Jump to content


Show
Photo

Fitted Recaros Need A Bit Of Help Please


  • Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 STEADS

STEADS

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 841 posts
  • Name: NEIL
  • Ford Model: FOCUS 1.8 TDCI TITANIUM AND 2.0 TDCI
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 11 August 2012 - 07:33 PM

Got myself a bargain off ebay nice set of st recaros got them in no probs but the only snag i,ve got now is windows go down on one touch sussed that out but wont come up one touch disconected the battery as was advised to due to airbags the airbag light goes off initialy then comes back on and stays on any ideas anyone

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 gc88

gc88

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 348 posts
  • Name: Gav
  • Ford Model: Zetec S 2.0
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Hertfordshire

Posted 11 August 2012 - 08:16 PM

I dont think focus windows have a auto up button. ?

#3 martyntdci

martyntdci

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,492 posts
  • Name: martin
  • Ford Model: focus titanium x/comms/sports pack
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Staffordshire

Posted 11 August 2012 - 08:19 PM

if your on about push the button once then they auto come up our fitted with all 4.....

#4 STEADS

STEADS

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 841 posts
  • Name: NEIL
  • Ford Model: FOCUS 1.8 TDCI TITANIUM AND 2.0 TDCI
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 11 August 2012 - 08:50 PM

if your on about push the button once then they auto come up our fitted with all 4.....

not quite sure what you mean its a four door all electric windows i,ve got them all to go down one touch certain they used to come up one touch as well

#5 STEADS

STEADS

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 841 posts
  • Name: NEIL
  • Ford Model: FOCUS 1.8 TDCI TITANIUM AND 2.0 TDCI
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 11 August 2012 - 08:58 PM

just had a play around and got them to work one touch both ways so thats sorted just the air bag know anyone or is the main stealer and as for the recaros the most most comfy seat i,ve ever had in a car well impressed .

#6 gforce

gforce

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 774 posts
  • Name: Gary
  • Ford Model: Ford Mondeo ST 2.2 TDCi
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Tyrone

Posted 12 August 2012 - 11:32 AM

Did you use your old seatbelt pre-tensioners or ones that came with the new seats? And are the plugs under the seats pushed in tight?

#7 GSM

GSM

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 304 posts
  • Name: Garrie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 (100PS)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 12 August 2012 - 11:55 AM

Background

Whenever you disconnect your battery on your Mk3 Mondeo, your one-touch electric windows will need resetting.
Method

To reset the windows, follow these steps:
  • Hold down the down switch until the window is fully lowered
  • Release the switch momentarily, and then press down again for 5 seconds
  • Hold down the up switch until the window is fully raised
  • Release the switch momentarily, and then press up again for 5 seconds
This window will now be set for one touch and global opening/closing. Repeat this procedure for each individual window, and if fitted, the sunroof...

Here you go.

Try this procedure. Should work to change the settings on your module to allow one touch opening and closing again.

#8 STEADS

STEADS

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 841 posts
  • Name: NEIL
  • Ford Model: FOCUS 1.8 TDCI TITANIUM AND 2.0 TDCI
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 12 August 2012 - 12:52 PM

  • Gforce i,ve used one of each used my origional passenger seat one and the drivers seat was on the seat that i fitted so left that are they coded or something so that the ecu recognises a change ?


#9 gforce

gforce

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 774 posts
  • Name: Gary
  • Ford Model: Ford Mondeo ST 2.2 TDCi
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Tyrone

Posted 13 August 2012 - 12:02 PM

Not sure if they're coded, but if the seats came from a car that was in a bump then the pre-tensioners may have fired, hence why the error is showing up. My first port of call would be to re-fit your own pre-tensioner on the driver's side too and see if that fixes it.

I put ST seats into my old ZS Mondeo and had the same problem as yourself with the seatbelt warning light. Removed the pre-tensionsers that came with the seats and put my own ones in and it cleared the problem.

Reason I mentioned loose plugs too is that the one under my passenger seat is loose. I have a 3 door and everytime I have to move the passenger seat forward to get into the back the warning light will come on afterwards until I push the plugs and wires back in tight.

#10 STEADS

STEADS

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 841 posts
  • Name: NEIL
  • Ford Model: FOCUS 1.8 TDCI TITANIUM AND 2.0 TDCI
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 13 August 2012 - 12:56 PM

Cheers gary will try that later when i get in let you know if it works

#11 STEADS

STEADS

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 841 posts
  • Name: NEIL
  • Ford Model: FOCUS 1.8 TDCI TITANIUM AND 2.0 TDCI
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 13 August 2012 - 06:52 PM

Tryed the other tensioner still the same everything seems tight light initialy goes out for a few seconds then comes back might run it to my mates garage see if hes got the reset equipment.

#12 gforce

gforce

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 774 posts
  • Name: Gary
  • Ford Model: Ford Mondeo ST 2.2 TDCi
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Tyrone

Posted 14 August 2012 - 08:36 AM

Right. Again, I only have experience of swapping out the Mondeo interior so just clutching at straws a bit now so I'm sorry I can't be of more help...

The other issue on the Mondeo was a seat pressure pad...the pre-facelift Mk3 had a pad on the passenger seat, but this was left off the facelift. So if people were putting the 'wrong' interior in they would have had warning light issues and some got round it by taking the pressure pad out of the old seat, plugging it in and then rolling it up and sticking underneath the base of the seat.

Have you got wiring diagrams for the seats and their plugs by any chance?

#13 Andy H Dibley

Andy H Dibley

    Feet Under The Table

  • Members via FB
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 312 posts
  • Name: Andy
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Buckinghamshire

Posted 14 August 2012 - 08:42 AM

I would've thought the pressure switch is only for the seatbelt warning light? It's a fair shout though! If they were fitted to your old seats and these don't have it, try reconnecting them!

#14 gforce

gforce

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 774 posts
  • Name: Gary
  • Ford Model: Ford Mondeo ST 2.2 TDCi
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Tyrone

Posted 14 August 2012 - 09:11 AM

Yeah I know what you mean mate. As I said though, just clutching at straws a bit now as I haven't had the Focus seats out (yet...carpet needs a good scrub!). Are there any small difference between pre-face and facelift wiring or do they share the same looms?

Wonder what year the Recaros came from?

Just came across this through a quick Google...

http://www.tdocuk.co...php?f=7&t=10549

Might not be of much help but who knows. This poster had trouble as he was putting in RHD seats into LHD car.

#15 STEADS

STEADS

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 841 posts
  • Name: NEIL
  • Ford Model: FOCUS 1.8 TDCI TITANIUM AND 2.0 TDCI
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 14 August 2012 - 09:57 AM

I,ve not got a wiring diagram but did noyice the recaro have 2 extra connections i assume these are for the heater element everything else seems to be in the same position on the connector when i swopped the the seats in my 2.0 L I didnt incur any problems maybe its just the ecu thinks this has been unplugged and its a built in safety feature to make sure every thing is reconected properly if you know what i mean cos one car is a 2005 and the other a 2009 so suppose they could put extra features into the ecu in 4 years . ho and a tip for any one doing a seat swop have some one assist you with the fronts in and out and advisable to pad out the ends of the runners otherwise youll scrape your interior panel trims done it to mine on one side not to bad but i know its there so will be getting replaced .

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users