Jump to content


Show
Photo

! Guide ! Fitting A 12V Socket In The Boot Mk7


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#16 Andyb3000

Andyb3000

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Location: Surrey

Posted 27 November 2012 - 02:33 PM

Ok - done the modification and found that the fuse position on the bottom right corner (parking sensor) does the job in that it comes on only when ingition is on position 2.

Many thanks for your help.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#17 granilith

granilith

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Name: Andrew
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Durham

Posted 05 May 2013 - 05:15 PM

If you want it ignition switched, simply locate an ignition switched circuit on the fuse panel using a test meter.
Mine is permanently live, but is also now fitted with an electronic power saver, so that I can run my cool box in the summer knowing that as soon as my car battery dips below 11.5v, my cool box will automatically be disconnected thus saving my battery.

 

Just installed a 12v socket in my boot after reading this guide.  Thanks by the way.

 

This power saver seems a interesting device, could you give me some more information about it.



#18 tunne1rat

tunne1rat

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Name: Steve
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Suffolk
Contributor

Posted 10 June 2013 - 12:27 AM

Just installed a 12v socket in my boot after reading this guide.  Thanks by the way.

 

This power saver seems a interesting device, could you give me some more information about it.

 

I have a device similar to this hard-wired: http://www.force4.co...tery-Saver.html



#19 ooda55

ooda55

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Name: chris
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Essex

Posted 13 October 2013 - 02:04 PM

Nice write up!

I started this on my car (after promising myself i would not mod it :P) and installed the socket in roughly the same place. I had mounted it on the bottm facing part of that panel so it was hidden out of view.

Those fuse taps are very neat! Just what I was looking for to make the electrical connection instead of ripping up the entire console to tap off the existing socket.

I will put some pics up when the fuse tap comes and I can finish it off :)

 

Chris



#20 RSRAVI

RSRAVI

    Newbie

  • Members via FB
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Name: RAVINDER
  • Ford Model: FIESTA
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: London

Posted 31 October 2013 - 07:06 PM

Hi what fuse position did you use mate....

 

I want one that's always on manual says I have a few free can I use them

 

 

like 20,22,30,31 are not used ..which one have you used any help for a novice would be much appreciated thank you



#21 ooda55

ooda55

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Name: chris
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Essex

Posted 31 October 2013 - 07:39 PM

Hi what fuse position did you use mate....

 

I want one that's always on manual says I have a few free can I use them

 

 

like 20,22,30,31 are not used ..which one have you used any help for a novice would be much appreciated thank you

 

I went with what looks to be number 22 in the manual. I simply probed around the empty sockets with a multimeter (ground connected to chassis) to find a +12v with the ignition off. Oddly in the manual #22 is listed as "cigar lighter, front power point".. Which you would think would already have a fuse in it seeing as my front cigar lighter works...

 

Here are a few pics of the fusebox with the fuse tap installed, and where I mounted the socket: http://imgur.com/a/DMKdu

 

SO492rSh.jpg



#22 RSRAVI

RSRAVI

    Newbie

  • Members via FB
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Name: RAVINDER
  • Ford Model: FIESTA
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: London

Posted 31 October 2013 - 07:53 PM

Hi thank you mine just says unused on my manual  hopefully ....

 

its the same as your always on tad nervous using a meter .....probing in the fuse box to be honest...

 

quick plug in and check sends me a 12v feed ....with car off...

 

 

fingers crossed....



#23 ooda55

ooda55

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Name: chris
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Essex

Posted 31 October 2013 - 08:10 PM

hah probing around at 12v wont cause you much harm, just make sure your meter isnt on amp mode or you will notice your test leads getting very hot very quickly and smoke pouring from your meter ;)

Its worth noting there were two sockets for a fuse on my "fuse tap" One is a fuse for the circuit you are adding, and the other replaces the fuse in the fusebox. This allows you to take a tap from a circuit even if it is in use. You just have to make sure you install an appropriatley rated fuse for each circuit.



#24 RSRAVI

RSRAVI

    Newbie

  • Members via FB
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Name: RAVINDER
  • Ford Model: FIESTA
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: London

Posted 31 October 2013 - 08:30 PM

HI thanks so I just set the meter to 12v dc and just see if it reads 12v while off ....

 

 

I can just plug in the tap adaptor  and see if that reads 12v no need to go near the fuse box lol

 

which fuse is for what feed top new feed bottom for fuse box I take it ...

I was wondering why there was two on there



#25 RSRAVI

RSRAVI

    Newbie

  • Members via FB
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Name: RAVINDER
  • Ford Model: FIESTA
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: London

Posted 01 November 2013 - 04:25 PM

HI had a play today ....

 

I could not get any voltage read out on meter on the empty fuse holders

 

so I had to tap into one it was a 15amp fuse for data link connector....is that ok to use..

 

what does it do ...........

 

that one is on all the time .....was getting about 15 volts thou unless my meter is wrong ....

 

thought battery was 12volts ....



#26 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,041 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 01 November 2013 - 04:59 PM

12 volts is the minimum power a battery should put out before it's classed as flat.
Quite common for a car to push 14+ volts.

Sent using Ford OC mobile app



#27 Zurrieq

Zurrieq

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Name: Stephen
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 17 November 2013 - 08:20 AM

Does the mk6 facelift have the loom preinstalled?

 

Thanks



#28 Zurrieq

Zurrieq

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Name: Stephen
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 17 November 2013 - 09:04 AM

Also how to choose which socket you need to use? Do all blank slots in the fuse box have a live? or they might be completely blank?

 

Thanks




Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users