Jump to content


Photo

Guide To Fitting An Aftermarket Head Unit


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#16 gforce

gforce

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 787 posts
  • Name: Gary
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST
  • Year: Non
  • Location: Tyrone

Posted 29 November 2012 - 09:47 AM

Just a note on the handbrake bypass...when I had a DVD unit in it was really for Jr on the long motorway trips so I wanted to be able to have playback when driving. It was just a matter of earthing the (pink in my case) handbrake wire to a screw on the back of the unit, so just put a ring terminal on the wire and screwed it down.

The bypass kit you mention from ebay might be just as cheap/handy as this anyway, or even the same idea, but just a heads up to others.

You said you noticed in your last photo that you could see the cage but have since straightened it up...have you a final pic of this?

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#17 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,416 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 29 November 2012 - 08:23 PM

Looked into the brake bypass mate, I know about simply earthing to a screw, but reading comments on google apparently they've changed it with newer head units now so it's not as easy as that anymore n won't work (whether it's actually true I dunno). So you have to actually connect it to the handbrake, or they've come up with a bypass I mentioned.

#18 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,416 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 29 November 2012 - 08:28 PM

Here's a better photo with me velcro fitted lol

Posted Image

Can still see the cage slightly cause the adaptor isn't seated properly. But you can only notice the cage because of the flash, otherwise you'd never notice it.

I'm not fussed at the moment cause I'm gonna have to remove the head unit a few more times in the coming days, when I fit me stalk controls adaptor again once the sellers replaced it cause they appear to have sent me a faulty one.

I also gotta remove it when I get round to fitting me reverse camera. So once the cameras in n the head unit ain't gotta come back out I'll make sure I'm happy with the way the head unit sits.

#19 Big_dom91

Big_dom91

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 271 posts
  • Name: Dominic
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 29 November 2012 - 11:19 PM

Looking good mate cannot wait to get my one sorted now :)

#20 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,416 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 29 November 2012 - 11:46 PM

Looking good mate cannot wait to get my one sorted now :)


Nice one mate

You any closer to gettings yours yet? If your still thinking of the 2400bt then at least you know your installation will be exactly the same. Only difference will be that you'll also have the bluetooth mic to wire in but that's easy enough

Have you thought of any security measures?

#21 Big_dom91

Big_dom91

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 271 posts
  • Name: Dominic
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 30 November 2012 - 01:03 AM

Well im just gunna get the 1400 instead so hopefully get it january like bet it looks boss all up n running

#22 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,416 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 30 November 2012 - 01:33 AM

Ah so your getting exactly the same as me then

Thought you wanted bluetooth though?

Don't get it from halfrauds, get it from amazon for 200quid n get the fitting kit from ebay for 60quid.

Fit it yourself n save some un-needed expense cause it's really easy

#23 Big_dom91

Big_dom91

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 271 posts
  • Name: Dominic
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 30 November 2012 - 10:23 PM

Yer after looking at this im really considerin it like was it as easy as just connecting the blocks together as such ?

#24 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,416 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 30 November 2012 - 11:41 PM

Yup as easy as that mate. No rewiring or nothing like that required just plug n play as long as you buy the fitting kit.

The hardest bit of the whole thing is sliding the !Removed! thing back into the dash with all the wires behind lol

#25 Big_dom91

Big_dom91

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 271 posts
  • Name: Dominic
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 01 December 2012 - 05:52 PM

Sound mate like ya said if its just plug an play i should easily like :P hopefully

#26 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,416 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 01 December 2012 - 06:34 PM

You should have no problem fitting it yourself then, which means you can save a fair bit of money by not buying the head unit n kit from halfrauds, n then save a further 30quid by not having them fit it for you.

#27 Jones

Jones

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Name: Sanjeev
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: London

Posted 24 October 2014 - 09:03 PM

Hi mate,

 

Can you reupload your photos please?

 

It says your photo bucket bandwidth has been reached..

 

Thanks for taking the time to write the tutorial. Hoping to put a double din in my focus tomorrow.

 

Thanks



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users