Jump to content


Show
Photo
- - - - -

Ambient Lighting In Dashboard


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 powerball

powerball

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 38 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta s1600
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Kent

Posted 06 November 2012 - 02:00 PM

This is my first topic therefore be gentle with me

fiesta.jpg Just recieved the Ambient lighting kit (Finis number 1577272) for my Fiesta 1600s, my questions are :- has anyone fitted this kit as there is no instructions, is it plug ang play? and there are two parts to the kit one part goes by the glove box but where does the other part go?

any advise would be helpful as i am planing to fit it this weekend

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 Mordey

Mordey

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 200 posts
  • Ford Model: 2010 Fiesta zs

Posted 06 November 2012 - 04:16 PM

Google is your answer.

search, fitting fords Ambient lighting kit to fiesta

#3 sambooka

sambooka

    Sam Oglesby

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,024 posts
  • Name: sam
  • Ford Model: mk7 fiesta tdci zetec s
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Lincolnshire

Posted 06 November 2012 - 04:23 PM

At a guess the other part goes on the driver side and they plug into the footwell light holders but I could be wrong seeing as though I've never seen one before I probably am

#4 powerball

powerball

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 38 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta s1600
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Kent

Posted 06 November 2012 - 04:42 PM

I think the small bit goes under the heater control panel (still awaiting conformation thou)

#5 Big-Ed

Big-Ed

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec-S
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 06 November 2012 - 07:03 PM

They are not plug & play in a stock car that didnt have them from factory, the plugs under the dash for them need to be turned on using a ford IDS system.

The small one goes in the heater control facia & lights the little cubby at the front of the gearstick, the big one clips into the dash where the glovebox/passenger airbag is.

#6 iNath

iNath

    ST-2 Mod

  • Super Mod
  • 3,563 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Molten Orange Fiesta ST-2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 06 November 2012 - 07:20 PM

Just to clear up any confusion as I'll be one of the only people that has successfully retrofitted these:

Long one: top of glovebox, clips in to place and plug should be (at the moment) in a blank socket behind the dash (next to air vent on passenger door side)

Posted Image

Shorter one: top of cubby hole beneath heater controls. Need to remove the silver facsia and you'll see where it plugs in (top of black plastic) Plug is most likely wrapped in black fabric tape

Posted Image
Posted Image


It is not plug&play unfortunately - it's not even simple using a Ford IDS system as it require me to write an activation file and then upload it to the vehicle.

Posted Image
Posted Image

#7 b1g_dav3

b1g_dav3

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 2,496 posts
  • Name: David
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S TDCi
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Lancashire
Contributor

Posted 06 November 2012 - 07:25 PM

In fairness though it might work, as a lot of Zetec S's have ambient foot lighting harnesses, and the S1600's are effectively ZS's with a hp boost aren't they?

#8 iNath

iNath

    ST-2 Mod

  • Super Mod
  • 3,563 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Molten Orange Fiesta ST-2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 06 November 2012 - 07:36 PM

In fairness though it might work, as a lot of Zetec S's have ambient foot lighting harnesses, and the S1600's are effectively ZS's with a hp boost aren't they?


Whilst the wires are there (like in mine) they have no power until activated in the GEM. Footwell lights seem independent of ambient lighting (ie footwell is plug&play whereas ambient isn't)

#9 b1g_dav3

b1g_dav3

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 2,496 posts
  • Name: David
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S TDCi
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Lancashire
Contributor

Posted 06 November 2012 - 07:40 PM

Hmm, could it be wired into a power source perhaps? Or would it be cheaper just to buy an LED strip to do it?

#10 iNath

iNath

    ST-2 Mod

  • Super Mod
  • 3,563 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Molten Orange Fiesta ST-2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 06 November 2012 - 08:15 PM

Hmm, could it be wired into a power source perhaps? Or would it be cheaper just to buy an LED strip to do it?


You could go down that route if you wanted to. I prefer my mods to look & work 'factory fit' ;)

#11 b1g_dav3

b1g_dav3

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 2,496 posts
  • Name: David
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S TDCi
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Lancashire
Contributor

Posted 06 November 2012 - 08:23 PM

You could go down that route if you wanted to. I prefer my mods to look & work 'factory fit' ;)


Yeah but unless he comes to you it won't be easy for him to fit it :P I'd have thought if you could wire it up to something back near the normal plug point, you could have it similar :P

#12 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,098 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 06 November 2012 - 08:38 PM

If they don't work out of the box , then cut the wires off and attach them to the Side light circuit of the radio or switches if they are 12v , you could also fit a variable resistor to dim them up or down.Or if you have the variable dimming already fitted they will Dim along with that

#13 powerball

powerball

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 38 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta s1600
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Kent

Posted 06 November 2012 - 10:02 PM

so in simply terms plug um in and get a Ford dealer to actavate them, and then they might work

#14 b1g_dav3

b1g_dav3

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 2,496 posts
  • Name: David
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S TDCi
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Lancashire
Contributor

Posted 06 November 2012 - 10:48 PM

so in simply terms plug um in and get a Ford dealer to actavate them, and then they might work


If they'll do it, might be best doing what Preee said really.

#15 iNath

iNath

    ST-2 Mod

  • Super Mod
  • 3,563 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Molten Orange Fiesta ST-2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 06 November 2012 - 10:51 PM

so in simply terms plug um in and get a Ford dealer to actavate them, and then they might work


You can try but Ford won't know what to do I'm afraid

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users