Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Tdci Fuel Pump Tools

George Lawrence

I was wondering if anyone out there would be able to point me in the right direction in getting hold of a pump sprocket locking tool. I have got another pump with the same codes as the one on my motor, but have been told that you really need this tool. Hire or buy I don't mind. I live in Hertfordshire in case anyone fairly close has one. your help would be thankfully received.

Many thanks

George

Sorry, it is the fuel injection pump.

George

Unfortunately mine is a Delphi pump and I have been told this one will not do the job. I have hunted around but can't seem to find one for the Delphi pump. Also, I have spoken to a mechanic and he has advised me to get rid of the car, as once you have trouble with these pumps all the small filings go right through the system. He said it will cause problems with the injectors and the rest of the system. This sounds plausible to me ( I am no mechanic ) But surely there are many other tdci owners who have had the pump changed and all was back to normal ? I dont know what to do now, repair it or get rid. Any advice From you Clive or anyone else would be most welcome.

Cheers

George

TBH i'd try another mechanic.

Pumps can throw crap through the system but i've not heard of one frag the whole system.

May be worth biting the bullet and trying a Ford Mechanic for at least advice.

Saying that, even good reconditioned pumps are going for £500+ on eBay.

Try here http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/FORD-MONDEO-2-0-TDI-TDCI-TIMING-PUMP-REMOVAL-TOOL-/300787413692?pt=UK_Car_Interior_Accessories&hash=item460853b2bc for the tools you require.