Jump to content


Photo

Would Anyone Be Interested In A Guide For Using Their Android Phone/tablet With A Bluetooth Obd2 Adapter?

Torque OBD2 bluetooth

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 koosh34

koosh34

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus MK2 1.6 TDCI
  • Location: Berkshire

Posted 19 November 2012 - 02:49 PM

I've been using an app called Torque for a while now and wasn't sure if it was common knowledge around these parts. I originally set it up to diagnose some engine issues (turned out to be fuel contamination in the end) but along the way found this app and now use it everyday for displaying extra info about the car while I'm driving, using my phone as a display. Noticed that some people have used a USB OBD2 adapter with a russian program called FF2, this uses the ELM327 interface too.

Lots of info and screenshots below about all the different features:

https://play.google....wl.torque&hl=en
http://torque-bhp.com/

You can buy the bluetooth adapters all over the place, I got mine from ebay. I can't remember the particular seller where I got mine from, just make sure it is v1.5 onwards e.g. http://www.ebay.co.u...=item1c2adfb8e5

You can get mini versions but mine is an original full size one and fits in the OBD2 port in my focus mk2 24/7 and I never knock it.

If you already have an android phone and have it mounted in the car when you are driving, its a no-brainer.

Will put pics, more details, app config stuff etc if anybody is interested :)

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 Maddogpro

Maddogpro

    Feet Under The Table

  • FOC Supporters
  • 107 posts
  • Ford Model: Mk3 Mondeo tdci autoest
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 19 November 2012 - 03:59 PM

Very interested

#3 FOCA

FOCA

    Feet on the table

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,814 posts
  • Name: FOCA
  • Ford Model: Mondeo Mk3 Sleeper 194 flb.p.t.
  • Year: Non
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 19 November 2012 - 05:22 PM


Ive got it, its getting popular with people with performance cars

it has enormous potential and exellent value for money

#4 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 15,256 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 19 November 2012 - 05:59 PM

I use that too.
It's has similar functions to a scangauge but a lot cheaper with no wiring needed.

#5 johnS

johnS

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 408 posts
  • Name: John
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.6L MK1.5
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Bedfordshire

Posted 19 November 2012 - 06:32 PM

Yes I have torque and it is exceptionally well programmed for the price.

I dont have a performance car and dont have any engine trouble codes needing erasing; I just love seeing these numbers and watching how the car is changing values, its pretty interesting

#6 koosh34

koosh34

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus MK2 1.6 TDCI
  • Location: Berkshire

Posted 20 November 2012 - 10:43 AM

Yes I have torque and it is exceptionally well programmed for the price.

I dont have a performance car and dont have any engine trouble codes needing erasing; I just love seeing these numbers and watching how the car is changing values, its pretty interesting


Mine definately isn't a performance car either and I'm exactly the same. The big feature for me is all the MPG data you can get out (my focus doesn't have a trip computer, just the smaller odometer screen).

I'll start putting something together over the next few days in that case - you can set up "profiles" for your car which can be imported/exported so might put some together so people can download and use them.

#7 salsheikh

salsheikh

    Sal_Sheikh

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,554 posts
  • Name: Sal
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 Turbo D
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 20 November 2012 - 12:25 PM

i have it too but not got round to checking out all the features to it. i wanna play around with it when the cars being driven but i wont allow the wife to drive it so buggered.
if you could list all the functions it has and what it can show etc then this would be great.

#8 CheesyPeteza

CheesyPeteza

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus 2009 1.6 Zetec Auto
  • Location: Surrey

Posted 20 November 2012 - 03:09 PM

I got this one:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/271078325177

I actually got it for my old car, the main reason being it is nice and small and the odb port is inside the fuse box on my old renault so not much room in there. But with this being in China it took a good 3-4 weeks to arrive and by that time I had scrapped the renault and bought my focus.

Thankfully it fits perfect and is nice and small too. Also it seems to go into some sort of power saving mode when the bluetooth is disconnected, so no need to unplug it to save battery.

I tried all the weird settings in Torque, like fast connection which it says might not work with some adapters, but this one seems to handle it fine.

I've only had it a few days so I'm still figuring out the options. If anything the MPG/Trip and clock are good. I'd really like to see the air intake values and gear changes, but haven't figured out how to do that yet. I occasionally get low power and I want to know if it is related to air intake.

I went to Morrisons with my wife at the weekend, when I arrived in the car park I said to her, it cost us 65p to get here. Her response "Are you going to do this every trip!". "Yes love, yes I am". :P

#9 talksy

talksy

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec 1.8 TDCI 2009
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: London

Posted 27 November 2012 - 12:00 PM

Also very interested. I don't have andoid, only iPhone tho.
Didn't realise they had them wireless these days. Very clever.

#10 Stanko Petrič

Stanko Petrič

    Member

  • Members via FB
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • Location:

Posted 15 October 2014 - 06:14 PM

Enyone tryed ODB Bluetooth on Mk1? I have a 1.8 TDCi 115 version and as i read on Tourqe forum the Mk1 diesel needs SAE J1850 PWM protocol to comunicate with the ODB. There where some mods on bluetooth version of ODB2 adapter but not on the cheap chinese blue version. Has enyone secceded to connect mk1 diesel with bluetooth adapter?

 

Link to post the mod:

http://torque-bhp.co...wtopic&t=1710.1



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have




Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Torque, OBD2, bluetooth

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users