Jump to content


Photo

Myford Touch / Sync

myford touch sync focus fiesta ford display

  • Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

#1 Haz93

Haz93

    Serial Poster

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 453 posts
  • Name: Harrison
  • Ford Model: Audi A5 Cabriolet + Mini Cooper
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Warwickshire
Contributor

Posted 11 February 2013 - 03:16 PM

Does anyone know when the MyFord Touch system is going to be released in the UK??

Alot of google search pages say it was meant to be introduced late 2012 but obviously there is still no sign of it.
I ask because I really want to get the new Focus ST but I would really like to have the 8 inch touch screen that is standard in the US. The back up camera and current sat nav look really silly on the standard 4 or 5 inch screen. I think they should offer the bigger screen even if the Sync system isn't up to scratch in the UK yet

this video explains it a bit more



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...



Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 20,664 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 11 February 2013 - 03:44 PM

My understanding is that it is USA only and will not be a UK accessory....

#3 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,341 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3.5 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 11 February 2013 - 08:04 PM

In the USA , they have constant problems , and are not fixing them very quickly.But i agree there is no reason why they can offer the larger screen , it's one of the first things that caught my eye when i first saw the new focus and i though wow that looks good. I joked on an American site about swapping my head lights for the MFT , and the answer i got was , they would be getting the much better deal.lol Lots of youtube videos of the problems.

I have seen a very good replacement , approx 700 , which also works with the steering wheel controls.
I have been looking at a larger screen , but they are like hens teeth to find and i would also have to change the face plate.

Plus side is we get much more than on the American models due to their laws over there , some of the tiny things we have are not included over there.

#4 Haz93

Haz93

    Serial Poster

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 453 posts
  • Name: Harrison
  • Ford Model: Audi A5 Cabriolet + Mini Cooper
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Warwickshire
Contributor

Posted 11 February 2013 - 09:50 PM

Just found an update on this even though its from august last year :P

http://www.techradar...c-in-uk-1094273

Looks like it will be introduced to the UK with the new electric focus. can't imagine it being great in an electric car as surely it uses more power than the smaller screens, there for shortening the vehicles range. probably not a lot though :S


In the USA , they have constant problems , and are not fixing them very quickly.But i agree there is no reason why they can offer the larger screen , it's one of the first things that caught my eye when i first saw the new focus and i though wow that looks good. I joked on an American site about swapping my head lights for the MFT , and the answer i got was , they would be getting the much better deal.lol Lots of youtube videos of the problems.

I have seen a very good replacement , approx 700 , which also works with the steering wheel controls.
I have been looking at a larger screen , but they are like hens teeth to find and i would also have to change the face plate.

Plus side is we get much more than on the American models due to their laws over there , some of the tiny things we have are not included over there.


Fly audio have there own headunit upgrade out which looks pretty smart :)

http://www.flyaudio....oth-system.html
http://www.car-visio...4-ford-navi-dvd

But yeah I read somewhere that they don't require headlight washers and auto levelling sensors for Xenon headlights in the states which would make them a lot easier to retrofit.

Also noticed on this review (6:50)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W1sYfXx4f-I
that they get a boot mounted subwoofer with the sony headunit. Most Audi's have a similar set up only Bose or Bang and Olufsen, even in the uk models.#

So much for the 'one ford' global policy

#5 Tacks

Tacks

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus Mk1.5 1.8 TDCi

Posted 12 February 2013 - 10:15 AM

Hi,

Last I'd heard from Ford (which was about a week ago):

- Focus Electric is now 'delayed' (maybe June 2013) - and not guaranteed to ship with 'full Sync' system (it was originally billed as available early 2013 with 'new, revised Sync' system

- Sync in the Focus - well, the ST is as 'good as it gets' for now. The 'Emergency Assistance' option etc. - is available for the regular Focus (it's listed as 'Premiere Speaker Pack' or something) - but cannot be combined with SatNav / Rear camera (hopefully 'later in 2013').

As for the full, US style 'Sync' system (i.e. 8" touch screen, satnav etc.) - Ford said this will probably arrive 2014 in what I'd guess will be the 'New, New' Focus.

Having patiently waited since launch and been told 'soon', 'summer', 'next year', 'next summer' - I finally gave up waiting - and ordered. I'd love to have had the full sync system (if only for the bigger screen for the Sat Nav, and to get rid of button-clutter) - but Ford just keep delaying it.

Annoyingly, other manufactures are catching up now - at one point it really was 50/50 on whether I'd still get a Focus having been kept waiting - a lot of other manufactures are adding Sync equivalent setups (and larger LCD's) to their cars.

Anyway - that's what Ford told me when I spoke to them a couple of weeks ago...

-Tacks

#6 Haz93

Haz93

    Serial Poster

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 453 posts
  • Name: Harrison
  • Ford Model: Audi A5 Cabriolet + Mini Cooper
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Warwickshire
Contributor

Posted 12 February 2013 - 11:18 PM

Hey thanks for that, sounds like it could be a while then. Might have to think about other options then.

#7 alan2150uk

alan2150uk

    Settling In Well

  • Members via FB
  • PipPipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Name: Alan
  • Ford Model: Mondeo Hybrid Titanium X
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 09 March 2015 - 03:25 PM

Hi Guys,

 

Just Ordered a  My Ford Touch system from the US and all the cable's etc and I am going to give it a go,  Reto fitting it to my MK2 Kuga, Lets see if it's even possible!.

 

Called up an auto salvage place in the US and ordered the parts cost a total of 350 GBP including shipping. the guys were really helpful. 

 

should be delivered by the 18th March lets see.......If it can be fitted.

 

Cheers



#8 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 20,664 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 09 March 2015 - 03:57 PM

not bad price, although you will have the hefty fun pricetag of the VAT :P



#9 Sonicmouse

Sonicmouse

    Member

  • Members via FB
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Name: liam
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus 1.0T 156BHP
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Durham

Posted 09 March 2015 - 04:35 PM

Hi Guys,

 

Just Ordered a  My Ford Touch system from the US and all the cable's etc and I am going to give it a go,  Reto fitting it to my MK2 Kuga, Lets see if it's even possible!.

 

Called up an auto salvage place in the US and ordered the parts cost a total of 350 GBP including shipping. the guys were really helpful. 

 

should be delivered by the 18th March lets see.......If it can be fitted.

 

Cheers

 

Looking forward to the development on this, please remember to let us know how it goes! Im considering the same thing :D



#10 alan2150uk

alan2150uk

    Settling In Well

  • Members via FB
  • PipPipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Name: Alan
  • Ford Model: Mondeo Hybrid Titanium X
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 11 March 2015 - 01:27 AM

Hi Guys,

 

Just a quick update after much a searching the internet I would an article on a Ford user group in Russia and someone has already done this, (upgraded to My ford Touch) I used googles chromes translate so it's a little scetchie but you can get the just of the chat.

 

Link below. scroll down about just over half way User name to look out for is -Rocknrolla-

 

http://ffclub.ru/top..._2460/#comments

 

Just thought I'd share.

 

Cheers

A



#11 alan2150uk

alan2150uk

    Settling In Well

  • Members via FB
  • PipPipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Name: Alan
  • Ford Model: Mondeo Hybrid Titanium X
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 13 March 2015 - 06:31 PM

https://www.dropbox....0lu0jju_Ia?dl=0

 

Can anyone Translate Russian to English?? Need a little help.

 

Also I am looking for the Workshop Manual for the Kuga or Ford Escape 2013 or newer.



#12 alan2150uk

alan2150uk

    Settling In Well

  • Members via FB
  • PipPipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Name: Alan
  • Ford Model: Mondeo Hybrid Titanium X
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 23 March 2015 - 06:46 PM

Got word from Parcel Force. The unit is ready for collection at the depot only £30 to pay in vat etc.

not bad. !

 

Will pick it up tomorrow and have a play.



#13 alan2150uk

alan2150uk

    Settling In Well

  • Members via FB
  • PipPipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Name: Alan
  • Ford Model: Mondeo Hybrid Titanium X
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 26 March 2015 - 01:07 AM

Hi Guys just a little update.

 

I have receaved the MFT system from the US I am awaiting the bracket that holds the ACM or as I call it the CD Unit.

 

I have uploaded the wiring diagrams from the US Escape to my dropbox account if you want them I have also added the sync1 wiring diagrams. This is from a Escape in the US I am guessing the wiring is the same. on the Spreadsheet shows were the pins are for sync 1 and where we need to move them for the Sync 2 system to work.

 

I have also uploaded the page from the manual that shows where and how to remove the sync 1 module.

 

Step 1 for me is to unplug the sync module

Step 2 Re- position the sync cable to come all the way upto the head unit.

Step 3 Rewire the plug to match the sync 2 unit. As per the Spreadsheet - Will need to see if anyone can help get a hold of the  Wiring Diagram from the 2013 Kuga's sync 1 Module as on the us version shows I-CAN and HS-CAN only and one the sync 2 shows connections for MS-CAN, I would like to check that the uk version is the same or if it has the HS-CAN interface as well

If anyone can help with this I would be greatfull.?

 

Step 4 Test unit before commencing any modifications to the dash

 

Pictures to follow.

 

If you have any questions etc or to where I purchased the items I am more than happy to share.

 

Cheers

Alan



#14 alan2150uk

alan2150uk

    Settling In Well

  • Members via FB
  • PipPipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Name: Alan
  • Ford Model: Mondeo Hybrid Titanium X
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 26 March 2015 - 01:09 AM

Ps:  I meant MS-CAN



#15 alan2150uk

alan2150uk

    Settling In Well

  • Members via FB
  • PipPipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Name: Alan
  • Ford Model: Mondeo Hybrid Titanium X
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 29 March 2015 - 10:55 PM

Hi, the update is as follows

 

Finally found the Sync Module it's not where the Ford Book say's it's behind the glovebox you will need to remove the glow box to gain access. as it's just above to the the rear of the airbag.

 

I Cut the tape holding the Sync Module cable and move the plugs location toward the location of the headunit

 

I moved the pins according to the excel sheet and perhaps found an extra few.

 

connected the head unit and the controls and the touch screen and powered on the ignition. 

 

And it powered up.

 

Everything working, Kind of there are a few annoyances that I am in the process of fixing

 

the volume controls don't work either on the steering wheel or the front controls - I beleave this is just a cable that needs to be moved over, I connected up the 4" screen that came with the car. and the controls sprung to life.

 

The MFT does not recognise that the car is at a standstill so won't let you add a phone etc to the bluetooth. work around for now. is to add the devices etc while the engine is off and the ignition is on. I beleave this has todo with the interface to the MS-CAN network on the car. as the sync 1 system don't have this function.

 

The compass on the MFT doesn't display anything just now. possibility due to the MS-CAN again.

 

and one thing that made me laugh. If I change the heater controls on the car temp for the driver it displays at the passenger side on the MFT but this was to be expected and somthing I can live with.

 

If your trying to do this on your car prob best to but a screen from a focus or a mondeo in the UK now as the become available..

 

 

I haven't removed any of the dash yet to fit the touch screen that will be next once I have ironed out all the issues.

 

as the controls arn't working you can't use the voice controls yet but thats somthing I am going to resolve tonight.

 

I have made a few videos I will upload to my dropbox account.

 

IMAG0141.jpg



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have




Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: myford, touch, sync, focus, fiesta, ford, display

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users