Do Not Sell My Personal Information

How Winter Prepared Are You?

b1g_dav3

Howdy folks, well after reading about the horrendous accident on the M6 today and how drivers have been stranded for upwards of 6 hours, I thought maybe I should give a helping hand in having our own forum members aware and hopefully prepared this winter, as we all know last winter people were stranded not just for hours, but overnight and such. I'm not an expert or anything, but I have been in the Scouts until recently, I have watched a fair few videos on YouTube outlining priorities and kit that you may need (and by this I mean multiple part videos of up to an hour a piece and 5 parts long - I have a fun life) and a good deal is common sense. Oh, and I've watched every episode of Bear Grylls, but I wouldn't really go off that if honest... Well let's get into it then!

Priorities of Survival

Now I don't want to sound like we're all going out in our cars into the wilderness or anything, but think about it, you have a commute that's 15 - 20 miles, and the snow suddenly drops, and you're stranded overnight, even just a mile from home.Chances are, it's going to hit freezing, hypothermia can set in quite easily in these conditions and so you need to be prepared. Even if you only commute locally. Remember, if you're not being proactive in your own care, you are part of the problem.

So, your main priorities are food, water, warmth and if possible, communication.

You need to have these sorted in your car no matter what. Let's face it, a blanket, a box of cereal bars, a bottle of water and a mobile phone aren't going to use a lot of room, and do you want to end up getting into such a situation where you need those things, and don't have them?