Jump to content


Photo

Why No Fuse For Power Point


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 favemuppet

favemuppet

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Name: Tim
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Kent

Posted 03 July 2012 - 01:37 PM

Just found out that my Fiesta (2004 model) does not have a fuse for the power outlet. (Sat Nav conked out on me half way through a journey as it hadnt been charging!). Thinking that the fuse may have blown I checked and lo and behold it is missing!


Is there any reason why no fuse would be fitted, or can I just purchase and pop in? I don't want to knacker anything else up in the process?

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...



Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 18,159 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: 2015 Focus ST3 250BHP
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 03 July 2012 - 01:40 PM

How long have you had the car?
It sounds like someone else had a problem with the system and yanked the fuse.

#3 favemuppet

favemuppet

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Name: Tim
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Kent

Posted 03 July 2012 - 01:49 PM

Had it since July 2007.

Will it be OK to fit one or should I take it to Ford for silly money? (also going in for MOT at local garage tomorrow - a job they could do?)


#4 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 18,159 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: 2015 Focus ST3 250BHP
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 03 July 2012 - 01:52 PM

I'd get the socket checked for shorts before putting a fuse back in.

#5 NorthSussex

NorthSussex

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
  • Name: Stormin
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 Petrol manual
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 03 July 2012 - 03:20 PM

My guess is that the previous owner plugged something into it that blew the fuse then failed to replace it, if you have concerns about just replacing the fuse first replace it with a 5 amp fuse, that will protect the wiring, if your sat nav then charges OK replace it with the correct 10 amp fuse, it's not uncommon for electric tyre pumps to draw more than 10amps and blow the fuse.


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users