June 2012 - 08:50 PM

You will need a single din radio fascia with the mounting cage and associated brackets, eBay do the kits for reasonable money.
You will also need a loom adaptor specific to your replacement radio so as to connect to the Ford quadlock connector.
Last thing you will need is an adaptor to allow you to retain the steering remote stalk functionality.
Don't forget a set of radio removal keys to take the standard one out too.

#3 Millsy1

Millsy1

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 132 posts
  • Name: gary
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 zetec
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Leicestershire

Posted 19 June 2012 - 02:15 PM

yeah. i seen the kits for it on ebay. i was wondering if anyone has any photo's of there after market ones fitted. as the standard ones look nice and dont want 2 ruin the look inside.

so still debating what to do.

:wacko:

#4 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 18,111 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: 2015 Focus ST3 250BHP
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 19 June 2012 - 03:10 PM

You could always do as i did and just upgrade from one Ford radio to another.


Posted Image

Posted Image

#5 Millsy1

Millsy1

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 132 posts
  • Name: gary
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 zetec
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Leicestershire

Posted 19 June 2012 - 09:14 PM

is that radio from the ghia models? it does look smart. but one i have spare is a single din unit. jus dont want to spend money and it looks pants.

hence seeing if anyone else has done the same from double din 2 single.

but your words on wiring i will need has been helpful, thanks clive

#6 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 18,111 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: 2015 Focus ST3 250BHP
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 19 June 2012 - 09:29 PM

I think the Sony radio was an optional upgrade on most Focus and standard on ST and RS.
Mine is the 6 disc changer model and is excellent.
Far better sound than the standard Visteon head units.
I did toy with the idea of changing to a single din unit at first but decided to stay with a standard Ford double din as i like the look.

#7 Millsy1

Millsy1

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 132 posts
  • Name: gary
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 zetec
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Leicestershire

Posted 19 June 2012 - 09:42 PM

yeah thats my problem, go for the after market look, or keep the interior mostly stock. do like your sony unit tho :D

how much did that set u back if u dont mind me asking.

#8 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 18,111 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: 2015 Focus ST3 250BHP
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 20 June 2012 - 02:50 AM

It was £90 on eBay which was a steal seeing that it was mint condition, from Ford they are about £600.
I had made the seller an offer of £120 which he declined stating he wanted to let the auction run it's course.
Imagine how silly he must of felt when i won the auction for less than i'd offered.
The only thing you have to be sure of when buying radios off eBay is that they are not Mondeo ones as they are similar in appearance but they are a different shape (longer, narrower and the front plate is wedged).
Any one listed for the Focus or Fiesta will be good.

#9 Mike77

Mike77

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 959 posts
  • Name: Mike
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCI Titanium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 20 June 2012 - 03:39 AM

I think the Sony radio was an optional upgrade on most Focus and standard on ST and RS.
Mine is the 6 disc changer model and is excellent.


These units, (sony) were also fitted in the titanium models as standard.

#10 Millsy1

Millsy1

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 132 posts
  • Name: gary
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 zetec
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Leicestershire

Posted 20 June 2012 - 08:18 AM

ah right okies. i'll have a look into them headunits, jus dont wanna spend more money when i alrdy have a aftermarket one.

no one has posted photo's of there single units, and cant find them on google either...i guess not many people changed them

#11 Pitmonster

Pitmonster

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 350 posts
  • Name: Dave
  • Ford Model: 2006 Mk2 Focus 1.8 TDCi Zetec (Climate)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 20 June 2012 - 01:57 PM

I fitted a single-DIN aftermarket unit to my Mk2 Focus about 6 months ago

Have a look at the final post in this thread
http://www.fordowner...__fromsearch__1

The face plate was a tight fit, and the storage pocket below needed a little adjustment, but it was quick, easy and cheap. 30 for the lot including leads to use the stalk controls (which work perfectly)

There's some part numbers in there that you may find useful

Note that the stalk control cables are a 2-part item. One part is for the make/model of car, the other part is for your specific brand of head unit. Also note that it's a bit tight back there for fitting the extra wiring in!

#12 Millsy1

Millsy1

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 132 posts
  • Name: gary
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 zetec
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Leicestershire

Posted 20 June 2012 - 10:05 PM

thanks alot for that dave. u have the same colour car as well :D good choice haha.

very good info u have left for me, and the photo's are brilliant, there are so many different plates out there. and i have the same style kenwood unit.

#13 Pitmonster

Pitmonster

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 350 posts
  • Name: Dave
  • Ford Model: 2006 Mk2 Focus 1.8 TDCi Zetec (Climate)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 20 June 2012 - 10:15 PM

You're welcome Millsy, very happy to help :-)

#14 Millsy1

Millsy1

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 132 posts
  • Name: gary
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 zetec
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Leicestershire

Posted 21 June 2012 - 08:06 AM

morning dave. is this what i need to replace mine? as found this on ebay

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item2569a1dee4

#15 Pitmonster

Pitmonster

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 350 posts
  • Name: Dave
  • Ford Model: 2006 Mk2 Focus 1.8 TDCi Zetec (Climate)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 21 June 2012 - 08:36 AM

The face place, aerial adaptor and removal keys look fine.

But I don't know about the wiring harness - it makes no mention of making your aftermarket head unit work with the steering column audio controls.

To do so there would need to be a small box of electronics that is specific to Ford cars (to translate the Kenwood signal into one that the Ford can understand, which is a different signal to Vauxhall, Renault etc) and a dedicated connector for your brand of head unit (the connector at the rear of your Kenwood is different to that on the rear of a Sony or Alpine).

Contact the seller and ask them *exactly* what this harness does and does not do. Ford and Kenwood use standard ISO connectors, and will plug right into each other for power, speakers etc (but with the loss of stalk controls). I cannot see how the wiring harness shown in this ad will give you the stalk controls without a dedicated Kenwood lead and a box of electronics.

In my other post I mentioned the cabling I used, which was made by Connects2

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users