Jump to content


Show
Photo
- - - - -

Fitting Bluetooth Control Unit (Mk7)

bluetooth mk7 stereo headunit

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 haigboardman

haigboardman

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Location: Gloucestershire

Posted 09 December 2012 - 03:24 PM

Ive got a 2009 1.4 petrol Titanium, and only got the standard stereo/head unit (no bluetooth). I am just wondering if it's possible to swap the head unit for the one with bluetooth, obviously ill get all the other gubbins needed (please tell me what i need if you know). so yeah does anyone know if this is possible? ive seen the head units on ebay for around £100.

Many Thanks.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 iNath

iNath

    ST-2 Mod

  • Super Mod
  • 3,583 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Molten Orange Fiesta ST-2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 09 December 2012 - 06:18 PM

You will need:

  • Bluetooth module
  • Screw to bolt module to panel
  • Mic
  • Panel for roof (needed to cut out some of roof lining)
  • Stalk with voice control button
  • Multiline display
  • Control panel with extra buttons
  • Wiring loom(s)

and then someone with Ford IDS to activate it for you

#3 haigboardman

haigboardman

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Location: Gloucestershire

Posted 09 December 2012 - 06:39 PM

thanks, do you know of anyone who has done this and has worked by any chance? ive read alot that its worked and alot saying no chance.

cheers.

#4 iNath

iNath

    ST-2 Mod

  • Super Mod
  • 3,583 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Molten Orange Fiesta ST-2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 09 December 2012 - 06:55 PM

I've activated it for 2 people that have done the upgrade, and installed USB for many more.

#5 haigboardman

haigboardman

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Location: Gloucestershire

Posted 09 December 2012 - 06:56 PM

okay thank you very much, when ive fitted it all then am i to take it to ford for them to activate it or would they just feed me some sh*t?

#6 iNath

iNath

    ST-2 Mod

  • Super Mod
  • 3,583 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Molten Orange Fiesta ST-2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 09 December 2012 - 07:30 PM

They CAN do it but they'll either say it's not possible or charge an hours labour at least I reckon! (90+VAT?)

#7 gingertom

gingertom

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 87 posts
  • Name: Dave
  • Ford Model: Fiesta ST2
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: West Midlands

Posted 10 December 2012 - 11:41 AM

Hi

Ive done it. The head unit comes in two parts (one is screwed to the other), the control panel and the cd unit. As far as im aware the cd unit is standard its the control panel thats different.
Its reasonably easy, feeding the extra wiring on the new loom is the worst bit.

I was one of the two people Nath activated it for, nice chap, only took him 10 mins.

#8 haigboardman

haigboardman

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Location: Gloucestershire

Posted 10 December 2012 - 01:44 PM

Ah right thanks, where did u get the wiring loom? Im struggling to find the loom and the bluetooth microphone

#9 gingertom

gingertom

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 87 posts
  • Name: Dave
  • Ford Model: Fiesta ST2
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: West Midlands

Posted 10 December 2012 - 03:57 PM

Hi

I bought the loom and mic from a ford dealer, if you search on here there is a thread somewhere with the part numbers on.

I originally bought the mic for my focus but when i traded it in i took out all the bits and put them into the fiesta its the same part

#10 haigboardman

haigboardman

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Location: Gloucestershire

Posted 10 December 2012 - 06:58 PM

Okay thanks for all the info, so was there two wiring looms? Just asking because i dont think i got the wire already for the microphone, how hard was it all to fit once you got the bits?

#11 gingertom

gingertom

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 87 posts
  • Name: Dave
  • Ford Model: Fiesta ST2
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: West Midlands

Posted 13 December 2012 - 09:58 AM

Hi
Thinking back i think there were three separate parts, the main one with the bluetooth module connector on it which also goes up to the control panel, one which piugs in that and runs up the a pillar and across the roof lining for the mic and another which also plugs into the first and goes up the centre console to the usb/aux port under the gearstick.

The main loom was the hardest coz you have to get the connector up behind the dash to the control panel and theres not a lot of room, the others werent that bad

#12 thegame1512

thegame1512

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts
  • Name: B
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 28 February 2013 - 01:46 PM

Hi Tom,

Did you switch out the complete loom or did you add it to the existing loom? Do i have to cut into existing cables?

I'm looking to do the same upgrade as you did. Could you pm me how much everything in total costed?


Also did you have to replace the GEM?

#13 gingertom

gingertom

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 87 posts
  • Name: Dave
  • Ford Model: Fiesta ST2
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: West Midlands

Posted 28 February 2013 - 04:19 PM

No cutting required the loom was in addition to the wiring already in the car although one connector plug on the new main loom replaced one which went into one of the two sockets behind the head unit/control panel. The gem is updated using the ids software Nath talked about. He updated mine only took about 10 minutes.

#14 neps

neps

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 119 posts
  • Name: Espen
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 28 February 2013 - 09:33 PM

Does the required IDS coding differ when you upgrade from non-bluetooth to bluetooth, from the coding needed from bluetooth to bluetooth+usb?

 

The latter is like this:

 

 

IDS:
 The 3 parameters are:
Voice Control: select Basic Voice Recognition
Accessory USB unit: select With USB and iPod Function
Bluetooth handsfree: select BT/VC Phone Interface + USB connection


#15 gingertom

gingertom

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 87 posts
  • Name: Dave
  • Ford Model: Fiesta ST2
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: West Midlands

Posted 01 March 2013 - 09:52 AM

I got someone to do this for me. I think its just a metter of ticking the right options you require in the ids



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users