Jump to content


Show
Photo

Wiring Diagram For 2006 Glow Plugs


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 john34

john34

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 35 posts
  • Ford Model: s max mondeo
  • Location: Staffordshire

Posted 11 January 2013 - 07:27 PM

hello

can any body help me find a wiring diagram for the glow plugs as my 60 amp slow blow fuse keeps blowing

glow plugs seem to be ok the glow plug rail is not grounding out so i am a bit stumped relay seems ok

its a strange one lol

thanks a lot

john

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,332 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 12 January 2013 - 05:27 AM

What model and year is the car?

#3 john34

john34

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 35 posts
  • Ford Model: s max mondeo
  • Location: Staffordshire

Posted 12 January 2013 - 02:38 PM

sorry forgot

its a 2006 06 reg 2.0 tdci 115

#4 stef123

stef123

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Management
  • 4,919 posts
  • Name: Stef
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST TDCI
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 12 January 2013 - 04:51 PM

Have you measured the resistance of each plug?

#5 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,332 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 12 January 2013 - 04:53 PM

Here you go then.

Posted Image

#6 john34

john34

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 35 posts
  • Ford Model: s max mondeo
  • Location: Staffordshire

Posted 12 January 2013 - 08:14 PM

Hi

Thanks very much for the diagram it's very good but I have Haynes

I needed ford diagram as Haynes is a typical and not the same

But thanks for that

I have tested resistance on plugs with multimeter

Continuity test and it comes up 0.6 ohms that's each plug out the engine

I have put them back in and put rail on but took the poss wire off rail and put fuse back in
And it has not blown so it is the rail I have used a wire with 20 amp fuse and put from poss
Of battery and put it to the rail and it pops the fuse

So some where its going to ground

How can I test each plug as they all glow nice when each one is put to the battery

Thanks a lot for your help

John

#7 Dan62

Dan62

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 401 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Location: London
Contributor

Posted 13 January 2013 - 10:40 AM

\



#8 stef123

stef123

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Management
  • 4,919 posts
  • Name: Stef
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST TDCI
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 13 January 2013 - 10:46 AM

Im sure Haynes quotes something about each plug drawing about 15A? Ive still got my old set from the 2.2 that i could measure to confirm this for you - both engines probably use the same plug anyway.

#9 john34

john34

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 35 posts
  • Ford Model: s max mondeo
  • Location: Staffordshire

Posted 13 January 2013 - 11:12 AM

Hi

Thanks for your replys it all sound true and good but my car did work and Haynes engine fuse box F8 and ford have it as a 60 amp slow blow so it is right

I have taken them all out and rail off

Tested each plug on battery with 20 amp fuse and all work no problem

But am I right in saying if they are all in and I put my 20 amp wire on the rail the fuse should not blow but the plugs won't work because they don't have enoght amps to work

I have brought a new glow plug to test it's ohms and that is 0.8

So does any one know how to test these plugs

And where are all the engine earth straps so I can check them

Thanks a lot

John



#10 stef123

stef123

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Management
  • 4,919 posts
  • Name: Stef
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST TDCI
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 13 January 2013 - 11:47 AM

0.8 ohms @12V would theoretically work out to 15A a plug - which is correct (given the 60A fuse)

with all 4 plugs connected to the rail, they will blow a 20A fuse - the fuse is simply an over current device.

it does sound like 4 new plugs will solve your problems though

#11 Dan62

Dan62

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 401 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Location: London
Contributor

Posted 13 January 2013 - 11:48 AM

\



#12 john34

john34

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 35 posts
  • Ford Model: s max mondeo
  • Location: Staffordshire

Posted 14 January 2013 - 11:24 AM

Hi all

As a update I changed my plugs and all is working again now

Thanks a lot for all your help

John

#13 stef123

stef123

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Management
  • 4,919 posts
  • Name: Stef
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST TDCI
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 14 January 2013 - 11:25 AM

Hi all

As a update I changed my plugs and all is working again now

Thanks a lot for all your help

John


Good news then, thanks for the update John


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users