Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Retro Fit Cruise Control


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1 Bladerunner

Bladerunner

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 152 posts
  • Name: Martin
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec 1.6 tdci 5 door
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Cumbria

Posted 02 July 2012 - 07:29 PM

Hi, has anyone retro fitted the cruise control to the mk7 fiesta tdci 1.6, obviously the steering wheel central cover must be changed along with all the rest of the required stuff,.
But does there need to be some modification to the engine to supply the speed data ,also some alteration to the pedals , brake -accelorator sensor.
Cheers.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

#2 iNath

iNath

    Skoda Driver

  • Super Mod
  • 3,434 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Frozen White Fiesta Zetec S TDCi
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 02 July 2012 - 07:39 PM

Well that'd be me ;) If you PM me your email address I've knocked up .pdf guide on what to check if yours is compatible that I can send over.

#3 Bladerunner

Bladerunner

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 152 posts
  • Name: Martin
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec 1.6 tdci 5 door
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Cumbria

Posted 02 July 2012 - 07:46 PM

Hi iNath, saw that in yr list of things on your car but thought it was an option.
Thanks for the offer but not sure how to send a PM yet, will look at the info pages.
Cheers.

#4 Bladerunner

Bladerunner

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 152 posts
  • Name: Martin
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec 1.6 tdci 5 door
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Cumbria

Posted 02 July 2012 - 08:01 PM

Hi iNath, think I sent you a pm.

#5 Bladerunner

Bladerunner

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 152 posts
  • Name: Martin
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec 1.6 tdci 5 door
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Cumbria

Posted 15 July 2012 - 06:05 PM

I Nath, I have not had chance to check if the required wires/connection is present but am wondering if you have a list of items that will be required and did you source things from breakers yards or buy some new bits,it would be a real benefit to me as I commute 60 miles per day with almost all on MWay.
Of course I know I could have got the Titanium version but at more expence of course.
Am I right in thinking you have posted some vids on youtube about this.
I have read someware that adding this may affect the Ford warranty- any ideas on this.
Cheers

#6 GJC

GJC

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 153 posts
  • Name: Gavin
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Econetic
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Essex
Contributor

Posted 17 July 2012 - 06:44 AM

I Nath, I have not had chance to check if the required wires/connection is present but am wondering if you have a list of items that will be required and did you source things from breakers yards or buy some new bits,it would be a real benefit to me as I commute 60 miles per day with almost all on MWay.
Of course I know I could have got the Titanium version but at more expence of course.
Am I right in thinking you have posted some vids on youtube about this.
I have read someware that adding this may affect the Ford warranty- any ideas on this.
Cheers


Nathan did mine, and in answer to some of the questions. You only realy need the steering wheel insert and the wiring, the rest should (assuming the wiring be in place) be already on the car, However Ford will not sell the insert to you but will sell you a complete wheel and so you need to look at breakers or Ebay. Just fitting it is not enough though, you need to tell the computer it's got it installed and for that you need Nathan (or someone else with access to the Ford Sotware and interface module) activate it for you.

Quick search shows two - (as of 17th July at 7-30am)

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item231f871ace - is £80

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item3cc85d964a - £70

You can also try breakyard.net

Cruise control was only on the Titianiun version so there are not a lot of them around that have been written off.

I paid £60 for my wheel, and Nathan only fits the insert (not swapping the entire steering wheel,) and then sold off the rest of the wheel for £30 vi Ebay, remember as it's Titanium model it's from it's a half leather wheel so theres a market for them without the insert.

#7 ken

ken

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Ford Model: 2010 Fiesta Zetec S
  • Location: Oxfordshire

Posted 17 July 2012 - 10:52 AM

Thanks for the links, i just picked one up as I've been meaning to do this for ages, especially as i am noticing a shiney worn down patch on my current steering wheel where i constantly hold it.
And i do 90+ miles a day so CC will come in handy.

#8 iNath

iNath

    Skoda Driver

  • Super Mod
  • 3,434 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Frozen White Fiesta Zetec S TDCi
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 17 July 2012 - 11:33 AM

Thanks for helping Gavin :)

As above, you can pick one up from a breakers yard or new from Ford for ~£134ish
You must make sure the cable is included (and in tact) if buying from breakers.

#9 ken

ken

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Ford Model: 2010 Fiesta Zetec S
  • Location: Oxfordshire

Posted 17 July 2012 - 11:47 AM

When you say cable, do you mean the one that is pictured in this photo, coming from the middle with the white connector on:
Posted Image

#10 iNath

iNath

    Skoda Driver

  • Super Mod
  • 3,434 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Frozen White Fiesta Zetec S TDCi
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 17 July 2012 - 12:29 PM

Correct :) It also has circular spade that screws on to steering wheel to earth and 2 square spades that will connect to airbag - all need to be in tact.

#11 GJC

GJC

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 153 posts
  • Name: Gavin
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Econetic
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Essex
Contributor

Posted 17 July 2012 - 04:18 PM

Thanks for the links, i just picked one up as I've been meaning to do this for ages, especially as i am noticing a shiney worn down patch on my current steering wheel where i constantly hold it.
And i do 90+ miles a day so CC will come in handy.


You'll still need to talk to Nathan or someone with access to IDS... (And no I'm not on commision!!!)

#12 iNath

iNath

    Skoda Driver

  • Super Mod
  • 3,434 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Frozen White Fiesta Zetec S TDCi
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 17 July 2012 - 04:58 PM

You'll still need to talk to Nathan or someone with access to IDS... (And no I'm not on commision!!!)


Your cheque is in the post ;)


I'm joking of course!

#13 Bladerunner

Bladerunner

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 152 posts
  • Name: Martin
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec 1.6 tdci 5 door
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Cumbria

Posted 17 July 2012 - 06:50 PM

Hi Gavin,thanks for the info, you say that all items are fitted except the steering wheel wires and of course the revised silver horizontal trim with switches.
What about the sensors for the pedals, is that all present as well but just redundant untill activated.
If that is the case is there anyone in Cumbria with the required Ford software module.
Thanks again.

#14 GJC

GJC

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 153 posts
  • Name: Gavin
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Econetic
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Essex
Contributor

Posted 17 July 2012 - 08:13 PM

Hi Gavin,thanks for the info, you say that all items are fitted except the steering wheel wires and of course the revised silver horizontal trim with switches.
What about the sensors for the pedals, is that all present as well but just redundant untill activated.


I've a Econetic 1.6 TDCI 2010 variant, in mine all the hardware was present just needed the steering switches and activating, theres no guarantee of course but if you PM Nathan he has a PDF of the steering column you can use to check for the wiring, there are some wires on a plug on the steering column that if they are present means it'#s pretty likely that the rest of the bits are installed. If they are not it means playing with the loom and not a simple job.

I'm not trying to be vague here but I remember it's on the lower left of the opened steering colum but can't remember which wires it was to check for, it was mainly petrol versions I think Nathan said that didn't have the bits installed but it would depend on when it was made, what wiiring loom they used, and so on.

If you are in the Midlands meet Nathan, it's a couple of minutes with the software and 20 minutes wait after you disconnect the battery to ensure you can swap the wheel without setting the airbag off and he was a nice bloke to chat to...

#15 Jack Osman

Jack Osman

    Member

  • Members via FB
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts
  • Name: Jack
  • Ford Model: Fiesta MK7 Sport Van 95hp.
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 18 July 2012 - 12:48 PM

Ok, so I had a look and I have the 2 wires that mean I probably have all the things for cruise control. I'm probably being stupid, but can I just use the volume buttons to control it? Rather then buying the 2nd set of buttons.

Also i'm down on the south coast, by Portsmouth, any one with a IDS box near is to me??

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users