Jump to content


Show
Photo

Eonon D5105 Help Please

help please black screen

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 billybob66

billybob66

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts
  • Ford Model: focus 1.6 ghia
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 29 December 2012 - 06:17 PM

hello all,

i am in need of help with the eonon d5105 that i got off fleebay.
the problem i have is when a cd or dvd is put in the unit the screen stays black with a warning in the middle.
do not watchthis while driving is what it says, to get rid of this you should just be able to touch the screen for a few seconds and it should go.
i have been told to attach the brake wire to the nuetral wire but i have no brake wire.

so has any one got this unit and do they know of a cure.

please help if you can.

billybob66 ;) :) :)

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 salsheikh

salsheikh

    Sal_Sheikh

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,550 posts
  • Name: Sal
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 Turbo D
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 29 December 2012 - 06:33 PM

i think what you need to do is earth it so it thinks the handbrake is on, i had this issue with my pioneer unit.

#3 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,405 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 29 December 2012 - 06:50 PM

If you look on my guide to fitting an aftermarket head unit found in my signature you will see the steps you need to take to connect it to the handbrake.

Or as Sal says, sometimes you can just earth it. But apparantly on newer head units simply earthing doesnt work, so if you want the dvd player to work while driving you'll need to purchase a 'bypass'

#4 billybob66

billybob66

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts
  • Ford Model: focus 1.6 ghia
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 29 December 2012 - 07:17 PM

cheers guys for the quick replys, i tried to earth it but no joy.
i will follow your guide brigante on how to fit a new head unit tomorrow.
as we both have the same model it makes it easier to follow.

but just in case that dont work where can i find a bypass and what does it do??

sorry for sounding thick but i am just that. :( :(

again thanks for your help on this.

billybob66. :) :)

#5 Mike77

Mike77

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 905 posts
  • Name: Mike
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCI Titanium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 29 December 2012 - 07:35 PM

I just spliced my handbrake wire into the earth cable in the radio loom, works fine :-)

#6 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,405 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 29 December 2012 - 07:36 PM

Im not too sure on where to purchase a bypass, i'm just going by what i've read on google. But apparantly you can pick em up cheap enough on ebay. Basically it tricks the head unit into thinking the handbrake is always on. So instead of wiring to the handbrake, you wire to the bypass.

Am i right in saying the wiring loom that came with your head unit had a really long wire on it with a splice block on the end of it like mine?

If so, its this wire that needs to go to the handbrake. Its easy enough to route. You need to remove the head unit surround, demister switch surround, gear leaver surround and lift up the hand brake gator, sounds a lot but its all very easy and simply unscrews or unclips.

Once all thats out the way you can pull and route the long wire down from the head unit all the way to the handbrake where you can splice block it to the hand brake wire.

If you go on my guide i've pictured all this in detail and where you can locate the hand brake wire. The part of the guide you need is about 2 thirds down i think

#7 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,378 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 30 December 2012 - 03:38 AM

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item25691dcd73

Please note:As a police Officer I do not officially condone the usage of a DVD system in the front of a vehicle while driving, Link posted for information/novelty value only.
;)
(official sounding crap out of the way)

#8 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,967 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 30 December 2012 - 07:27 AM

just beware and look in the rear view mirror if they see it playing they can stop you

#9 billybob66

billybob66

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts
  • Ford Model: focus 1.6 ghia
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 30 December 2012 - 03:16 PM

got it sorted now so a big thanks to all you guys who helped me out.
there is an option on the unit that i have pressed i dont know how many times that did nothing.
but by pure accident i kept my thumb on this option for a good ten seconds and got the chioce of brake on or off.
changed this to off and now i have control of the cd player for the first time, happy days. B) B)

again thanks to all who posted, billybob66. ;) :D


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have




Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: help please, black screen

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users