Jump to content


Photo

Stereo Upgrade


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#16 Mike77

Mike77

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 923 posts
  • Name: Mike
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCI Titanium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 26 December 2012 - 07:53 PM

hi chaps,

just an update on my progress. me new Focus turned up sat :D along with a jvc kw-av60bt along with a fitting kit and facia adapter the same as Brigante's,
decided against the full facia in the end as i will be attemping a dummy face plate aswell ;)

Planning on fitting it all tomorow once ive recovered from all the xmas spirit i've had!!

will post up some pics once im done


Lol, same radio as mine, and u started fitting it today, been a bit of a nightmare really, as I got the reversing camera also, but the dam wire isn't long enough to reach the back of the headunit. Also got to wire into the reverse light, and fit all the wires for the amp and sub, but I've carbon wrapped the 2 bits of the surround and got the radio ready to slot into place,,, the headache continues tomorrow lol.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#17 Delankster

Delankster

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Name: kevin
  • Ford Model: Mondeo Titanium X Sport
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Kent

Posted 26 December 2012 - 07:57 PM

the plan is something similar. Will be fitting the stereo normally tomorow, then once im back to work next week will start the butchering of the 6000 cd.

im hopping that with the removable face plate of the jvc i wont have to be so drastic cutting the old head unit apart.

#18 Delankster

Delankster

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Name: kevin
  • Ford Model: Mondeo Titanium X Sport
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Kent

Posted 26 December 2012 - 08:00 PM

started fitting it today

cool did you get the steering wheel adaptor lead aswell ?

#19 Mike77

Mike77

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 923 posts
  • Name: Mike
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCI Titanium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 26 December 2012 - 08:31 PM

Yeah that all works, confused me a little though because it has a 3mm jack plug on it, as does my Mic for the Bluetooth but only one hole in the back of the head unit,,, but found out I don't need to use the one for the steering wheel thing, so happy days.

#20 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,408 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 26 December 2012 - 10:54 PM

Alright mike..

What you mean your camera wire isn't long enough to reach the head unit? Mine was plenty long enough.

What route you taking?

#21 Mike77

Mike77

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 923 posts
  • Name: Mike
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCI Titanium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 26 December 2012 - 11:44 PM

Alright pal, I'm about 12inches short, just went through the tailgate, through the grommet into the roof, along the roof under the headlining and down passenger footwell and it stops under the glovebox :-\

#22 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,408 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 26 December 2012 - 11:47 PM

:wacko: weird, is it a 6 metre cable? mine seemed ample and think I had at least a foot or 2 of excess

so you used the same route i did in my guide?

am i right in saying you've got the number plate holder camera?

#23 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,408 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 26 December 2012 - 11:57 PM

oh and on the subject of vinyl wrapping, for a reasonable fee to be agreed, i can now offer carbon dipping as a service if anyone is interested. see the wing mirror covers in the buy and sell section as examples of the quality of my work. much better finish than wrapping.

#24 Mike77

Mike77

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 923 posts
  • Name: Mike
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCI Titanium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 27 December 2012 - 01:11 AM

Yeah mate, I got the reg plate holder with the camera in. Think it may have been a 5 metre cable, because I can't see any other route that would save on wire, as I said, I'm a bit ocd like that, so looks like I'm gonna have to go to maplins in the morning see if I can find a way of extending it. Any idea what I should be asking for ??? Also, I think I have the right idea here but just wanna run it by you. For the camera wiring in the boot, I have 2 wires left to connect, 1 red 1 black I think, but not to much wire to play with. Were is the best place to connect these. I sure they need connecting to the reverse light wires, which I'm hoping I can locate in the grommet between the tailgate and the roof of the car... Is this correct. Also, is there a way to display the rear view camera whilst driving, a bit like a rear view mirror if you get what I mean...?

#25 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,408 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 27 December 2012 - 02:44 PM

!Removed! phone double posting when I havent even finished typing.

Disregard this post n read the one bellow when its finished.

Really wish there was a delete button not just an edit button.

#26 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,408 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 27 December 2012 - 02:45 PM

Strange one that mate cause i thought 6metre was a standard length they supplied with the cameras. Don't see any way a 5 metre cable could reach that far. Was thinking maybe its cause your camera is further down the boot lid it has slightly further than mine to travel. But even then a 6 metre should be long enough so you must have 5metre.

I'm not sure exactly what to ask for mate, I just been called it video cable. So you've already routed it around the boot lid, threaded it through the rubber conduit, into the car, around the edge of the roof liner and its currently in the passenger footwell area? If so, what I'd do is purchase a short length of video cable if they do it, 1-2metres maybe and cut the plug off your cable currently in the footwell if you havent done already. Then cut one of the plugs off the new video cable and splice the video cables together to extend it, rather than pee about unrouting it. But if you'd profer, just unroute it and get a 6 or 7metre video cable n do it all again.

With the red and black wire from the camera, yup it needs to go to the reverse light. But the length i was supplied with myself was only
1.5metre which is way short. So if you've read my guide you'll know I had to extend mine by a few metre.

Once extended, route it the same way as the other wire into the car via the rubber conduit between the boot lid n car, but then what you do is remove a few trim pieces in the boot and route it down to the reverse light. If you go on my guide I've took photos of all the trim pieces to remove.

Concening having the camera on while driving, yup you can. On my head unit there is an option in the menu to turn it on while driving, except if you do this, you'll just get a black screen as the camera only has power while in reverse. So what you need to do is also wire it to a permanant live on ignition feed and install a switch, so you can swith the camera on n off as you please when not in reverse. If doing this though you really wanna fit a relay as well.

I'm still in the process of wiring it up to be used when not just in reverse myself, thought i'd done it all n had it working, but then while on the motorway i discovered that turning the camera on by the switch with the way i've currently got it wired, some how cuts out the cruise control. So i've got a bit more wiring to do yet once i completely suss it out n get time to do it.

#27 Mike77

Mike77

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 923 posts
  • Name: Mike
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCI Titanium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 27 December 2012 - 03:31 PM

Cheers for the reply, only just spotted it, and I was up and at it for 10 this morning, basically done what youve said anyway, everything is now connected, just waiting on my extension for the video cable, mums gone to pick it up for me lol. They sell a 1.5m extension in maplins, so once I get that, i can test it,,, the tension is killin me haha. Will update later.

#28 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,408 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 27 December 2012 - 07:08 PM

have you extended the twin core red n black wire and spliced it into the reverse light? Soon as you got the extension you should be laughing mate.

oh yeah, on the wiring loom that came with head unit itself, is there an odd wire on it labeled 'reverse gear signal input'? should be violet/white in colour i think.

#29 Mike77

Mike77

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 923 posts
  • Name: Mike
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCI Titanium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 27 December 2012 - 08:04 PM

Do I need to connect that wire ??? I'm up and running, but the camera isnt switching automatically when selecting reverse, I have to manually select camera.

#30 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,408 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 27 December 2012 - 08:17 PM

Yes mate, I found this out after writing up the guide. The reverse gear signal input wire also needs to go to the reverse light.

So what i did, was get a long length of twin core wire but only use the red wire of it.

Wire that to the reverse gear signal wire, route that the same way of the video wire along the roof liner, and then route it down into the boot where i spliced into the live feed for the camera.

Then to set it up in the head unit, you need the camera turned off in the menu, but then in the settings menu, find where it says camera polarity and you need to set this to battery. The head unit will now automatically turn the camera on when reverse gear is selected.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users