Jump to content


Photo

Auto Windows


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Drich290195

Drich290195

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 226 posts
  • Name: David
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 TDCi
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 15 July 2012 - 04:24 PM

On my focus 1.8 mk 2 sport I have auto front windows. If I press the drivers Window and hOld it then let go it goes all the way down but does not come up all the way in the same fashion. Any way to do this my old mk1 had this feature where it came u and down auto cheers guys.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...



Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,939 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 15 July 2012 - 04:31 PM

good question mines the same ide have thought it would be the other way round my old vw did it both ways

#3 dezwez

dezwez

    Dezwez

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,223 posts
  • Name: Derek
  • Ford Model: ford focus 1.8 zetec mk 2.5
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cambridgeshire

Posted 15 July 2012 - 04:32 PM

i think thats the way they are

#4 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 18,155 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: 2015 Focus ST3 250BHP
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 15 July 2012 - 04:36 PM

Unfortunately that is the way it is- one touch opening.

#5 oilburner79

oilburner79

    Feet Under The Table

  • Members via Twitter
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Name: darren
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec Collection
  • Year: 2000
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 15 July 2012 - 05:14 PM

They did used to open both ways but they changed it after accidents involving children

#6 Drich290195

Drich290195

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 226 posts
  • Name: David
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 TDCi
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 15 July 2012 - 05:41 PM

H right so that's why the mk 1 Is like that

#7 GSM

GSM

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 304 posts
  • Name: Garrie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 (100PS)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 15 July 2012 - 05:50 PM

Mine goes up and down fully automatically with one touch.

#8 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,939 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 15 July 2012 - 05:56 PM

i will have to check that later

#9 Pitmonster

Pitmonster

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 350 posts
  • Name: Dave
  • Ford Model: 2006 Mk2 Focus 1.8 TDCi Zetec (Climate)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 15 July 2012 - 06:27 PM

Mine goes up and down fully automatically with one touch.

Being a Ghia,yours will have rear electrics window too. Ghias (and Titaniums) also have full closure windows, which can be closed with the key fob. Stands to reason that they also have one-touch closing windows while use mere mortals with Zetecs (no electric rears) only go down with the one-touch.

#10 GSM

GSM

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 304 posts
  • Name: Garrie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 (100PS)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 15 July 2012 - 06:34 PM

Being a Ghia,yours will have rear electrics window too. Ghias (and Titaniums) also have full closure windows, which can be closed with the key fob. Stands to reason that they also have one-touch closing windows while use mere mortals with Zetecs (no electric rears) only go down with the one-touch.


Fair enough! Still seems strange that they'd only put one touch on the way down though on the fronts on the Zetecs... so many little bits and pieces of these Foci that Ford could EASILY activate at no cost whatsoever, but don't. Boggles my mind.

#11 Drich290195

Drich290195

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 226 posts
  • Name: David
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 TDCi
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 15 July 2012 - 06:37 PM

The manual says to reset to disconnect the battery must be an easier way also only the drivers is auto my old mk 1 zetec had it ll round are we saying its a no cause of the trim level

#12 Pitmonster

Pitmonster

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 350 posts
  • Name: Dave
  • Ford Model: 2006 Mk2 Focus 1.8 TDCi Zetec (Climate)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 15 July 2012 - 10:09 PM

Fair enough! Still seems strange that they'd only put one touch on the way down though on the fronts on the Zetecs... so many little bits and pieces of these Foci that Ford could EASILY activate at no cost whatsoever, but don't. Boggles my mind.

Yep but if they didn't disable these features there would be no reason to stump up the cash for the higher spec models.

Some items on the more expensive versions are physical - motors for the rear windows, better seats, better stereo, cruise control etc - but some are just the activation of something in the software.
(I've heard that on some cars the difference between the base model and the more powerful model can be a simple setting on the ECU - the original 'new' Mini One and Cooper springs to mind)

In fact they often fit the same wiring loom and sensors etc to ALL cars because it simplifies production and actually makes it cheaper for Ford that way. Then you and I can just buy a part and plug it in (like the footwell lights, or front fogs)

#13 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 20,976 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 18 July 2012 - 04:03 PM

I agree with darren OB79, because the children dont have the weight to kick in the "oh cack, somethings in the way" logic, the window just keeps opening. By default, I think they stopped allowing all cars to open and close in the same way, however the logic may still be on the ECU but disabled, but if its there, you should be able to wrangle it back into play!


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users