Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Ford Sony Radios

radio

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 simo222

simo222

    Newbie

  • Members via FB
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Ford Model: mk 5 1.25 ghia
  • Location: Clare

Posted 10 January 2013 - 06:39 PM

today when i went to drive my fiesta my radio wouldn't work so im going to get rid of it. I was looking at the ford sony radio from a mk2 focus ghia would it be easy to fit and be a straight swap?

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

#2 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Lawman

  • Super Mod
  • 12,838 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 10 January 2013 - 07:55 PM

I assume you mean one of these?

http://pages.ebay.co...id=370717832521

Make sure it's a Focus one and not for a mondeo as they are deeper, wider and the fascia is angled for the mondeo dash.
Other than that the wiring etc is the same.

You can also find 6 disc ones occasionally, I got one and it's a lovely bit of kit.

#3 simo222

simo222

    Newbie

  • Members via FB
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Ford Model: mk 5 1.25 ghia
  • Location: Clare

Posted 10 January 2013 - 09:58 PM

would there be a 6 cd changer with your radio?

#4 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Lawman

  • Super Mod
  • 12,838 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 10 January 2013 - 10:26 PM

This is like the one i own.
6 disc changer head unit so no external changers needed.

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item4ac017cee2

#5 simo222

simo222

    Newbie

  • Members via FB
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Ford Model: mk 5 1.25 ghia
  • Location: Clare

Posted 10 January 2013 - 11:39 PM

thanks for that :)

#6 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Lawman

  • Super Mod
  • 12,838 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 10 January 2013 - 11:41 PM

Welcome anytime mate.

#7 gforce

gforce

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 755 posts
  • Name: Gary
  • Ford Model: Ford Mondeo ST 2.2 TDCi
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Tyrone

Posted 11 January 2013 - 12:52 PM

Hang on, is this for the Fiesta in your avatar pic?

If your swapping out an old style 6000CD, they are actually a 1.5 DIN, and have different wiring connectors also, so would be far from a straight swap.

#8 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Lawman

  • Super Mod
  • 12,838 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 12 January 2013 - 05:37 AM

Tilt.
I couldn't acertain the model from the picture.
Yep, the older style radio is the best you can go for unless you go aftermarket.
You can get the 6006 version which has an in built 6 disc changer.

http://pages.ebay.co...id=221173629864


#9 simo222

simo222

    Newbie

  • Members via FB
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Ford Model: mk 5 1.25 ghia
  • Location: Clare

Posted 13 January 2013 - 01:20 AM

i got an alpine its all good

#10 Fiesta1.25

Fiesta1.25

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 288 posts
  • Name: alan
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: WestLothian
Contributor

Posted 30 March 2013 - 04:02 PM

Sorry to jump into this thread, but was hoping someone could advise me of my oem options... I have pre facelift fiesta with the 4500 triple deck head unit, but was wondering if its at all possible to straight swap with any other ford units?

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users