Jump to content


Show
Photo

Automatic Headlight Sensor


  • Please log in to reply
79 replies to this topic

#61 SkinnyB

SkinnyB

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Name: Simba
  • Ford Model: Zetec 1.6 Mk 2.5
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 12 November 2012 - 07:20 PM

If it makes any difference I've got an Mk2.5 Zetec!

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#62 Haz93

Haz93

    Serial Poster

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 451 posts
  • Name: Harrison
  • Ford Model: KA Mk2 + Audi A5 Cabriolet
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Warwickshire
Contributor

Posted 12 November 2012 - 07:22 PM

Were both the white and black ones taped to the headlining?? As there are also connectors for the sunroof switch, microphone and intrusion sensors up there on some looms

#63 SkinnyB

SkinnyB

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Name: Simba
  • Ford Model: Zetec 1.6 Mk 2.5
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 12 November 2012 - 10:44 PM

No just the white one was tapped to the headlining. The black one was slotted into the plastic bit that u unscrew and there was the microphone one that was connected another one was connected in guessing it's for the intrusion sensor and that was it.

#64 Haz93

Haz93

    Serial Poster

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 451 posts
  • Name: Harrison
  • Ford Model: KA Mk2 + Audi A5 Cabriolet
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Warwickshire
Contributor

Posted 13 November 2012 - 12:00 AM

Ah okay that sounds strange as I have also got the black wire that is attached to the square plastic section. That's nothing to to with the sensor or mirror. Must be either for the intrusion sensor or sunroof switch.
It seems strange you only have one wire on the white socket. The white one is for the auto dimming mirror. The black one you don't appear to have is the light / rain sensor. Maybe have a look up in the roof cavity if you can to see if any other wires taped down. Of not then don't think you have the right loom

#65 SkinnyB

SkinnyB

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Name: Simba
  • Ford Model: Zetec 1.6 Mk 2.5
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 13 November 2012 - 12:29 PM

Ok thanks for the info Haz, I will have a proper scavenge for them later, might just drop the front of the headlining so that I can have a proper look and be 100% weather it's there or not.
I've seen some of the auto dimming mirrors being sold on EBay with the wiring loom, is it a straight swap for the wiring looms. If I do have the wrong loom then I might just leave it as I don't want to be fiddling with the wiring loom.
The other thing is I looked on Ford Etis and it's sayin my car came with auto headlamps(don't know how true that is as I haven't owned the car from new) and if that's correct should I not have the wiring loom for it? But the saying that I don't have the headlight switch with the auto option on it!

#66 NorthSussex

NorthSussex

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
  • Name: Stormin
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 Petrol manual
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 13 November 2012 - 12:46 PM

Ok thanks for the info Haz, I will have a proper scavenge for them later, might just drop the front of the headlining so that I can have a proper look and be 100% weather it's there or not.
I've seen some of the auto dimming mirrors being sold on EBay with the wiring loom, is it a straight swap for the wiring looms. If I do have the wrong loom then I might just leave it as I don't want to be fiddling with the wiring loom.
The other thing is I looked on Ford Etis and it's sayin my car came with auto headlamps(don't know how true that is as I haven't owned the car from new) and if that's correct should I not have the wiring loom for it? But the saying that I don't have the headlight switch with the auto option on it!


Don't rely on what Etis says, it tells porkies. :unsure:

#67 Haz93

Haz93

    Serial Poster

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 451 posts
  • Name: Harrison
  • Ford Model: KA Mk2 + Audi A5 Cabriolet
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Warwickshire
Contributor

Posted 13 November 2012 - 01:50 PM

I belive the roof loom connects to the main loom on the passenger side A pillar. I will check this out this evening as I'm gona wire up my footwells if they have arrived :)
If so it will not be a major job to do. As you said just drop the headlining, if its not there, all you would replace is the loom up there

#68 RShadow

RShadow

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Ford Model: FOcus MK2
  • Location: Kent

Posted 14 November 2012 - 11:52 AM

http://www.ebay.co.u...984.m1555.l2649

#69 SkinnyB

SkinnyB

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Name: Simba
  • Ford Model: Zetec 1.6 Mk 2.5
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 18 November 2012 - 09:37 AM

Right, I had a proper look the other day and I don't think I have the right loom.
Cheers for the link RShadow but by the time I went on the listing had finished.
Haz any info on where The loom connects to? Please tell me its on the passengers side A pillar, that will be the best news I've heard in a while.

#70 o5ky

o5ky

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus ST
  • Location:

Posted 19 November 2012 - 10:58 AM

Can someone please tell me if this is the correct cable for the sensor? it was in the roof taped up :)
Posted Image

#71 Richiemac

Richiemac

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: Focus 2014 1.6 tdci + S max 2007
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Ireland

Posted 19 November 2012 - 11:06 AM

The black one is sensor and the white is ambient lighting.......

#72 Haz93

Haz93

    Serial Poster

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 451 posts
  • Name: Harrison
  • Ford Model: KA Mk2 + Audi A5 Cabriolet
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Warwickshire
Contributor

Posted 19 November 2012 - 11:33 AM

No they are not the correct cables. The sensor and mirror ones have 3 small wires each going to the socket. They are also a very similar shape as they are both 3pin sockets

#73 SkinnyB

SkinnyB

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Name: Simba
  • Ford Model: Zetec 1.6 Mk 2.5
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 20 November 2012 - 08:11 PM

o5ky I think you have the same loom as me mate which unfortunately doesn't have the connectors for the sensor (from my research and the info that I got on here).
Btw does anyone know if the mondeo wiring loom is the same as the focus one as I can only find mondeo wiring looms on EBay??

#74 Anthony Obrien

Anthony Obrien

    Member

  • Members via FB
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Location:

Posted 26 April 2013 - 07:25 AM

I have a pre facelift st and I have the plugs but I can't get it to work I've done the elm bit and sill dose now work is there some wire missing the auto dim works but not the lights

#75 chily321

chily321

    Newbie

  • Members via FB
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Name: guy
  • Ford Model: mondeo
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Nottinghamshire

Posted 30 April 2013 - 01:50 AM

I didn't use glue. I put a big blob of blu tac onto the sensor and stuck it to the mirror casing. As there is not much room for manoeuvre in there the sensor is sandwiched between the windscreen and the casing. It seems to be holding.

Do your wipers come on automatically? My ones have to be woken by moving the scroll wheel. I think the sensor position needs adjusting.

just refitted mine at autoglass the nice man did it for free but I guess he could have easily asked for a tenor .I watched him very carefully and got the name of the glue they ues its Loctite 317 used in conjunction with Loctite 734 basically make sure the bracket and screen are really clean I used some white spirit then but some 317 glue on the bracket then once the screen is dry spray the Loctite 734 on the screen and attach the bracket you have a few seconds to get it in the right position and its stuck perfect. it does say that its set after 2 mins but I left it 24 hours in the sun (apparently works better in warm dry weather )

when refitting the sensor  and gel front   make sure its clean . I put a little blob of kygel behind the gel that fits on the front and pressed it which help when fitting to the screen as kygel is conductive so to  make the sensor  more sensitive as in factory fitted. hope this helps and please no jokes about the kygel  I use it with my ab belt hence the reason I know its conductive .



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users