Jump to content


Photo

Focus Aux In Behind Glovebox


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#16 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,408 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 17 October 2012 - 09:21 PM

I don't smoke (filthy habit <_< ;)), rarely drink, don't even own a games console n the last thing i played was a ps2 :o

So since buying the car it has become my main hobby. Although like I've said many times before, I had never planned to do anything to it.

Stumbled across this forum in search of advice on my bonnet not opening. N now I'm forever planning the next mod n already racked up a lengthy mods list with many more planned and on the way.

My Missus holds this forum solely responsible for all the grief n neglect inflicted on her due to me being outside constantly taking the car apart n wiring more things in.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#17 minnis

minnis

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 199 posts
  • Name: Mark
  • Ford Model: SEAT Ibiza ST 1.2 TSi
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: London

Posted 14 December 2012 - 02:02 PM

Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but what is the difference between this:
http://www.ebay.co.u...0301215&afsrc=1

the connects2 aux in cable that i know a lot of people have used, and this:

http://www.amazon.co...pd_sim_sbs_ce_1

obviously the amazon one is by far the cheapest, but i'd need a phono-3.5mm cable.
Do the genuine ford and connects2 cables both have the sockets (so you plug in an additional cable), or does the lead just hang out?

I can't seem to get my head around such a massive price difference.

Thanks in advance!

#18 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 15,228 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 14 December 2012 - 06:40 PM

The Ford kit connects to the loom the same way as the Amazon one but goes to a socket that needs drilling and fitting to the glovebox, they can have a habit of having a crap contact due to internal movement of the socket.
The second one is a good idea as it can be much easier to run a cable out from under the demister panel on the dash which puts the cable in more practical position and saves a lot of work.
Obviously you need this to complete the second part-

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item25648d4248

I used one of these and never had a problem with it-

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item45f5824e3d

I use it to plug into a 12v socket iPod charger/controller so the wiring position is very practical for me-

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item5898da2876

#19 minnis

minnis

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 199 posts
  • Name: Mark
  • Ford Model: SEAT Ibiza ST 1.2 TSi
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: London

Posted 14 December 2012 - 09:53 PM

Thanks for that.
Do any of these give the ability to skip tracks etc by the steering wheel control? I very rarely use it on CDs, but its still nice to know its there.

#20 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 15,228 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 14 December 2012 - 10:07 PM

Unfortunately the aux connection has no remote settings.
The iPod controller has direct play/pause/ff/rew/previous and next track on it and once a selected album has finished will automatically go to random play.

#21 minnis

minnis

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 199 posts
  • Name: Mark
  • Ford Model: SEAT Ibiza ST 1.2 TSi
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: London

Posted 14 December 2012 - 10:47 PM

Thanks for such quick replies.
Thought as much. It doesn't bother me that much as most journeys I'll have my gf in the passenger seat to change tracks. Just would have been a nice bonus!

#22 Steven2898

Steven2898

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
  • Name: Stephen
  • Ford Model: Focus 2005 1.6 LX
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Antrim

Posted 20 April 2014 - 04:28 PM

If you have the wire prefitted the plug on the end will look exactly like this-
aux2.jpg

There is another wire running to the glovebox area and looks very similar but is the cable to connect a passenger airbag deactivation switch.
The cable for that looks like this-
cables4.jpg

If you don't have the aux cable then buy this and install yourself, it's straightforward.
http://www.ebay.co.u...=item2ec1f0ea15


Hi there im adding aux to my ford focus and i took the glove box out and i noticed it does have this cable it was just taped to the top not plugged into anything can you tell me what i get to plug into this?

#23 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 15,228 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 20 April 2014 - 04:57 PM

If you definitely have the aux cable (as per my first picture with 4 pins) then you need the aux socket end.
I'm not at my PC until morning but I'll pull up the part code for you then.

#24 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 15,228 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 21 April 2014 - 05:34 AM

If you have the cable but no socket the part (Finis) number is 1310208 and about £5.

If you don't have the socket or cable then the Finis number is 1426121 and about £20.

All available from your friendly neighbourhood Ford parts counter.



#25 Steven2898

Steven2898

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
  • Name: Stephen
  • Ford Model: Focus 2005 1.6 LX
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Antrim

Posted 21 April 2014 - 10:54 AM

Was just looking at the photos you posted off the aux cable and the airbag one im afraid i only have the airbag one, if i order the socket and cable from ford do i get the radio removal keys as well? and does it still go in the glove box and is there a way to pass it into the glove box from behind the radio?

#26 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 15,228 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 21 April 2014 - 05:04 PM

The full kit will not come with removal keys.
TBH the Ford cable is expensive for what it does and is prone to bad contact alignment.
You're better off with a cable that has a 3.5 plug on the end, you can run it to wherever you choose, no holes to drill and more efficient (plus you get the correct keys with it).-

http://pages.ebay.co...id=360898168857

No need to disconnect the radio quadlock at all, just pull the radio forward and plug the cable into the spare socket.

#27 Steven2898

Steven2898

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
  • Name: Stephen
  • Ford Model: Focus 2005 1.6 LX
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Antrim

Posted 28 April 2014 - 01:41 PM

ok so i ordered that lead you said would be easier and it arrived today just wondering do you recommend anywhere to put it for convience and how do i get it back out after i put the radio back in where does it come out of?



#28 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 15,228 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 28 April 2014 - 03:09 PM

I used to have my cable coming out from under the demister switch panel so it was central and accessible.
Since fitting an upgraded centre console I extended the cable to come out in the armrest storage tray.
Some have brought the cable out of one of the centre air vents and some bring the cable out inside the glovebox.
The easiest way to ensure you can pull the cable out to full length is to tape some string (strong patacord is best) to the cable so you can guide it through from wherever you choise to position it.

Sent from my SM-G900F

#29 Steven2898

Steven2898

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
  • Name: Stephen
  • Ford Model: Focus 2005 1.6 LX
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Antrim

Posted 28 April 2014 - 04:16 PM

Yea i like the plan off making it come out, just below the demister button but how did u get the lead down there?

#30 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 15,228 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 29 April 2014 - 09:29 PM

If you remove the radio fascia you will see the two screws holding the switch panel in place.
Just loosen the screws and slide the cable down behind.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users