Jump to content


Photo

5Speed Gearbox To 6Speed


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 sstef

sstef

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
  • Ford Model: focus 2010

Posted 13 October 2012 - 12:50 AM

hello
i have a 2009 focus 1,6 ti vct and i want to know if it is possible to change or convert the 5 speed gearbox to a 6 speed

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...



Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 gumpy321

gumpy321

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 145 posts
  • Name: Andy
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 13 October 2012 - 08:24 AM

Not really, unless you want to spend thousands? In which case when you bought the car, you could have spent that extra bit and purchased a Focus with 6 speed.

#3 gumpy321

gumpy321

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 145 posts
  • Name: Andy
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 13 October 2012 - 08:25 AM

Not really, unless you want to spend thousands? In which case when you bought the car, you could have spent that extra bit and purchased a Focus with 6 speed.



#4 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,932 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 13 October 2012 - 08:29 AM

the current ti vct has been set up as a 5 speed box the ecu torque bands and gearing of the engine reflect this the only way to do it is buy a 2011 ti vct engine with a 6 speed gearbox and ecu and get it fitted and coded to the car as said above it would cost thousands and to be brutally honest the ti vct doesnt need 6 gears

#5 RB2004

RB2004

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 91 posts
  • Name: Ronald J
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus 2008 Titanium with Sport Pack
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Essex

Posted 14 October 2012 - 12:17 AM

2011 ECU is not even compatible with the MK2 focus its a new design on the diesels.

you dont need to have anything coded to the car.

get a 2011 6 speed gearbox from a 1.6.

Check first bolt pattern is the same!

if it is, should just bolt on.

might have to have a custom pipe made to go from the slave cylinder to master cylinder on clutch... need the new 2011 focus clutch, and starter from 2.0 TDCi, 1.6 one is no good off 2011 focus because i think they are stop start.

need 2.0 TDCi 2008 focus gear selector, and cables.

then that should be it, job done.. there is no electronics module involved or wiring on the gearbox.. only powershift and autos had that.

in terms of the torque bands being out, the gearing should be correct for that engine as its from a 1.6
and torque bands can be corrected by a remap done on a rolling road by any tuning specialist.

not saying there wouldnt be obstacles.. as you will no doubt come accross obstacles like mountings.. might have to use the mountings off the 2008 2.0 focus etc so a bit of mix and matching and ingenuity.

#6 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,932 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 14 October 2012 - 12:07 PM

give burton power a call they will tell you its not that easy with a ti vct engine mate and give you options

#7 RB2004

RB2004

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 91 posts
  • Name: Ronald J
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus 2008 Titanium with Sport Pack
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Essex

Posted 14 October 2012 - 03:46 PM

Don't need to ring them lol I will have a look through ECat for parts differences.

Haven't looked yet.

#8 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,932 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 14 October 2012 - 05:06 PM

if you understood the ti vct engine you would know 1 its not that easy and 2 the new ti vct uses a new gearbox designated 5m instead of the ib5 given the ti vct system is cam and torque dependant its not that easy

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users