Jump to content


Show
Photo

Abs ..esp Light Staying On


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 busajohn

busajohn

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts
  • Name: john
  • Ford Model: mondeo ghia tdci
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 27 September 2012 - 07:33 PM

Hi everyone i have a 57 plate 2 ltr tdci ghia mondeo and for the last 3 days my abs..esp light has stayed on my dash..cleaned both abs sensors on front but the lights are still on Anyone help ,e plz TIa ,,,John

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 busajohn

busajohn

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts
  • Name: john
  • Ford Model: mondeo ghia tdci
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 28 September 2012 - 05:29 PM

any help before i have to pay £120 for it to go on a machine ...thanks

#3 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,773 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 28 September 2012 - 07:48 PM

You'll probably find you need to clear the fault codes from the system.
Anyone with an OBDII reader can do it.

#4 ppeter7

ppeter7

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 328 posts
  • Name: peter
  • Ford Model: mondeo 1.8/ mondeo 2.0 zetec
  • Year: 2001
  • Location: Devon

Posted 28 September 2012 - 07:56 PM

how about rear ones have you checked wires arnt broke

#5 busajohn

busajohn

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts
  • Name: john
  • Ford Model: mondeo ghia tdci
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 28 September 2012 - 08:02 PM

ppeter7...yes mate we done the back ones aswell

#6 busajohn

busajohn

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts
  • Name: john
  • Ford Model: mondeo ghia tdci
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 28 September 2012 - 08:08 PM

You'll probably find you need to clear the fault codes from the system.
Anyone with an OBDII reader can do it.

thanls for your reply//a mate put a fault code reader on...John it...was a handheld one but no code come up..he said it didnt read abs faults

#7 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,773 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 28 September 2012 - 08:17 PM

Any garage with a professional reader will be able to look deeper for codes.
A lot of the time even when a fault is fixed the code stays resident on the system until read and cleared so warning lights and fault warnings will still show.

#8 busajohn

busajohn

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts
  • Name: john
  • Ford Model: mondeo ghia tdci
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 28 September 2012 - 08:21 PM

Any garage with a professional reader will be able to look deeper for codes.
A lot of the time even when a fault is fixed the code stays resident on the system until read and cleared so warning lights and fault warnings will still show.

ok thanks

#9 busajohn

busajohn

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts
  • Name: john
  • Ford Model: mondeo ghia tdci
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 29 September 2012 - 07:35 AM

i dont know if this makes any difference to my problem..but last night i noticed my antilock brakes are not working and the button for the traction control(esp)on dash wont go on or off...thanks

#10 stef123

stef123

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Management
  • 5,047 posts
  • Name: Stef
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST TDCI
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 29 September 2012 - 11:38 AM

Your abs will not work as there is a fault.

Have you checked the connections at the sensors and under the car?


#11 busajohn

busajohn

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts
  • Name: john
  • Ford Model: mondeo ghia tdci
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 29 September 2012 - 11:50 AM

Your abs will not work as there is a fault.

Have you checked the connections at the sensors and under the car?

thanks for your reply..i dont know anything about car bits...but a mate at the bottom of the road has took all the sensor plugs of and cleaned them front and raer ..thats all i know...John

#12 busajohn

busajohn

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts
  • Name: john
  • Ford Model: mondeo ghia tdci
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 01 October 2012 - 05:25 PM

Just want to say thanks to you all for your help..My drivers side front sensor has gone so ordered one from ford £29 bit of confusion if this will sort out the esp aswell as abs aswell ...John

#13 stef123

stef123

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Management
  • 5,047 posts
  • Name: Stef
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST TDCI
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 01 October 2012 - 05:27 PM

Just want to say thanks to you all for your help..My drivers side front sensor has gone so ordered one from ford £29 bit of confusion if this will sort out the esp aswell as abs aswell ...John


The ESP takes it reading from the abs system so the chances are it will sort that out too

#14 busajohn

busajohn

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts
  • Name: john
  • Ford Model: mondeo ghia tdci
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 01 October 2012 - 05:32 PM

The ESP takes it reading from the abs system so the chances are it will sort that out too

ok thanks for that

#15 busajohn

busajohn

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts
  • Name: john
  • Ford Model: mondeo ghia tdci
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 02 October 2012 - 01:44 PM

Hi again ..can someone help ..i went to my local ford dealer and told them i wanted a abs/esp sensor front drivers side he told me £29 so i ordered it /went to pick up this morning and the (tw*t ) ordred me a wiring loom for the sensor ..then he said i will order the sensor now its a whoping £91 anyone know a part number... thanks

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users