Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Doors Locking Automatically When Moving Off?

Lock

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Jit

Jit

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: London

Posted 28 July 2012 - 06:41 PM

Hi, i have a ford fiesta zetec s mk7, is it possible to enable doors to lock automatically when moving off?

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 iNath

iNath

    ST-2 Mod

  • Super Mod
  • 3,624 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Molten Orange Fiesta ST-2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 28 July 2012 - 07:28 PM

This is not a guide - moved to the correct forum.

And in answer to your question - not easily (see here)

#3 colin79666

colin79666

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Name: Colin
  • Ford Model: Had a Fiesta Titanium 1.4
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Midlothian

Posted 28 July 2012 - 08:31 PM

Not the same I know but you can easily change the unlock so the default is to only unlock the drivers door. This stops someone opening the passenger door(s) and stealing something or jumping in.

#4 Jit

Jit

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: London

Posted 29 July 2012 - 04:46 PM

This is not a guide - moved to the correct forum.

And in answer to your question - not easily (see here)


Thanks for that, seems like a lot to do, I'm a bit worried that something might go wrong so will have to get use to locking the car manually from the inside. Quite surprising these new cars doesnt have this feature.

#5 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 9,935 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 30 July 2012 - 07:40 AM

Thanks for that, seems like a lot to do, I'm a bit worried that something might go wrong so will have to get use to locking the car manually from the inside. Quite surprising these new cars doesnt have this feature.


This is a feature that can be activated in the GEM but this would require Ford to connect their computer to the diagnostic port on your car and activating the autolock feature,
if you had a focus you could purchase an ELM327 and download the software from the forum to activate this feature on your ford but the software on here is just for the focus and may dammage your fiesta if connected,
so bottom line,
yes it is possible but ford will need to do it, and it can be set to lock when you reach a set speed like 17mph or even 10mph i have it activated on mine at present.

#6 iNath

iNath

    ST-2 Mod

  • Super Mod
  • 3,624 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Molten Orange Fiesta ST-2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 30 July 2012 - 10:39 AM

This is a feature that can be activated in the GEM but this would require Ford to connect their computer to the diagnostic port on your car and activating the autolock feature,
if you had a focus you could purchase an ELM327 and download the software from the forum to activate this feature on your ford but the software on here is just for the focus and may dammage your fiesta if connected,
so bottom line,
yes it is possible but ford will need to do it, and it can be set to lock when you reach a set speed like 17mph or even 10mph i have it activated on mine at present.


It's not possible (I'd love to be proven wrong)
I have the Ford VCM and I've tried activating the setting - it does nothing.

#7 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 9,935 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 30 July 2012 - 04:32 PM

It's not possible (I'd love to be proven wrong)
I have the Ford VCM and I've tried activating the setting - it does nothing.


thats a shame mate,
surely you would imagine if the box was their to be ticked and then it was ticked that this would activate the feature,
i think it should be part of the 5 star safety Ncap on all cars to have the auto lock feature installed, and maybe their is an OBD plug available that can be permanently plugged in to activate auto lock,
i know some aftermarket alarm systems have this feature on them too.

#8 tunne1rat

tunne1rat

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Name: Steve
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Suffolk
Contributor

Posted 31 July 2012 - 03:59 PM

Auto locking was possible to enable on some cars using IDS.
Ford then disabled this feature around 2008/2009.
A contact of mine questioned Ford Europe about this and they responded by saying that auto locking was no longer available due to safety concerns.
Apparently in some crash tests the doors did not always automatically unlock.

#9 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 9,935 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 31 July 2012 - 04:11 PM

Auto locking was possible to enable on some cars using IDS.
Ford then disabled this feature around 2008/2009.
A contact of mine questioned Ford Europe about this and they responded by saying that auto locking was no longer available due to safety concerns.
Apparently in some crash tests the doors did not always automatically unlock.


so the ford Gem for the mk2.5 focus must be the same as the mk2 which would have had its first release in 2005 before ford stopped activating this feature,
because i have used the ELM327 and the FF2 software to activate the autolocking feature on my 2010 focus.

#10 tunne1rat

tunne1rat

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Name: Steve
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Suffolk
Contributor

Posted 31 July 2012 - 04:23 PM

Ford disabled the feature in IDS.
Using unauthorised methods to activate it would still work - as you have found out.
Now we need FF2 for other models!

#11 Jit

Jit

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: London

Posted 01 August 2012 - 05:31 PM

Do you guys know if installing a HID kit and upgrading the bulbs to LEDs and upgrading the speakers would invalidate the warranty?

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have




Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Lock

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users