Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Ford 4500 Stereo Problem

FORD

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 baitman

baitman

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts
  • Ford Model: Mondeo 2.0 tdci estate
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 31 January 2013 - 11:21 PM

hi there.
my wife has a 2004 ford fiesta and it has a 4500 stereo. it looks like it is in three sections.

there is a problem with the volume control. it took a little bang and now it does not work. it will turn on/turn off, but the rotary volume control seems to not work.
i have checked to see if the button is pushed in too far but it seems ok. you can still feel the button clicking as it is turned, just no change to the volume level.

so then...
is this repairable. can the separate units be easily changed. if this isnt an affordable option is it easy to replace this with another ford unit such as the 6000 size issues?].

many thanks in advance.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 15,822 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 01 February 2013 - 01:13 AM

Hi does it look like this-
Posted Image

Or this-
Posted Image

If the first one it's more fiddly as you need fascia adaptors etc, other owners with this model radio will be better for advice.

If it's the second one then you can fit either of these two as a straight swap (all you may have to do for the second one [6006E] is seperate the radio loom plugs as the rear socket layout is different, they just easily unclip from each other)

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item1e76d3c2d7

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item5652494cd0

#3 baitman

baitman

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts
  • Ford Model: Mondeo 2.0 tdci estate
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 02 February 2013 - 07:50 AM

its the first one. is this all one unit, or is it three separate sections that look like one unit?
if getting the original stereo fixed [making the volume button work again] isnt an option it will mean replacing that part of the three units, or replacing the whole lot with another ford stereo if its possible to use one big one to fill the gap left by the three small components???
is this feasible?

#4 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 15,822 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 02 February 2013 - 07:56 AM

The radio is all one piece and offer replacing as a whole unit.
You may be able to get the button fixed but any listings on eBay for repair services will cost more than an eBay replacement tbh.

#5 baitman

baitman

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts
  • Ford Model: Mondeo 2.0 tdci estate
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 02 February 2013 - 08:46 AM

cheers Stoney.
would you know if there is a simple idiot proof step by step guide to removing the panels to access and remove/replace the stereo.

i take it the easiest option would be to replace like for like. would some other model fit without any fannying around?

#6 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 15,822 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 02 February 2013 - 09:32 AM

Someone with a fiesta of the same year should be able to advise better but I believe the trim around the radio just unclips.
Some have changed their radios but it involves cutting out the bars that give the radio the three piece appearance.

#7 experiax10

experiax10

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Name: nicolo
  • Ford Model: fiesta (GTR bodykit)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: RhonddaCynonTaff

Posted 02 February 2013 - 09:52 AM

Hi mate. I have exactly the same radio. Mine had exactly the same problem when i bought it just over a year ago. Took it back to the dealer and the they fixed it for me but ended up breaking the heater switches in the process somehow. Anyway, mine has now broken again think its just a common fault with the radio tbh. Some 1 put a link on here a while back of a nice all in 1 player on ebay that you can replace it with. Ill check for the link now.

#8 experiax10

experiax10

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Name: nicolo
  • Ford Model: fiesta (GTR bodykit)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: RhonddaCynonTaff

Posted 02 February 2013 - 09:59 AM

This is the 1 i was recommended to get.

http://item.mobilewe...Id=170970682483
Im no expert with these things mind, and im in the same position as you mine needs sorting too.

#9 baitman

baitman

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts
  • Ford Model: Mondeo 2.0 tdci estate
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 03 February 2013 - 10:53 PM

This is the 1 i was recommended to get.

http://item.mobilewe...Id=170970682483
Im no expert with these things mind, and im in the same position as you mine needs sorting too.

thanks for that.
the original advert says its compatible with the ford connector but its not clear if its a simple fit to replace the ford stereo with this model... ???

#10 Mordey

Mordey

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 208 posts
  • Ford Model: 2010 Fiesta zs

Posted 04 February 2013 - 05:36 PM

Here's a website that shows you how to and where all the screws and clips are.
http://www.fitaudio....ntry&EntryID=69

#11 Nathan_M

Nathan_M

    Too much time on the boards

  • Members via Twitter
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 825 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Flame Mk6
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Cornwall

Posted 05 February 2013 - 01:48 AM

Have you tried turning the automatic volume thing off that raises and lowers the volume dependent on environment noise? I reckon that might work otherwise its a pain in the rear trying to get it out, i never understand why ford puts a keycode on this system because for someone to go to the efforts of removing it in the first place deserve to keep the radio. ^_^

#12 experiax10

experiax10

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Name: nicolo
  • Ford Model: fiesta (GTR bodykit)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: RhonddaCynonTaff

Posted 05 February 2013 - 03:27 PM

Mine won't even knock on now the on/off/volume button is completely knackered. :(

#13 baitman

baitman

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts
  • Ford Model: Mondeo 2.0 tdci estate
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 09 February 2013 - 08:49 AM

Here's a website that shows you how to and where all the screws and clips are.
http://www.fitaudio....ntry&EntryID=69

very helpful, many thanks. it does look a proper ballache, though :wacko:

#14 baitman

baitman

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts
  • Ford Model: Mondeo 2.0 tdci estate
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 09 February 2013 - 08:51 AM

Have you tried turning the automatic volume thing off that raises and lowers the volume dependent on environment noise? I reckon that might work otherwise its a pain in the rear trying to get it out, i never understand why ford puts a keycode on this system because for someone to go to the efforts of removing it in the first place deserve to keep the radio. ^_^

didnt even know there was an auto level thingy, will look at this.

agree with your thoughts. if you want it that much, your welcome to it :P

#15 baitman

baitman

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts
  • Ford Model: Mondeo 2.0 tdci estate
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 27 February 2013 - 03:52 PM

i had a pm from experiax 10 and he included a video that is on youtube. the video shows a guy removing the trim to access the stereo and then removing the stereo. many thanks again :)



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users