Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Diy Oil An Filter Change

Big Bad Dom

Hello,

I thought I would have a go at changing the oil and oil filter on my SMAX '08 2.2tdci. I am a bit of a newbie when it comes to this sort of thing. However I pretty successful doing it on a Ford Focus. I am having a few problems where I would appreciate some information from the more experienced of you.

First of all I cannot seem to get the oil sump screw off. It turns but refuses to come out mad.gif. The top of the screw is ok, I have no idea what it keeping it in other than worn threads. No oil is coming out so it seems to be pretty well sealed.

The second problem is I cannot locate the oil filter. It looks like it is within a compartment but where?

Your help and thoughts would be much appreciated.

Many thanks

Dom

dunno m8 but when you suss it out plz post the answers.coz ill be doing mine in a few months.

The filter should be at the back of the engine bay between the engine block and the firewall.

Personally I now use an oil suction pump (Google "Pela 6000") - which is a much easier & cleaner way of doing an oil change.

Plus it's been shown in tests to be better at removing oil & sludge than by simply using the gravity method.

Some cars (including many in the Mercedes range) don't actually have a sump plug anymore because the pump has proved to be such a better way of doing an oil change.

If your oil-burner is the same as my petrol 'max, you will have a cartridge filter rather than a spin-on one. Fortunately in the 2.5, the catridge is easily accessible at the front of the engine bay.

See my guide on how I did this here:

http://www.smaxownersclub.com/forum/showthread.php?9255-DIY-Oil-Change-(2.5T)

ive got a similar product,which i used on my mk2 galaxy tdi.as on a tdi the oil goes black pretty much instantly.

dunno whether i would use it on petrol car though.

reason is i cannot see how you can get everything out of the sump,unlike gravity where everything falls out.