Jump to content


Photo

Sony Cd Generation 1 Station Identities


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 StanH

StanH

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 Petrol
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 03 September 2012 - 05:00 PM

I may be wrong but I feel sure that radio stations were identified by name, but recently all I get is P1 P2 etc.
There is nothing in the audio handbook about this so am I wrong or can anyone tell me how to get them back

Stan

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...



Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 NorthSussex

NorthSussex

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
  • Name: Stormin
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 Petrol manual
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 03 September 2012 - 07:45 PM

Try a re-scan of radio stations, you will only get the station identified with a name if the signal is strong enough.

#3 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 18,165 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: 2015 Focus ST3 250BHP
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 03 September 2012 - 08:00 PM

Check your RDS settings.

#4 johnH

johnH

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 1,137 posts
  • Name: John
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 Zetec 1.8 TDCI (Climate)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear
Contributor

Posted 04 September 2012 - 12:05 AM

ive seen this before on other radios...something to do with PTY being active.

#5 StanH

StanH

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 Petrol
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 04 September 2012 - 11:41 AM

Totally frustrated with this - on my trips to Norfolk I used to see Radio Essex, Radio Suffolk, Radio Norfolk etc, now all I get is P1 P2 etc.
Have tried every button and menu I could find but nothing restores the identification.
Plenty of signal strength.
Cannot find any way to access RDS settings and a scan of PTY stations results in "None"

#6 johnH

johnH

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 1,137 posts
  • Name: John
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 Zetec 1.8 TDCI (Climate)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear
Contributor

Posted 04 September 2012 - 12:09 PM

i would say make sure you have the radio code before attempting...but basically pull the radio out and pull the harness off. leave for 5 - 10 mins and plug it back in. this will reset to factory.

#7 NorthSussex

NorthSussex

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
  • Name: Stormin
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 Petrol manual
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 04 September 2012 - 01:06 PM

i would say make sure you have the radio code before attempting...but basically pull the radio out and pull the harness off. leave for 5 - 10 mins and plug it back in. this will reset to factory.


Yep, I'd go for that, but disconnecting the battery will have the same effect and may be easier if you haven't got a radio removal tool.

#8 StanH

StanH

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 Petrol
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 04 September 2012 - 01:27 PM

I have the code so will probably try that. Am I right in thinking that it is only the audio unit that will be affected if I disconnect?

#9 johnH

johnH

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 1,137 posts
  • Name: John
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 Zetec 1.8 TDCI (Climate)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear
Contributor

Posted 04 September 2012 - 03:40 PM

if you go just to disconnecting the radio then yeah its just that, that is affected.

if you choose battery removal, i would leave a window down and door open so you can get back in just incase something happens with the key codes.

#10 StanH

StanH

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 Petrol
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 07 September 2012 - 02:25 PM

That did it - at last got around to disconnecting the battery, left for 10 mins (not sure why but that was recommended), reconnected, entered code and station identities are back
Thanks
Stan

#11 NorthSussex

NorthSussex

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
  • Name: Stormin
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 Petrol manual
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 07 September 2012 - 04:01 PM

That did it - at last got around to disconnecting the battery, left for 10 mins (not sure why but that was recommended), reconnected, entered code and station identities are back
Thanks
Stan


It works with a lot of consumer electronics, when the computer when it plays up it's always recommended to turn off, leave for a while and then reboot .

#12 johnH

johnH

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 1,137 posts
  • Name: John
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 Zetec 1.8 TDCI (Climate)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear
Contributor

Posted 07 September 2012 - 10:12 PM

glad to hear it worked.

northsussex - even a techie boot into the computer works (size 9-10 are the perfect size) lol

#13 NorthSussex

NorthSussex

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
  • Name: Stormin
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 Petrol manual
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 08 September 2012 - 08:01 AM

glad to hear it worked.

northsussex - even a techie boot into the computer works (size 9-10 are the perfect size) lol


Semtex is a good alternative. :)

#14 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 18,165 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: 2015 Focus ST3 250BHP
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 08 September 2012 - 11:23 AM

Semtex is a good alternative. :)


Nah, 5 twists of linear cutting cord will solve it nicely. ;)

#15 NorthSussex

NorthSussex

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
  • Name: Stormin
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 Petrol manual
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 08 September 2012 - 12:48 PM

Nah, 5 twists of linear cutting cord will solve it nicely. ;)

A bit clinical, I prefer complete vaporisation, it should be an option for the judiciary, no more re-offending. :rolleyes:

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users