Jump to content


Show
Photo
- - - - -

Bigger Rims Effect

rims diameter wheels suspension tires

  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Bower

Bower

    Bower

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts
  • Name: Alex
  • Ford Model: Ford Fiesta Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Essex

Posted 29 September 2012 - 04:27 PM

Hi guys. I got a quick question for you.

I was just wondering if putting bigger rims on the car would have effect to what speedometer is showing? i.e. the actual speed, how many miles it does, mpg calculator and etc.

The standard rims on fiesta mk7 zetec are 195/50 R15
The new ones would be 205/40/zr17

I know that the tires will fit the car.
Simply I dont want to mess with the computer and showings on the clock as the car is new.

Thank you in advance!

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,405 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 29 September 2012 - 05:24 PM

Hi there

Your speedo is calibrated to be out by about 5mph anyway. So when your speedo says you are doing 70mph for example, you will actually be doing about 65mph. You can test this by going by the speed a satnav says.

This is so that you don't panic and slam your breaks on when doing say 32 in a 30 zone and you see a speed trap. So instead of going through doing 32 and getting flashed, you'll actually be doing around 28 and not get flashed.

So adding bigger rims may just even the speedo out so when it says 70mph you will actually be doing 70mph. It might not even change that much though and might just be around 68mph when the speedo says 70pmh.

Hope this helps. I'm sure someone else will be along shortly to advise on the matter further.

#3 iNath

iNath

    ST-2 Mod

  • Super Mod
  • 3,603 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Molten Orange Fiesta ST-2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 29 September 2012 - 05:25 PM

In a word - yes. Unless you get the car updated with the new size by a Ford mechanic.
Going from 195/50/15 to 205/40/17 puts it out by 3.43% so when your speedo shows 70mph you're actually doing 72.4mph

http://www.alloywhee...Tyre_Calculator

#4 2011fiesta

2011fiesta

    Geordie Fordie

  • FOC Supporters
  • 1,691 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: 2011 Fiesta Titanium Auto
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Tyne and Wear

Posted 29 September 2012 - 05:32 PM

As said above yes.
Next week I'm getting slightly taller tyres and am going to check the speedo out against my sat nav, and my dads speed read out gadget thingy - if its out by a bit I'll get it booked in with a ford mechanic.

#5 Bower

Bower

    Bower

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts
  • Name: Alex
  • Ford Model: Ford Fiesta Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Essex

Posted 29 September 2012 - 07:19 PM

Thanks for the answers guys! By the way, do you know an answer to this one:

if you insure a car with original wheels and then change the rims to custom , would the insurance be void?

#6 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,405 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 29 September 2012 - 07:45 PM

You must declare the new rims to the insurance company as they are not the factory fit. Depending on your insurer they may hike up your premium, or they may just charge you an admin charge which is usually around the 15quid mark.

If you don't declare them at your own risk, in the event of you being involved in an accident, your insurer can use that you never declared them to wangle they're way out of paying out.

#7 iNath

iNath

    ST-2 Mod

  • Super Mod
  • 3,603 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Molten Orange Fiesta ST-2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 29 September 2012 - 09:09 PM

As said above yes.
Next week I'm getting slightly taller tyres and am going to check the speedo out against my sat nav, and my dads speed read out gadget thingy - if its out by a bit I'll get it booked in with a ford mechanic.

Afraid that's not possible - it can only be changed to the set sizes below:

Posted Image

#8 2011fiesta

2011fiesta

    Geordie Fordie

  • FOC Supporters
  • 1,691 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: 2011 Fiesta Titanium Auto
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Tyne and Wear

Posted 29 September 2012 - 09:32 PM

Afraid that's not possible - it can only be changed to the set sizes below:

Posted Image


Oh, oh dear.

I'm getting the same width tire, just slightly taller. So rather than 195/45/16 it'll be somthing like 205/45/16 I think.

#9 iNath

iNath

    ST-2 Mod

  • Super Mod
  • 3,603 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Molten Orange Fiesta ST-2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 29 September 2012 - 09:43 PM

I'm getting the same width tire, just slightly taller. So rather than 195/45/16 it'll be somthing like 205/45/16 I think.


You what? 205 is 10mm wider than 195 silly :P The height is the 45 bit which is a percentage of the width. E.g. 195mm wide, height of 45% = 87.75mm. If you want your size wheels with a higher profile you want 195/50/16, 195/55/16 etc ;)

#10 2011fiesta

2011fiesta

    Geordie Fordie

  • FOC Supporters
  • 1,691 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: 2011 Fiesta Titanium Auto
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Tyne and Wear

Posted 29 September 2012 - 09:53 PM

You what? 205 is 10mm wider than 195 silly :P The height is the 45 bit which is a percentage of the width. E.g. 195mm wide, height of 45% = 87.75mm. If you want your size wheels with a higher profile you want 195/50/16, 195/55/16 etc ;)


Ok now I'm confused. Thats what I read on here and ordered 195/55/16s - so I went today to get them fitted and the tyre specialists said why have you chose these, you do know its not the middle number that is the height. So for taller tyres you need to move from 195 to say 205. So they're gonna send them back and get me different ones

:-s

#11 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,786 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 29 September 2012 - 09:56 PM

First number is width,

#12 2011fiesta

2011fiesta

    Geordie Fordie

  • FOC Supporters
  • 1,691 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: 2011 Fiesta Titanium Auto
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Tyne and Wear

Posted 29 September 2012 - 10:04 PM

First number is width,


*sigh* thats what I thought and said to them - them being the tyre experts I thought I must had misread it. What the hell. ARGHH!

#13 iNath

iNath

    ST-2 Mod

  • Super Mod
  • 3,603 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Molten Orange Fiesta ST-2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 29 September 2012 - 10:24 PM

*sigh* thats what I thought and said to them - them being the tyre experts I thought I must had misread it. What the hell. ARGHH!


Better get back on the phone in the morning!

#14 Bower

Bower

    Bower

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts
  • Name: Alex
  • Ford Model: Ford Fiesta Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Essex

Posted 03 October 2012 - 07:45 AM

Hey guys, I wanted to avoid creating a new topic so will just post here.

Picked up my Fiesta from the dealer yesterday ! Yay :D It really does put a massive smile on my face when I look at it :) Probably, because it is my first car... Will upload some pics this evening hopefully!

Anyway, my question is about the electric windows :

The driver's window does open automatically , i.e. when you press the button once you can release it and it goes all the way down, unless you stop it yourself.

While passenger's window , it is still automatic obv, but you have to hold the button and release it whenever you want the window to stop.

I would prefer to have passengers window as 'automatic' as the driver's one. I hope this makes sense.

I was wondering if it was manufacturing failure or is this just how it works?

Thanks for your answers in advance.

#15 iNath

iNath

    ST-2 Mod

  • Super Mod
  • 3,603 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Molten Orange Fiesta ST-2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 03 October 2012 - 08:13 AM

That's just how it works I'm afraid, one-touch up/down is only on the drivers side. Think yourself lucky, in the new Focus you only get one-touch down, they have to hold it to go back up!

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have




Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: rims, diameter, wheels, suspension, tires

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users