Jump to content


Show
Photo

Automatic Headlight Sensor


  • Please log in to reply
79 replies to this topic

#46 k13r4n

k13r4n

    Too much time on the boards

  • FOC Supporters
  • 722 posts
  • Name: kieran
  • Ford Model: MK7 Fiesta Metal
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Aberdeenshire

Posted 19 October 2012 - 06:49 PM

I have an ST :P


!Removed! :-P lol always 1 I'm wanting to put tendons in could u do me and haz93 a favour have a rummage and upload photos of your leveling module/sensors so we can see where they go please

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#47 Haz93

Haz93

    Serial Poster

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 451 posts
  • Name: Harrison
  • Ford Model: KA Mk2 + Audi A5 Cabriolet
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Warwickshire
Contributor

Posted 19 October 2012 - 08:36 PM

Haha might have trumped us there :P although I much prefer 40 mpg than 20 :P but doouble the mpg means half the bhp :(

Would be helpful if you could get a few quick snaps of the front and rear levelling sensors in place, I know where the control module is located as mine is now plugged in :D up under the dash. Although I would like to know how its mounted to the two holes where it locates behind the headlight switch.

#48 clubber

clubber

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Ford Model: ST3
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Berkshire

Posted 19 October 2012 - 08:39 PM

I don't measure in miles per gallon, I use smiles per gallon :D


Just explain exactly where you want me to photograph

#49 NorthSussex

NorthSussex

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
  • Name: Stormin
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 Petrol manual
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 20 October 2012 - 08:50 AM

If you have the windscreen replaced on a car that has factory fit auto wipers and headlights, the windscreen fitting company must have knowledge on fitting the sensor, may be worth a cheeky call for info. :)

#50 Anthony Obrien

Anthony Obrien

    Member

  • Members via FB
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Location:

Posted 20 October 2012 - 11:11 AM

I get 30 mpg in my st and I have 330 bhp lol

#51 Haz93

Haz93

    Serial Poster

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 451 posts
  • Name: Harrison
  • Ford Model: KA Mk2 + Audi A5 Cabriolet
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Warwickshire
Contributor

Posted 20 October 2012 - 12:23 PM

Yeah you got us there :P

I would love an ST but the difference in insurance is about 4000 for me. I pay 1000pa on my 1.6 petrol :(

I might save up to have the proper windscreen replaced, anyone know how much it would be with rain light sensor and heated?? I'm guessing a lot

#52 Haz93

Haz93

    Serial Poster

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 451 posts
  • Name: Harrison
  • Ford Model: KA Mk2 + Audi A5 Cabriolet
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Warwickshire
Contributor

Posted 20 October 2012 - 12:30 PM

The headlight levelling sensors are on the front and rear suspension systems, both on the drivers side I think.

http://www.justanswe...he-problem.html

In the link above are diagrams of them but its almost impossible to tell where they actually are.

That's if your sure you want to, not forcing you to mate :)



#53 Anthony Obrien

Anthony Obrien

    Member

  • Members via FB
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Location:

Posted 20 October 2012 - 08:55 PM

Do you know what relay is for the pre facelift for the auto lights and wiper is as I can't get it to work on my car and I think it is that I need a relay for it to work

I have a 06 pre facelift st3 and I have turn it on in the gem

When I turn I on all I get is the head lights on . No back lights are on no side lights and o dash light just the hand lights

#54 markaboot

markaboot

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8tdci sport 2006
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 02 November 2012 - 10:28 PM

Does anyone know if a 2006 1.8tdci sport had them fitted as standard?

I have an auto headlight switch but no auto headlights or wipers.
After reading this thread the car has had a new windscreen fitted by previous owner which my have something to do with it.

Thanks

#55 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,405 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 02 November 2012 - 10:33 PM

Does anyone know if a 2006 1.8tdci sport had them fitted as standard?

I have an auto headlight switch but no auto headlights or wipers.
After reading this thread the car has had a new windscreen fitted by previous owner which my have something to do with it.

Thanks


Not that I know of mate. I'm sure Clive has the same car as you and I don't think he has them.

#56 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,478 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 03 November 2012 - 03:04 AM

No i haven't.
Etis says i do but it lies.

#57 Haz93

Haz93

    Serial Poster

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 451 posts
  • Name: Harrison
  • Ford Model: KA Mk2 + Audi A5 Cabriolet
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Warwickshire
Contributor

Posted 03 November 2012 - 09:56 AM

If you have just the headlights on i think you have activated the drl lights, not the auto sensing. I will have a look at what option I turned on later

#58 markaboot

markaboot

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8tdci sport 2006
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 10 November 2012 - 02:00 PM

Thanks for the replys

I'm guessing ford fit an auto switch instead of a standard switch? Seems a strange thing to do, unless a previous owner has been fiddling.
I didn't spot any wires when I was poking around in the head liner either so i'm assuming no sensor was ever fitted.

#59 Haz93

Haz93

    Serial Poster

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 451 posts
  • Name: Harrison
  • Ford Model: KA Mk2 + Audi A5 Cabriolet
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Warwickshire
Contributor

Posted 10 November 2012 - 03:42 PM

if you have not got the sensor fitted it just means your lights will be constantly on when in the auto position. The wires are taped down and a bit tricky to see.

#60 SkinnyB

SkinnyB

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Name: Simba
  • Ford Model: Zetec 1.6 Mk 2.5
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 12 November 2012 - 07:16 PM

I'm looking fit the headlight and wiper sensor etc etc. I've had a look at the wiring and it seems I can see the two connectors on the wiring loom but my problem is that there is three wires going to the 1st connector (the black one) but there is only one wire going to the second connector (the white one which was taped to the head lining ). And from what I have read on here both connectors need to have three wires going to them.

My question is do I have the other connector somewhere up there and I just need to look a bit harder or do I have a different wiring loom? Thanks

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users