Jump to content


Show
Photo

New Dvd Satnav Unit Fitted (Pics)


  • Please log in to reply
184 replies to this topic

#151 theduke

theduke

    Hairy Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 263 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Focus Mk 2.5 Zetec
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: RhonddaCynonTaff

Posted 18 June 2013 - 07:22 AM

ooh this is on my christmas list :D



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#152 Glentoran-Andy

Glentoran-Andy

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Name: Andy
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Down

Posted 18 June 2013 - 10:06 AM

Looks really smart. I think this has been added to the wish list!

#153 Scotty96

Scotty96

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
  • Ford Model: Mondeo

Posted 18 June 2013 - 02:42 PM

I'm a member of the stoc and was involved in a group buy for this type of head unit before Christmas, I have to say its a great bit of kit, the only thing that lets it down is the hands free

#154 gazsutton

gazsutton

    Clueless!

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Name: Gareth
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus Zetec S
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Leicestershire

Posted 20 June 2013 - 08:41 AM

im defo interested in one of these they look good, just waiting for funds... however

baby due in 6 weeks :wacko:  #nervous!!

but good excuse as when the baby is a little older i can swing mothers views round and say the kid can watch a film lol :P



#155 ktm2009

ktm2009

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Name: matt
  • Ford Model: focus
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Nottinghamshire

Posted 03 September 2013 - 07:45 PM

why does it say wireless camara when it has wire to it, is it me being dumb...have you got a link for which head unit and cmara goes together?

 



#156 vince_13

vince_13

    Vince

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 522 posts
  • Name: Andrew
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Staffordshire
Contributor

Posted 04 September 2013 - 04:53 PM

hi matt

 

the camera that you can buy with the unit is either wired or wireless, i bought the wireless one due to me being lazy and didnt want to run the cable up the boot lid and into the car and down to the radio, so i wired the transmitter into the rear lights in the boot lid then wired the reciever into the radio ignition (both of which are 12v)

 

which ever one you buy they both plug into the 2 connectors on the back of the radio, just depends how much work you want to put in (i dont belive there much difference in price)

 

also make sure you get the right shape for your model of car, the mk2 (old shape) has a different shape number plate light fitting than the mk2.5



#157 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 13,965 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 04 September 2013 - 05:41 PM

To fit the MK2-

 

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item4cf56fcbe3

 

To fit the MK2.5-

 

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item1c33c6e6b4



#158 demmeister

demmeister

    Member

  • Members via FB
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Name: Brendan
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 04 July 2014 - 11:39 AM

I've bought one of these stereos from ebay and although it's definitely the right size and shape, it won't fit into the space that the old stereo was in because the clips on the sides are different. Does anyone know how I can sort this problem out? Cheers!



#159 Rk6246

Rk6246

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Name: Ross
  • Ford Model: Galaxy
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Cornwall

Posted 04 July 2014 - 12:38 PM

Do you have a photo of the radio and the hole?


Sent from my iPhone using Ford OC

#160 STEADS

STEADS

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 821 posts
  • Name: NEIL
  • Ford Model: FOCUS 1.8 TDCI TITANIUM AND 2.0 TDCI
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 04 July 2014 - 02:55 PM

Can you not unscrew the retaining clips and just sit it in done that with a few radios before should hold on the rubber piece at the rear that slides into a hole .

#161 demmeister

demmeister

    Member

  • Members via FB
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Name: Brendan
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 04 July 2014 - 02:57 PM

Sorry yeah, should have posted those first :)

 

This is the hole:

http://tinypic.com/r/t87z47/8

 

This is the original stereo from the front and side:

http://tinypic.com/r/347jw9x/8

http://tinypic.com/r/2q2hjxc/8

 

This is the new stereo from the front and side:

 

http://tinypic.com/r/wjfcip/8

http://tinypic.com/r/2hnq8ig/8

 

This is me trying to insert the new stereo into the hole and the obstructing piece of bracket:

 

http://tinypic.com/r/1zfioax/8

 

Thanks for any assistance you can provide!



#162 Rk6246

Rk6246

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Name: Ross
  • Ford Model: Galaxy
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Cornwall

Posted 04 July 2014 - 03:03 PM

That is close, it looks like it might be a careful job with a Dremel on the existing surround?


Sent from my iPhone using Ford OC

#163 demmeister

demmeister

    Member

  • Members via FB
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Name: Brendan
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 04 July 2014 - 03:28 PM

I've just been out and removed the bracket completely and it does slide nicely into place. Friction won't hold it in though, it pops out slightly so I guess I need to find a way to hold it in place. I quickly rang an installation place and they've said that there might be some kind of "cage" (I think that was the word he used) that I might need to put in first.

 

An additional question: I removed two cables from the back of the old stereo (well, one cable and one bundle of cables terminating in a plastic connector). The bundle of cables very obviously connects to the back of my new stereo but the single cable (which I think is the radio antenna) doesn't seem to connect to my new stereo.

 

This is a pic of the back of my new stereo: http://tinypic.com/r/rwjjt2/8

Any ideas where I might plug the radio antenna in?



#164 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 13,965 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 04 July 2014 - 03:55 PM

An aerial connector would go to the black tube top right on the picture.
You'd need an iso to din adaptor.

Sent from my S5

#165 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 13,965 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 04 July 2014 - 03:58 PM

Also from looking at the connectors on your radio, they are different to standard Ford quadlock connectors.
Do you have an adaptor or different wiring to all other Fords?
TBH it looks like an American or Australian/Asian model.

Sent from my S5

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users