Jump to content


Photo

Automatic Headlight Sensor


  • Please log in to reply
79 replies to this topic

#31 Haz93

Haz93

    Serial Poster

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 453 posts
  • Name: Harrison
  • Ford Model: Audi A5 Cabriolet + Mini Cooper
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Warwickshire
Contributor

Posted 18 October 2012 - 04:28 PM

Yeah I thought tint wouldn't be too good, from past experiences anyways.

What glue did you use for the sensor mount??


Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#32 clubber

clubber

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Ford Model: ST3
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Berkshire

Posted 18 October 2012 - 04:37 PM

I didn't use glue. I put a big blob of blu tac onto the sensor and stuck it to the mirror casing. As there is not much room for manoeuvre in there the sensor is sandwiched between the windscreen and the casing. It seems to be holding.

Do your wipers come on automatically? My ones have to be woken by moving the scroll wheel. I think the sensor position needs adjusting.

#33 NorthSussex

NorthSussex

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
  • Name: Stormin
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 Petrol manual
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 18 October 2012 - 05:02 PM

If enough rain comes on the windscreen the wipers should come on automatically, if the wiper stalk is in the first position up then they should automatically vary depending on the rain level, also if the stalk is pulled back to set the rear wiper on this will also intermittently wipe and also wipe when reverse is selected.

#34 Haz93

Haz93

    Serial Poster

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 453 posts
  • Name: Harrison
  • Ford Model: Audi A5 Cabriolet + Mini Cooper
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Warwickshire
Contributor

Posted 18 October 2012 - 05:03 PM

When I first glued the sensor to the screen and all of the sensor was in contact with the glass they worked fine without havering to wake them up :)
As the glue started to come off they needed to be woken, got to the point where it came off completely. I think it had something to do with the heated screen making the glue soft.
Now i have a wodge of aerospace grade tissue :P wedged behind like your bluetac, but i imagine the bluetac is better tbf
I might get some vinyl too as my black paper looks a bit silly ahaha

#35 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,416 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 18 October 2012 - 05:14 PM

Sorry lads gotta say again this makes me glad I got the ghia so mine came with as standard.

#36 clubber

clubber

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Ford Model: ST3
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Berkshire

Posted 18 October 2012 - 08:37 PM

When I first glued the sensor to the screen and all of the sensor was in contact with the glass they worked fine without havering to wake them up :)
As the glue started to come off they needed to be woken, got to the point where it came off completely. I think it had something to do with the heated screen making the glue soft.
Now i have a wodge of aerospace grade tissue :P wedged behind like your bluetac, but i imagine the bluetac is better tbf
I might get some vinyl too as my black paper looks a bit silly ahaha


Did you push the front of the sensor directly onto the windscreen? My sensor isn't touching the screen, I have left a tiny gap. Do you think this is why it doesn't work properly?

#37 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 15,279 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 18 October 2012 - 08:46 PM

I seem to recall that on a factory fit there is a small gel spacer between the sensor and the screen.

#38 clubber

clubber

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Ford Model: ST3
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Berkshire

Posted 18 October 2012 - 08:54 PM

I seem to recall that on a factory fit there is a small gel spacer between the sensor and the screen.


I have the gel bit on the sensor but is the gel part supposed to actually touch the windscreen?

#39 Haz93

Haz93

    Serial Poster

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 453 posts
  • Name: Harrison
  • Ford Model: Audi A5 Cabriolet + Mini Cooper
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Warwickshire
Contributor

Posted 18 October 2012 - 09:09 PM

Yeah it's ment to be pushed fully against the screen for the wipers to work. That's why the mount is glued on as it needs to be really strong to hold all the pressure. Also there should be no bubbles or gaps to be most effective
Think I might do a bit of research into windscreen glue :P

#40 clubber

clubber

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Ford Model: ST3
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Berkshire

Posted 18 October 2012 - 10:02 PM

Yeah it's ment to be pushed fully against the screen for the wipers to work. That's why the mount is glued on as it needs to be really strong to hold all the pressure. Also there should be no bubbles or gaps to be most effective
Think I might do a bit of research into windscreen glue :P


When you look at a car that has auto wipers already on it, the sensor doesn't touch the windscreen

#41 Haz93

Haz93

    Serial Poster

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 453 posts
  • Name: Harrison
  • Ford Model: Audi A5 Cabriolet + Mini Cooper
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Warwickshire
Contributor

Posted 18 October 2012 - 10:25 PM

If its fitted from factory then it may look like I doesn't as it's done very professionally but I guaranty they should be pressed against the window mate

#42 clubber

clubber

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Ford Model: ST3
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Berkshire

Posted 19 October 2012 - 06:03 AM

If its fitted from factory then it may look like I doesn't as it's done very professionally but I guaranty they should be pressed against the window mate


Didn't know that. I will adjust it later and see how it goes.

#43 clubber

clubber

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Ford Model: ST3
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Berkshire

Posted 19 October 2012 - 03:55 PM

Adjusted it, a little better now, not perfect though.

#44 k13r4n

k13r4n

    Too much time on the boards

  • FOC Supporters
  • 733 posts
  • Name: kieran
  • Ford Model: MK7 Fiesta Metal
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Aberdeenshire

Posted 19 October 2012 - 05:06 PM

Sorry lads gotta say again this makes me glad I got the ghia so mine came with as standard.


Same here Charlie

#45 clubber

clubber

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Ford Model: ST3
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Berkshire

Posted 19 October 2012 - 05:10 PM

Sorry lads gotta say again this makes me glad I got the ghia so mine came with as standard.

Same here Charlie


I have an ST :P

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users