Jump to content


Photo

OBD II On Focus Diesel 2003


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Simon S

Simon S

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus TDCI
  • Location:

Posted 26 February 2009 - 05:58 PM

I am very confused with data I am finding on the net. According to a number of sellers selling the ELM327 on the famous auction site, my 2002 tdci 1.8 is not OBD compatible. However there is a OBD port below the steering wheel.
Is this an OBD port? Anyone have a clue what software will work if it is?
Thanks.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 SierraYankee99

SierraYankee99

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 859 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford
  • Location:

Posted 26 February 2009 - 06:05 PM

It is indeed OBDII compliant mate, I'm not sure on the software I dont do my own code reads.

#3 gaz6076

gaz6076

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 448 posts
  • Ford Model: Mk5 Fiesta
  • Location: Scotland

Posted 26 February 2009 - 07:15 PM

I think most OBDII works with ELM 327. All fords I've worked on anyway. ELM 327 is the type of software that a diagnostic interface would use

#4 Simon S

Simon S

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus TDCI
  • Location:

Posted 26 February 2009 - 07:43 PM

Thanks for the help chaps. I just want to see if the car is making full boost as it seems to be low on power until the gauge reaches half way.

#5 gaz6076

gaz6076

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 448 posts
  • Ford Model: Mk5 Fiesta
  • Location: Scotland

Posted 26 February 2009 - 08:00 PM

Am not very clued up on turbos but my understanding of them is that the need a fair bit of exhaust pressure for them to work. Hence turbo lag

#6 Simon S

Simon S

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus TDCI
  • Location:

Posted 26 February 2009 - 09:03 PM

Am not very clued up on turbos but my understanding of them is that the need a fair bit of exhaust pressure for them to work. Hence turbo lag

Cheers Gaz6076, I just need to check the boost at warmup. I think it should be around 1.5 bar relative.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users