Jump to content


Photo

Gear Box Trouble


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Damianst666

Damianst666

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus st170
  • Location: Berkshire

Posted 04 October 2012 - 03:46 PM

Hi does anyone know why I can't select 5 th and 6 th gear in my st170?

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...



Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 Oxide

Oxide

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • Name: Steve
  • Ford Model: Zetec 1.6
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cornwall

Posted 04 October 2012 - 03:49 PM

Can you be a bit more specific?

#3 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,932 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 04 October 2012 - 06:01 PM

if its just 5th and 6th all other gears are ok then possibly the syncro it would be best to have it checked out

#4 tomo2001

tomo2001

    Serial Poster

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 485 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus 1.6 TDCi Titanium X
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 05 October 2012 - 02:00 PM

Is the gearbox cable operated or a mechanical linkage ? Could be the cable has broke or come adrift at one end.

#5 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,932 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 05 October 2012 - 04:20 PM

if it was the cable you wouldnt get any gears does it crunch in any gears or 5th to 6th or is it silent but just wont go

#6 Damianst666

Damianst666

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus st170
  • Location: Berkshire

Posted 05 October 2012 - 09:16 PM

Hi does anyone know why I can't select 5 th and 6 th gear in my st170?



#7 Damianst666

Damianst666

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus st170
  • Location: Berkshire

Posted 05 October 2012 - 09:16 PM

It goes in every other gear with out any noises. And the cables are fine.

#8 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,932 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 06 October 2012 - 09:02 AM

sounds like the syncromesh ide have it checked out it may happen to other gears

#9 stef123

stef123

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Management
  • 5,794 posts
  • Name: Stefan
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST TDCI
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 06 October 2012 - 09:07 AM

Has the linkage been inspected? It could be that you have lost motion due to wear or it might just need adjusting.

#10 Damianst666

Damianst666

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus st170
  • Location: Berkshire

Posted 06 October 2012 - 07:18 PM

How do I check that?

#11 Damianst666

Damianst666

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus st170
  • Location: Berkshire

Posted 09 October 2012 - 06:29 PM

I had a good look at the cables today. The cables look fine however one of the plastic joints that have a spring is broke and the spring isn't doing anything could this be the course?

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users