Jump to content


Show
Photo

Compatible Stereos?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 mikeb185

mikeb185

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts
  • Ford Model: 06 focus climate estate
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 23 January 2013 - 01:09 PM

HI i have just purchase a 06 focus estate with a ford 6000 stereo.

i was wondering what other ford stereos are compatible as i would like 1 with usb, dab and maybe even sat nav/ dvd.

Cheers and hope you can help :)

mike

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 14,667 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 23 January 2013 - 01:34 PM

no reason that they shouldn't be interchangeable, but for some you may need a second aerial and a bit of wiring...

If you look in your audio manual, you should find the variants there. If you cant, it should be online somewhere.

Why don't you look at aftermarket kits? you may find its cheaper for a start!

...Oh and welcome along :)

#3 Mike77

Mike77

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 899 posts
  • Name: Mike
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCI Titanium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 23 January 2013 - 02:28 PM

As stated above, best option for all your needs is to replace with an aftermarket jobby. You will need a fitting kit, wiring harness to keep the stalk controls, and obviously a headunit, double din being the best option.

#4 mikeb185

mikeb185

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts
  • Ford Model: 06 focus climate estate
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 23 January 2013 - 02:32 PM

do you think this would be hard to install?

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item2c6bd40395

#5 Mike77

Mike77

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 899 posts
  • Name: Mike
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCI Titanium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 23 January 2013 - 03:21 PM

If that is the same shape as your headunit, then it should just be a plug and play. Do some research on the radio first, ask around for feedback on ppl who have used one.its an expensive thing to be swapping, so getting it right first time will save money and hassle. Just done mine, and in total, it cost over 300. So its worth being 100% certain on your choice.

#6 mikeb185

mikeb185

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts
  • Ford Model: 06 focus climate estate
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 23 January 2013 - 03:33 PM

what 1 did you use out of interest mate?

#7 Mike77

Mike77

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 899 posts
  • Name: Mike
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCI Titanium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 23 January 2013 - 03:58 PM

Have a look through my post from a while back, think it was called 'aftermarket headunit' there is a link in there to the unit I bought. Its a jvc something or other lol. Can't remember the model number. Only thing it doesn't have is sat nav, and dab, but I wasn't interested in these.

#8 mikeb185

mikeb185

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts
  • Ford Model: 06 focus climate estate
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 23 January 2013 - 08:21 PM

I've fitted loads of aftermarket stereos before, just wanna keep it looking original with all the features I'm after :)

#9 gforce

gforce

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 774 posts
  • Name: Gary
  • Ford Model: Ford Mondeo ST 2.2 TDCi
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Tyrone

Posted 23 January 2013 - 10:09 PM

Well your 06 will have the rectangular shape stereo rather than that one you linked yeah? It would be straight swap but you'll either need to change your fascia to one from a Mk2.5 facelift (08-11 model).

I've always liked the look of the one I've linked below, in terms of keeping it as OEM looking as possible. Has everything but DAB really. I've just grabbed the first link by the way to give you an idea, if interested you might wanna go digging for the best value option. And as mentioned above, first hand reviews would be great if you could find anybody.

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item337da79ff8

If you're considering fitting the genuine Ford Denso Sat Nav unit, good luck! It's a massive job, complete dash-out job to install the required loom etc. Not to mention the difficulty and expense of trying to source all the parts!

#10 mikeb185

mikeb185

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts
  • Ford Model: 06 focus climate estate
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 23 January 2013 - 10:57 PM

Cheers looks good or tho not too sure about the quality of un branded stereos. If I have to modify it that much I don't think I will bother with the denso unit!

#11 gforce

gforce

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 774 posts
  • Name: Gary
  • Ford Model: Ford Mondeo ST 2.2 TDCi
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Tyrone

Posted 23 January 2013 - 11:30 PM

http://www.focusstoc...nso +retro +fit

Bit of bed-time reading for you...a project/guide thread from the ST Owners Club forum of a guy who did a complete retro-fit Denso install. Impressive work to say the least!

I know what you're sayin about unbranded stuff too, always feels a risk, and a potentially costly one!

#12 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 13,940 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 23 January 2013 - 11:49 PM

Imho I wouldn't bother with Dab.
It's old tech that was never operated to it's maximum potential.
Quickest way to add Dab is a Pure Highway unit connected to an aux input.
The way I do it is with an internet radio site through my phone, full access to all UK FM channels and apart from the occasional buffering pause it's all good.
Sound quality is good enough for me(and I'm pretty fussy about that sort of thing).
Just waiting for 4G to finally come to anywhere south of Bristol and using my Mi-Fi and then the sound quality will be even better.
Personal choices of course.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users